We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Meander Plantation
Ranked #1 of 2 Locust Dale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2007

Lovely plantation home built in 1760s. Well decorated and has not been renovated so it retains the historic charm. Very clean and well maintained. It is quiet and we loved the setting. Horses in the fields around the yard and a path mowed down to the river. We liked sitting in the red lawn chairs in the evening and enjoying the birds and the beautiful flowers. Make sure to go when the restaurant is open as the food is outstanding. The breakfasts are the best we've had at any inn or historic hotel. The folks are very gracious and helpful.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank WVMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2007

I was really looking forward to staying at Meander, as it seemed to have some really positive reviews.

However, the customer service was atrocious. I made a reservation online and called to confirm and was assured by the innkeeper Suzie Blanchard that I had a reservation.

I subsequently received an e-mail informing me that I did not have a reservation. I called to try and find out what happened and was told that they would look into it and return my call. They did not.

The Website looks great, but beware of the staff. They seem unusually prickly."

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
2  Thank clarkbradley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanch, Owner/Innkeeper at Inn at Meander Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2007

We are truly and most sincerely sorry that the situation with Mr. Clark Bradley was not handled in a different way. We always want every single guest to have a great experience and work hard to make that happen. Unfortunately mistakes happen. We take full responsibility for this error, but this insident was, however, not all our fault. Mr. Bradly NEVER had a reservtation with us. We later discovered that his girlfriend did and she has a totally different name. When I spoke with him on the phone I told him all was probably correct but that I was having difficulty finding his reservation and would need a few minutes to check (the different name would account for this.) He never gave me any indication that the reservation was in a different name. I offered to call him back. Mr. Clark said that he was going into the theater and would be turning off his cell phone and he would call me back. We have apologized to Mr. Clark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2007

We stayed at the Inn at Meander Plantation when we visiter Monticello. This graceful historic inn set on vast acres of Virginia pasture must be seen to be believed.

The rooms are spacious and appropriately decorated in period motifs and furniture, yet the bathrooms are modern and spotlessly clean.

Sadly, the restaurant is closed on Tuesday and Wednesday so we did not get to enjoy dinner at Meander, but the breakfasts were wonderful.

Suzanne and Suzie are the consumate hosts. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gracie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2007

Beautiful, clean, comfortable rooms. Ours had a fireplace, perfect for a chilly day (April 13 &14, 2007). Good service & food. Guests are required to dine at the Inn at least one night of their stay. The 5-course meal is $65/pp, wine not included. Servings are not large, so don't expect to overeat. The location is very peaceful and there are no TVs. Nice place to get away from it all. Only 90 min away from DC.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank miatraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2007

5-Stars! What's not to like?

- A historic grounds (80 acres) with the cahrm of Scarlertt O'Hara's Tara
- Vistas of the Blue Ridge and Shenandoah Mountains
- A location close (but not too far) from D.C. and near historic Charlottesville
- A staff that practices "Jeffersonian Hospitality"
- Exquisite and creative dinners that rival D.C. better restaurants-

All combined: A perfect place to decompress from the rat-race.

Without question, I would and plan to return

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Purpleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2006

This Inn is very historic and beautiful--it's worth a stay. I would say it's best for romantic couples. It's off the beaten path, but in a great area filled with wineries and near some sites like Monticello and Montpelier. The grounds are pretty for a stroll, but not too big.

Something happened with our room and they upgraded us to the master suite which was an unexpected surprise. They had lots of books you could pick up and look through. I remember reading one on ghosts and that was fun, being in an old plantation. There was also a porch right outside our room. Everything was really wonderful.

I would recommend getting dinner there or a reservation. We were there on a Sunday night and we drove around and found NOTHING.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inDCfromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

My wife and I recently stayed at the Inn at Meander Plantation over a beautiful august weekend. The experience started as we pulled through the beautiful white brick entrance gates onto the grounds. Looking up the slight hill at the manor house on top of the rise, the beautifully landscaped yards, and the boxwood gardens left us with a feeling of giddy anticipation at our weekend to come.

As we checked into our room, we were taken by the majesty of the old summer kitchen. A beautiful colonial 2 story building with wide leaded glass windows and antique hardwood floors, we could have spent several hours just enjoying the downstairs room, sitting on the exquisitely comfortable sofa looking at the 6 foot 'cooking' fireplace and chatting about the immense history and culture around this property. Upstairs the room looked just as we expected from our many visits to the website. A gorgeous claw foot tub seated right under a window allows a private view of the mountains. The expansive king size bed slept like a dream (no pun intended).

Our dinner experience was absolutely phenomenal. The cocktail hour allowed us to meet some of our fellow guests, and talk more about the antiques and appointments of the formal living room. After cocktails, we were seated in the library for dinner, and while we'd been looking forward to the main dining room we were pleasantly surprised at the private, cozy feeling of the library. We felt as though we were the patrons that the chef and staff were there to serve, though I believe the entire restaurant was full that evening.

Breakfast was another delight, the waffles, oh the waffles. Fresh fruit, the most delicious bacon I've ever had, and the most delightful poppy seed muffins.

We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ka_n_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Locust Dale
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
14.1 mi away
Inn on Thistle Hill Bed and Breakfast
12.3 mi away
Ebenezer House B&B
Ebenezer House B&B
#1 of 2 in Madison
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
192 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Meander Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Meander Plantation

Address: 2333 N James Madison Hwy, Locust Dale, VA 22948-4837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Locust Dale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Locust Dale
Price Range: £99 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Meander Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Meander Plantation is a beautiful 1766 historic country inn offering fine dining and luxurious accommodations surrounded by 80 acres of rolling landscape in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. With its historically significant past and its bucolic plantation location on a hill with spectacular mountain views and breathtaking sunsets, the Inn truly exudes the essence of Virginia. Our southern-influenced gourmet restaurant offers four course meals paired with the best Virginia wines. Our ten luxurious guest rooms & cottages combine all the grace and charm of yesterday with the amenities and services of today. Located close to both Orange and Charlottesville, the inn is a short drive to Monticello and Montpelier – the homes of presidents Jefferson and Madison respectively. Discover the multitude of Virginia attractions right outside our front door, including several award-winning wineries and distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Meander Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Meander Plantation Hotel Locust Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing