We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of House Mountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House Mountain Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Lexington B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2006

We've just had the most wonderful weekend at House Mountain Inn, near Lexington, Virginia. It certainly beats any 4 / 5 star hotel that I've stayed in!

The setting is idylic and the hospitality and welcome from the staff was amazing. The rooms are spacious with fireplaces and ours had a private hot tub on the balcony - absolute bliss!

The food is excellent especially chef's freshly baked muffins and cookies!

We went on an organised ATV(all terrain vehicle) tour on the Saturday morning which took us up the mountain through the forests and I went horse back riding on the Sunday which was great fun too. (Shooting and fishing can also be arranged),

I can't think of anything negative to say, this weekend was just perfect and I would highly reccomend it. However, be aware that it is like a hunting lodge and there are a number of stuffed animals in the main entrance - this may be off putting to some.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    13
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
66
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the House Mountain in January and we had a wonderful experience. That weekend will always be very special to me because my boyfried proposed to me there. The staff went above and beyond to make this a great weekend. I had no idea of the proposal but they did and made it extra special and for a occasion like that you really want to have a good memory. The food was great and was on time as scheduled. They were very prompt at serving the meals and you were never rushed to leave you could sit there as long as you want. The rooms were very clean and very well decorated. If you would like a place to getaway from life and relax then this is definitely the place to go. The staff there will make sure your stay is unforgetable.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2006

My husband and I stayed at the House Mountain Inn for two nights in January 2006. Here’s our review:

The Good:
The inn is in a beautiful remote location so we really felt like we were getting away from it all. It is a brand new building with an impressive Great Room as you enter on the ground floor, which includes a large fireplace and plenty of couches. Lexington, Va. is a lovely historic town. We had a great time just wandering the streets and touring the campus of Washington & Lee College. We loved our room. It was one of the smaller rooms that they offer but we found it very big and warm and welcoming. The gas fireplace, cathedral ceilings and hot tub on the deck were extra special. The wine and cheese gathering in the afternoons is a nice touch and we participated one night.

The Bad:
The bed linens were very, very scratchy. We don’t sleep on fancy sheets at home but these sheets just didn’t cut it even for us. The beds would be absolutely dreamy if they just invested in better sheets. Also, the walls are very thin. We were on the second floor but we could hear everything that was going on downstairs. We heard the soft dinner and breakfast music they played at each meal and heard everyone going up and down the staircases. The food is mediocre. I especially didn’t like the dessert served with the dinner at one meal – and I’m usually never picky with anything that involves sugar.

The Ugly:
The worst part about our stay occurred at our checkout. We had been given a generous gift certificate by our friends as a wedding gift. The gift included two nights in a particular room plus the romance package (dinner one night, and champagne and strawberries the next night). Well when we went to check out we were told we had to pay an additional amount because their room prices had increased since the certificate was purchased a few months prior. If our gift certificate had been for a certain dollar amount then maybe this would be justified, but it wasn’t. It was for two nights in this particular room and the romance package. I feel it is a very poor business practice not to honor your own gift certificates. We spent the entire three hour drive home fuming about this. We’ve since written a letter again stating our frustration, but have received no reply from the House Mountain Inn.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank DChiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2005

We stayed here for a few days and even though the scenery is exquisite, this place needs some lessons to learn to run a great B & B. First, the bed linens were cotton/poly and very scratchy. So if you like a nice thread count, forget it. We had to turn our pillowcases inside out because there was extensive pilling on the outside...ugh! Our bathroom had not been cleaned after our first night there. The towels weren't replaced, nor our used small bar of soap. The man-made pond was this odd color and we were told by staff that it was being treated for some "funky" problem. This place looks great in their pictures, but beware that all is not what it appears.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank KeepTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2005

My girlfriend and I stayed at the House Mountain Inn recently for a few days. The Inn is located a short drive from downtown Lexington on the side of a mountain, about 3 hours southwest of DC.

The Inn is relatively new, and looks the part. The rooms and gathering areas are very clean, and impart a lodge-like elegance (high ceilings, lots of wood, real stuffed animals, stone). The website presents a mostly accurate portrayal of what the Inn looks like.

We stayed on the first floor, and our room was wonderful. Comfortable carpeting, a spacious bathroom, a large firm bed, a warm gas (not wood) fireplace, nice tv with satellite cable, and a hot tub on the deck which was spacious enough to hold 2 comfortably (i don't know about 4, though). The hot tub was already hot enough to get in when we arrived, with strong jets, and was private enough to allow you to be naked on your deck without worrying too much about others seeing you, if you like that kind of thing.

The mountain that the lodge is located on is very pretty, and we spent the large part of one of our days hiking it. The hike was invigorating.

I am not giving the Inn five stars for the following reasons. Please take these criticisms with a grain of salt, as I don't think most people will notice, or care, about these things.

However, if you are used to staying in the best luxury inns and/or dining in the big cities, you will notice these things:

(1) Food - the food is only mediocre. Actually, I found dinner to be mediocre and breakfasts to be below average.

Dinner was good overall, but seemed pre-packaged. The meat dishes we had were served with the same brown mushroom sauce, and the same sides of roast potatoes and mixed vegetables. There was not much imagination or creativity. Plus, dinner is served in the main gathering area (the same place breakfast is served) at long tables with no privacy, and under bright lights, hardly making it a prelude to a romantic evening.

Breakfasts looked a lot better on the website than they tasted on the plate. They start you off with fruit and either yogurt or a piece of coffee cake. On one occasion, the yogurt was overrun by either molasses or some other sweetener that made it too sweet. The coffee cake tasted like something you would buy from a store or decent bakery, rather than the homemade cake/pastry we were expecting. The eggs were standard scrambled fare. The bacon was similar to that you would cook yourself at home, and was not crispy enough. The home fries tasted like they were from a bag from the refrigerated foods section of a supermarket, and the pancakes tasted like they were from an Aunt Jemima box.

Having said that, a couple at the table next to us found the breakfast to be too "frous frous", so, I suppose it all depends on your tastes.

The best part about breakfast was the freshly squeezed all-you-can-drink orange juice - delicious.

(2) Bar - the bar is housed in a large open room capable of doubling as a conference room/meeting area. As such, it lacks atmosphere/intimacy. In addition, when we were there, the lights were cranked up all the way, detracting from the atmosphere that otherwise could have been created with candles, dim lighting, and some lounge, or other atmospheric music.

(3) Thin walls - i recommmend strongly that guests stay on the second floor, as we could easily hear the couple above us walking around, turning their tub on, talking on the phone, etc. A fair bit of noise was also coming through the vents in the room. Given that people are coming to the Inn to get away from noise, this was a particularly frustrating aspect of staying at the Inn.

(4) Hosts - for the most part, I found the hosts to be very helpful and friendly. By the same token, it also seemed to me that the hosts are not accustomed to and/or do not care for a demanding clientele. Given that the Inn is designed and advertised as a a luxury inn, the owners need to decide how they want to handle that, as the nature of a luxury inn is that it will attract a discerning clientele - you can't have it both ways.

(5) Lexington - it is a small, very plain town with not much to do. While we did not care, due to our short stay, if you are looking for entertainment/fine dining outside the Inn, you will have a difficult time finding any.

(6) Bathroom - while our bathroom was large and spacious, it appeared unfinished, as there was no painting/decorations on the large walls to add design or style. Some comfortable mats on the floor would also have been nice.

At bottom, this is a wonderful Inn. If the Inn took care of just a few things from the above list, I think that even the most demanding customer would be inclined to give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SalLani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2005

My wife and I visited this Inn just as it opened in Fall '04, and fell in love with it. We were searching for a gorgeous place in the mountains to get married and HMI was impossible to resist. The term 'rustic elegance' perfectly describes this property- they obviously spared no expense and seem to have gotten practically all of the details right. No question this Inn has been discovered and is already booking months in advance (weddings galore). While the Inn and the grounds are gorgeous, the staff is what truly sells the place- Jamie, Jeff, Meg, Dave and everyone else give a personalized touch that you'd be hard-pressed to find elsewhere.

The only suggestion I could make is that I think they should limit the # of weekends they allow the Inn to be rented entirely- otherwise only wedding parties will get to experience this outstanding Virginia B&B, certainly one of the best in the state already.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2005

We just returned from our second visit to this wonderful inn. It is essentially a new inn built with an upscale, yet rustic ambiance. The rooms are large and each has either a double jacuzzi tub inside with a porch outside, or a large hot tub outside.

The hosts are quite accomidating. Their chef is available nightly and quite good. He also prepares breakfast and this AM he prepared what was likely the best eggs benedict of my life.

Activities such as horseback riding and atv excursions are available, but it was too wet and cold during our visit. The town of Lexington is a short drive and full of history and small shops.

If one would be offended by mooseheads, etc, it would be best to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbw141rbw141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
8.1 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
9.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,713 reviews
6.5 mi away
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
11.3 mi away
Maple Hall Inn
Maple Hall Inn
#7 of 18 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Mountain Inn

Property: House Mountain Inn
Address: 455 Lonesome Dove Trail, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape and discover a most unusual combination of attentiveness, solitude and satisfaction. Our 9 luxurious but casual guestrooms feature fireplaces, private hot tubs or Jacuzzi tubs, private porch, solid wood furniture, and the best bedding you can ask for. Leave the ordinary behind and immerse yourself in 0ur peaceful surroundings. We will help you enjoy and enrich your getaway by looking after all details. Come see why you will love our welcoming approach with each return visit. Spend the day relaxing or exploring Lexington's most well known mountain. Our 1,000 beautiful acres are just perfect for picnicking, meandering hikes, mountain climbing, wildlife watching, and sightseeing. Be sure to ask us about bringing your horse. End your search for the most unique setting for your next wedding or meeting. You will find we are well-equipped with the latest technology, making your gathering a success. House Mountain Inn has a variety of event facilities for groups from 10 to 150. All of which capture our rustic but elegant theme. We're Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Mountain Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing