We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Meander Plantation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Meander Plantation
Ranked #1 of 2 Locust Dale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
269 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Overated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2008

We had two rooms at the inn, they were not as impressive as shown on the website.The inn needs some updating,the bathrooms were not user friendly and the tubs need to be re enamelled they look most uninviting.We ordered the basket meals one evening,they are overpriced in our opinion.The inn is in a great location for visiting the area and we had rainy weather so could not take advantage of the outside areas.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Grotty bathtubs
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank grotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanch, Owner at Inn at Meander Plantation, responded to this review, 14 August 2010
We constantly strive to keep our rooms up-to-date and well maintained, while preserving the historic fabric of the property. Our 3-course Dinner Basket has been extremely popular for many years and its portions always considered very generous for two. We regret you were not pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    24
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
12
117
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GAILHORSE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

My family from Martinvsville, Richmond and Illinois, met at the Meander Inn for my Moms memorial at the National Cemetary in Culpeper. We wanted a place that was peaceful and to share memories as a family. What a wonderful place this was for this gathering. The atmosphere was peaceful and quaint and just like being at home. We stayed in the Shearer which had a deck with a wonderful view. The Innkeeps and staff went over and above, to make this family gathering wonderful. The food was much more than I could have asked for.. My niece from Illinois said "this is just like coming home." I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone. Oh by the way my mom had an Inn Located in Orange Va and she wanted a home away from home atmosphere and that is what you get at the Meander Inn. !! My husband and I would definitely go back.
Gail Weatherall

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Good Food, Great Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Had Trouble With Cell Phones
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GAILHORSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

Lovely plantation home built in 1760s. Well decorated and has not been renovated so it retains the historic charm. Very clean and well maintained. It is quiet and we loved the setting. Horses in the fields around the yard and a path mowed down to the river. We liked sitting in the red lawn chairs in the evening and enjoying the birds and the beautiful flowers. Make sure to go when the restaurant is open as the food is outstanding. The breakfasts are the best we've had at any inn or historic hotel. The folks are very gracious and helpful.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank WVMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2007

I was really looking forward to staying at Meander, as it seemed to have some really positive reviews.

However, the customer service was atrocious. I made a reservation online and called to confirm and was assured by the innkeeper Suzie Blanchard that I had a reservation.

I subsequently received an e-mail informing me that I did not have a reservation. I called to try and find out what happened and was told that they would look into it and return my call. They did not.

The Website looks great, but beware of the staff. They seem unusually prickly."

  • Disliked — Horrible Customer Service
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank clarkbradley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanch, Owner/Innkeeper at Inn at Meander Plantation, responded to this review, 30 November 2007
We are truly and most sincerely sorry that the situation with Mr. Clark Bradley was not handled in a different way. We always want every single guest to have a great experience and work hard to make that happen. Unfortunately mistakes happen. We take full responsibility for this error, but this insident was, however, not all our fault. Mr. Bradly NEVER had a reservtation with us. We later discovered that his girlfriend did and she has a totally different name. When I spoke with him on the phone I told him all was probably correct but that I was having difficulty finding his reservation and would need a few minutes to check (the different name would account for this.) He never gave me any indication that the reservation was in a different name. I offered to call him back. Mr. Clark said that he was going into the theater and would be turning off his cell phone and he would call me back. We have apologized to Mr. Clark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2007

We stayed at the Inn at Meander Plantation when we visiter Monticello. This graceful historic inn set on vast acres of Virginia pasture must be seen to be believed.

The rooms are spacious and appropriately decorated in period motifs and furniture, yet the bathrooms are modern and spotlessly clean.

Sadly, the restaurant is closed on Tuesday and Wednesday so we did not get to enjoy dinner at Meander, but the breakfasts were wonderful.

Suzanne and Suzie are the consumate hosts. We hope to return soon.

  • Liked — The beautiful surroundings and gardens
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gracie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2007

Beautiful, clean, comfortable rooms. Ours had a fireplace, perfect for a chilly day (April 13 &14, 2007). Good service & food. Guests are required to dine at the Inn at least one night of their stay. The 5-course meal is $65/pp, wine not included. Servings are not large, so don't expect to overeat. The location is very peaceful and there are no TVs. Nice place to get away from it all. Only 90 min away from DC.

  • Liked — Fireplace and quiet environment
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank miatraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2007

5-Stars! What's not to like?

- A historic grounds (80 acres) with the cahrm of Scarlertt O'Hara's Tara
- Vistas of the Blue Ridge and Shenandoah Mountains
- A location close (but not too far) from D.C. and near historic Charlottesville
- A staff that practices "Jeffersonian Hospitality"
- Exquisite and creative dinners that rival D.C. better restaurants-

All combined: A perfect place to decompress from the rat-race.

Without question, I would and plan to return

  • Liked — Pet friendly (with restriction)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Purpleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Locust Dale
12.3 mi away
Ebenezer House B&B
Ebenezer House B&B
#1 of 2 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
22.0 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Meander Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Meander Plantation

Property: Inn at Meander Plantation
Address: 2333 N James Madison Hwy, Locust Dale, VA 22948-4837
Region: United States > Virginia > Locust Dale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Locust Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Meander Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wine country at our romantic Virginia B&B, minutes to Culpeper, Orange, and nearby Montpelier. Our Culpeper bed and breakfast is a historic getaway from hectic city life on a beautiful sprawling estate with luxurious rooms and private cottages. Don’t miss out on a truly spectacular and memorable meal at our elegant Orange, VA restaurant. Our Pet friendly Virginia bed and breakfast combines elegance and comfort for a truly romantic Virginia getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Meander Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Meander Plantation Hotel Locust Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing