We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 March 2013 Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Meander Plantation
Ranked #1 of 2 Locust Dale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I would like to say thank you to Suzanne and her crew there at The Inn. I had a wedding there (very small) but it was so wonderful, I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone. The breakfasts were wonderful as well as the dinners. The hostess was great. We loved her. The plantation is outstanding. There are horses on ground to view and beautiful landscaping. Thank you again. I will be back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Madison Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlabrie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Shearer suite. Very private wing with a bedroom and large sitting room. Beautiful Blue Ridge view from the upper porch. Delightful. Excellent service with the dinner and breakfast too, and adequate portions.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBlissful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Wonderfully friendly service and terrific breakfast. Rooms are huge and fireplaces a nice treat. Owners could not be nicer, more accommodating or helpful. Had a great time. Easy drive from DC and plenty to do if you choose nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPMVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I am beyond pleased with the Meander Inn. My boyfriend and I were looking a quick (and last minute) getaway this weekend. We found this B&B on the Virginia is Lovers for site. Not only were the pics beautiful......they allowed pets! The Inn was gorgeous and the food was to DIE for! Ms. Suzanne was so sweet and she made us feel right at home. I highly recommend this Inn. We are planning to go back in the spring.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrysR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

My husband joined the Navy this year and while he was at bootcamp and "A" school in Illinois I was left to plan a wedding in NC. I looked online for elopement packages near my area. The one place that always stuck out to me was a bed and breakfast 4 hours away from NC called the Inn at Meander Plantation. The innkeeper Suzanne and I emailed back and forth for a couple of months before I decided that this would be the best place for us. I asked for a nonreligious ceremony and booked the elopement package which included the officiant, bridal bouquet, grooms boutineer, a small wedding cake, champagne, a few pictures taken by Suzanne which she gave us on CD, and dinner. We booked the elopement package on a Thursday and also booked the Robinson Room for one night. The entire experience was amazing!!! The officiant did a beautiful job and was extremely pleasant, Suzanne not only took pictures but also took a video of our vows, champagne and the cake was delicious, and dinner was to die for!!!! Our room was very nice and cozy!!! We had a fire place and since it was cold we put it to good use! A wonderful breakfast was included in our stay the next morning! I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone that enjoys a quiet stay. The scenery alone was breathtaking and we plan to book with them again when it's nice out so we can enjoy the 80 acres the Plantation sits on.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bitbit203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

From the time we turned off the two-lane road through a small gate and gazed up the hill at the renovated plantation, our visit was nothing but stunning! We stayed in a "dependency" (which was a small two-bedroom standalone cottage duet) that was quiet and peaceful, even with another couple staying next door. There is a real wood-burning fireplace, with firewood and firestarter provided, as well as a coffee pot, but other than the bed, sink, bath and shower, that's it! Not a TV to be found! We loved unplugging (although there is wifi available and sufficient cell-phone coverage if you must check in with reality periodically) and enjoyed the incredible grounds, abundant wildlife, and resident livestock. The entire grounds are pet friendly, although there is a resident Golden Retriever, who will check out your pet, but she's friendly and won't harm a fly! There are horses, guineas, and a barn cat, among others. You're required to have one dinner in the plantation, but after you have one, you may want more--the cooking is gourmet and we had some of the best dinners we've ever eaten. The menu offers two to three choices for each course and comes in five courses and we simply ordered the whole menu and split each serving in half. As with classic dining experiences, expect the dinner to take several hours and be the social focus of the evening! There's a ton of historic sites and wineries nearby to visit--we did a walking tour of Culpeper and then a wine tasting at Prince Michel Vineyards--and in the evenings you may even feel the spirits of Civil War Soldiers moving about the Plantation. Everything about the place was first class--five star all the way and we highly recommend it and plan to return in the summer for a different type of experience--laying on the grass at night on a blanket and stargazing! The staff will also fix you picnic lunches or dinner baskets if you prefer in-room or "to go" dining and a gourmet breakfast is included in the price every day. It's not cheap (a three day stay was a little over $600), but it's absolutely worth it and almost a one of a kind "old world" experience only a little over an hour away from Washington, DC.

Room Tip: Dependency #1 is close to the Main House, but separate and very quaint, as well as quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We just got back from a weekend stay at the Inn and could be more pleased. The experience from start to finish did not disappoint. Our dinner on the first night was heavenly and the wine pairing was perfect with every course. Breakfast each morning was also delicious as was the picnic lunch that we added on to our stay. The room was simply charming. We would recommend this for a romantic getaway!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neen1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Locust Dale
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
17.7 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
218 reviews
22.0 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,154 reviews
7.6 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
169 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Meander Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Meander Plantation

Address: 2333 N James Madison Hwy, Locust Dale, VA 22948-4837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Locust Dale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Locust Dale
Price Range: £96 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Meander Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wine country at our romantic Virginia B&B, minutes to Culpeper, Orange, and nearby Montpelier. Our Culpeper bed and breakfast is a historic getaway from hectic city life on a beautiful sprawling estate with luxurious rooms and private cottages. Don’t miss out on a truly spectacular and memorable meal at our elegant Orange, VA restaurant. Our Pet friendly Virginia bed and breakfast combines elegance and comfort for a truly romantic Virginia getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Meander Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Meander Plantation Hotel Locust Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing