We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still delightful after all these years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prospect Hill Plantation Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Louisa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We first found this beautiful, secluded inn over 20 years ago and have frequently returned for our wedding anniversary in April. When we learned that Mr. Sheehan, the original owner, had sold the inn, we wondered if it would still have the same charm when we visited this year. No worries! The new owners have made no radical changes. They've freshened paint and furnishings, added horses, chickens, dogs and cats to the grounds, and brought a feeling of renewed energy to this wonderful old place. And they have very wisely retained the Sheehans' chef and wait staff and their lovely pre-dinner ritual of gathering together for a glass of wine, followed by the ringing of the dinner bell and the offering of grace. I should mention, though, that at the present time dinner is only being served on Friday and Saturday nights. Dine there if you have the opportunity. The food remains, as always, outstanding.

Room Tip: Every room at Prospect Hill is unique. We have always favored Uncle Guy's Cabin(downstairs)becau...
Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank solarpowered2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear solarpowered2,

We appreciate all reviews left by our guests, as we learn from each of them. However, for a guest of 20+ years to give us the "thumbs up" is super-encouraging. Thanks for the kind words!

We look forward to your next visit to Prospect Hill.

Sincerely,

Doc Findley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Prospect Hill Plantation Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend here for our anniversary and had a wonderful, peaceful (and technology free!!!) weekend. The house is very charming and has a lot of wonderful history. The rooms were very clean, spacious (at least ours was) and the service was top notch. We stayed in one of the rooms in the main house. There are so many "little things" in the room that you wouldn't get staying in a hotel. A welcome, small, bottle of wine, fresh, homemade cookies every day, stocked fridge with sodas, water, tonic water, coffee and then breakfast brought to your room if you wish. The inn also serves dinner each night and I regret that we didn't choose to eat in, after we sampled the wonderful homemade breakfast each morning.
If you are someone who wants peace and quiet, a comfortable homey feel when you are away then this is a wonderful place to stay. We just wanted to get away from all the stress of work, emails and answering a hundred texts/phone calls through out the day. If you are someone who can't live without the technology of today or the television this probably isn't the place for you, although they do have free wi-fi, if needed. I would suggest, however, that you take advantage of the charm and leave all of that behind and relax a little, sipping wine on the comfortable front porch watching the sunset.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMF5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear SMF5711,

Thank you for your fabulous review!

We are encouraged that you noticed all the "little touches" we are attempting to bring to the Prospect Hill experience... it is humbling to be reassured that we met your expectations.

We are genuinely delighted that you were able to "unplug" and enjoy the peace, quiet and tranquility of country living at Prospect Hill, and we hope it is not too long before your next visit.

Sincerely,

Doc Findley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We loved our stay at Prospect Hill. The main house is breathtaking, and there are several separate cottages you can stay in, as well. We enjoyed the privacy and setting of the Summer Kitchen cottage built in 1720, as well as how welcoming Doc and his family are. They will bring you breakfast to your room if you don't want it in the main house dining room. And, each day, we had a new homemade treat waiting in our room - delicious! We also loved all of the animals roaming about - dogs, cats, rooster, etc. The breakfast is well done; we had non-greasy omelet or quiche, with bacon, a muffin, potatoes, and fruit. Classic music was playing softly in the background, and there is a nice sitting room with grand piano, as well as a chess table, in the main house. The location is roughly 4 miles from a major highway, making it easy to get to Charlottesville and other locations in central Virginia.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Summer Kitchen very much. Room for two to sit and relax, a small porch off of the bat...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Elizabeth953,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Prospect Hill so much! Reviews such as yours are quite encouraging to our team and make us strive to serve even better next time!

Thanks for taking time to share your experiences!

Sincerely,

Doc Findley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We arrived late on a rainy Friday night and when we turned off of the main road we drove down a narrow lane bordered with ancient boxwoods. Welcoming us at the end of the drive was a beautiful and warmly lit yellow and white historic home. On a cold rainy spring night, is was a wonderful sight as we had just driven hours up from South Carolina. Greeting us at the front door was the new innkeeper Dr. Findley. We were given a quick tour of the common areas of the main house and then we were escorted to our guest cottage for the night.

The cottage was quaint, historically restored and the bed was so so comfortable. After a great nights sleep, we woke up to the sunshine and the views of this amazing piece of property. Located on 40 acres, the main home sits among several renovated historic cabins and cottages that now serve as private sleeping quarters for the guests of the inn. The trees are huge and the green pastures that stretched out were so peaceful. It is a special place to stay and explore.


For breakfast that morning we decided to dine in the dining room for our breakfast ( you have a choice of in room delivery or eating in the dining room). We enjoyed fresh fruit, a wonderful egg and vegetable frittata and fresh muffins. The eggs were fresh from the hens that roam freely about the property. I know this because as we were leaving for the day one of the innkeepers teenage sons was walking up the drive with a basket of fresh eggs that he had just gathered from the hen house.

After a great day spent over at Woodberry Forest we returned to the inn with our sons. We elected to dine in the dining room for the set 4 course dinner. Arriving at 7:30 for wine in the music room we were entertained by another guest that sat down and played most beautifully on the grand piano. The dinner bell rang and we moved to the dining room. After a warm welcome, introduction and dinner blessing by the innkeeper Doc and his beautiful wife Paula, we were treated to a dinner of delicious spinach and lemon cream soup, green salad with beets and oranges followed by a tenderloin with roasted potatoes and fresh asparagus. Doc made wine suggestions to compliment our dinner and we finished with a wonderful almond cheesecake. The chef later stepped out of the kitchen and was warmly received by all the guests who had enjoyed her delicious dinner.

The next morning we ate fresh fruit, bacon and pancakes with real maple syrup in the dining room, walked around the property and explored some of the other cabins as the guests were checking out. When we return, which I know we will, I am not sure which cabin we will stay in as each is unique, well restored and charming with it’s own personality. I love the exposed bricks, log beams, antiques and heart pine floors that are found in many cottages.

When we pulled out of the drive from Prospect Hill Plantation Inn we all agreed that we would return. The kids loved it. It was relaxing and interesting as each of the cottages and monuments along the property all have markers with a bit of historical information of it. The graveyard, barn, farm animals and gardens all make this a special place!

The new homeowners and their 5 teenagers are gracious people and I know that they will protect the history and heritage of the inn. I can’t wait to see the fruition of their labor as they give the Inn and it's grounds the tender loving care that it deserves. We can always stay in a corporate hotel, but it is special times like this that I know our kids will remember for years to come.

A very special spot!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerfromCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My family of four stayed here for two nights. My kids loved the animals roaming about - chickens, dogs & cats. The carriage house was lovely. Breakfast was fabulous - fruit cup, french toast (with real maple syrup), bacon, warm almond muffins!. We could have eaten in our room but the dining room is so pretty we opted to eat there. It was a lesson in history too - especially the slave grave yard. So much more fun & interesting than a chain motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizRidgewoodNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

we recently stayed at the plantation and loved it,, The host Bobby could not have been nicer or more cordial.. We stayed in a lovley cottage and the sun set an sun rise was someting to see. Breakfast was gourmet and delicious.. I highly recommend this awesome bed and breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyad46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My husband, myself and our 11-year old son did two nights in the Charlottesville area to dig deep into Thomas Jefferson History. The inn was a great addition to our trip as we went back in time. Convenient to UVA and Monticello, the inn was quiet private and beautiful. We stayed in a room in the plantation home. It was very clean, the fire was ready to be lit and the decor was appropriate for the setting and tasteful. The owners were very friendly, helpful and shared local history. We had our breakfasts in the dining room - eggs from the barn, wonderful place settings and super service. To visit such a historical area and stay at a chain run hotel would not have been the same as enjoying such a wonderful setting. We will visit again when we get the chance.

Room Tip: The various outbuilding that have been turned into rooms/suites would be perfect for travelers that...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
12.7 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
348 reviews
11.1 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
531 reviews
17.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,778 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Hill Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Hill Plantation Inn

Address: 2887 Poindexter Rd, near Charlottesville, VA, Louisa, VA 23093-3005
Region: United States > Virginia > Louisa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Louisa
Price Range: £154 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prospect Hill Plantation Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic 18th-century plantation complex just 15 miles east of Charlottesville, VA and Thomas Jefferson's "Monticello" and UVA. Set on almost 50 acres of lawns, woods and fields the inn offers 13 rooms in the 1732 manor house and renovated outbuildings dating from 1699 to 1840 and offers prie-fixe dinners every Fri and Sat evenings (and some weekdays) by reservation at $49pp. B&B rates from $195 to $395. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Prospect Hill Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospect Hill Plantation Hotel Louisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing