We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service”

Southern Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Southern Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Nelson Street
Description: Located in Historic Lexington, Virginia, Southern Inn Restaurant is a successful mix of casual, but elegant dining. Proprietors George (chef) and Sue Ann Huger offer a contemporary, seasonal menu utilizing local produce, meats and other products, as well as fresh seafood and in-house baked goods.
Birmingham AL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

When ever we am in Lexington, the Southern Inn is our go to restaurant for dinner. It was/is chef owned and has a charming old time ambience. The prices are not over the top and We have never had poor service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wisteria210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    266
    93
    30
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So glad this phoenix rose from the ashes”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Five years ago The Southern Inn was gutted by a devastating fire. A little over a year later, the restaurant re-opened and is better than ever. I work in downtown Lexington and needed a break from work today. On a whim, I went into The Southern Inn. I knew the service and the food would be great and I wasn't disappointed. The salmon club was a delight, as were the house-made potato chips. It's the kind of place Hemingway would have loved - a clean, well-lighted place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west of Washington, DC
Level Contributor
211 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Fantastic Dinner!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I want to start out by saying that I've been around for a while and can honestly say that this was the best fried chicken I have ever eaten! While the Southern Inn is a little small, the wait staff is eager to please the customers and very knowledgeable regarding their dishes and wine selections. Well worth the visit - make sure you have reservations as they are fairly small and tend to fill up at peak times.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nyr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Probably the best lunch I ever had”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were visiting the Shenandoah Valley and in Lexington when it started to rain, so we decided to break for lunch. Saw a large neon sign and thought it was a diner. Instead it was a nicely decorated restaurant. My wife had a reuben sandwich with red cabbage and home made chips. She said it was the best reuben she had ever tasted.

I had the fried chicken lunch with vegetables and mashed potatoes. Fantastic! I do not often eat cooked veggies but the snow peas, carrots and squash were delicious. I told me wife that if she could cook vegetables this way, I would eat more. Although the chicken was small, it was very tasty.

We both ordered their cucumber fizz cocktail and it was very refreshing.

The price was very reasonable. This place is a real gem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiefj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Service, Catering”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have eaten dinner at Southern Inn several times the past few years. The dinner menu has great options and the service is wonderful. This past weekend, I had the Southern Fried Chicken and my wife had the Blackened Chicken Penne Pasta; it was delicious. We finished it off with the Triple Chocolate Carmel Torte - out of this world! Back in April we also had dinner there and decided that we would like for them to cater our post-wedding brunch in June. We contacted them and gave them an idea of what we were looking for. Sue Ann, the owner, proposed some menu items and then together we finalized the menu. Since Southern Inn has catered at Col Alto in the past, they were familiar with the room layout and flow and suggested we move to a larger room; we were so happy we did! Sunday morning the brunch started at 9am. We went to the room at 8am and Sue Ann and staff were there setting up. It was so reassuring to know that they had it all under control and all we had to do was show up and enjoy. The brunch food was wonderful and had more then enough food. My favorites were the Country Ham Frittata, Home Fried Potatoes, Brioche French Toast and fresh fruit. The staff was attentive to the food and guests. The food selection and recommendations were perfect. A perfect ending to an incredible weekend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gmiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Southern Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing