We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prospect Hill Plantation Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Louisa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I were looking for someplace to relax away from the children (who were at various camps) and I picked Prospect Hill because it was close to Charlottesville and because it was off the beaten track, so we figured it would be quiet. It was everything we hoped it would be. A little bit of a hike from C'ville, Prospect Hill is off a paved country road surrounded by farms and woodlands. Our room was in a former slave cabin, which has clearly seen some upgrades since the occupant went on to other pursuits. A big comfortable bed, plenty of space, nice furnishings, modern bathroom, plenty of hot water, even a refriderator with complimentay beverages. But the best part was the quiet. We slept with the windows open to the sound of the crickets and an occasional hoot from an owl off in the woods. We found the dogs, cats and chickens entertaining but not intrusive, and the visits by the humming birds to the hosta off our porch were icing on the cake. Breakfast was hearty and well-prepared, not too "foo-foo", but nice enough that we felt pampered. I am just sorry that we were not there on a weekend to try the dinners, which we hear are superb. The main house and the outbuildings are in an almost parklike setting with benches and wickers chairs in groupings at various locations around the grounds --- perfect for admiring a sunset, reading a book or taking a snooze. The Innkeeper and his family were welcoming and friendly and hustled to make our stay as perfect as possible. Again, like the animals, willing to talk and visit, but not intrusive. Prospect Hill is not for everyone. There is no TV (though you can use the wi-fi in the main house if you need to) and no organized activities but it is a wonderful place to unwind and let the world take care of itself for a few days. Five stars in my book.

Room Tip: I only stayed in one room, Sanco Pansy's cabin, which I recommend. It is the farthest from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldVirginiaentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear OldVirginiaentleman,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a well-balanced review after your stay at Prospect Hill.

We really appreciate your explaining how personal experiences may differ based on individual wants and needs (ie city vs country location, TV vs. No TV, etc). Heartfelt reviews such as this make myself and our team very proud, and motivates us to keep on delivering exceptional service to all our guests.

We hope to see you again soon!

Peace,

Doc Findley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    29
    12
    14
    8
See reviews for
19
136
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My boyfriend and I did not stay at the Inn overnight, but we went for the 4 course meal Saturday night. We were in the area celebrating our 10 year anniversary and I thought this would be a great place for a celebratory dinner. Well, it was all that I could have imagined and more. The owner was warm and welcoming and the dinner was a very unique experience, complete with amazingly delicious food. I was a little wary of the fact that the menu was chefs choice and worried they might serve something my boyfriend or I would not like, but every dish was wonderful and cooked perfectly. They even served complimentary coffee after the entree and before dessert, which was a nice touch. I can not say enough good things about this restaraunt and if you're in the area on a Friday or Saturday, dont hesitate to check it out. The $125 price per couple we found to be very reasonable for everything we got. Just make sure to make reservations.Thanks Prospect Hill for making our anniversary weekend unforgettable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReannaT_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear ReannaT_89,

Thank you for such a lovely review of your recent anniversary dinner with us.

We aim to provide these type of memories to all guests that visit us, whether just dining for one evening, or staying several for nights on the plantation.

We really do appreciate your 'unforgettable' review on our 'unforgettable diner'!

We look forward to welcoming you back (same time next year?) again soon!

Sincerely,

Doc Findley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Boys Cabin over UVA graduation weekend in May 2013. After reading all the positive reviews, we were VERY disappointed! Quaint is a misnomer. Way too run down and old to pay $300+ a night. Stink bugs were EVERYWHERE in our room. I did not sleep listening to them buzz around all night. We captured at least 30 a night. Then the locusts showed up. Then there were small roaches in the bathroom. The shower was awful. I have never felt so ripped off in my life. The cabin needs a lot of renovating to be close to quaint. Perhaps putting better seals around the doors would help the insect problem.
The lighting is atrocious. I guess they don't want you to see the bugs or shabbiness.
Breakfast was good one morning and the next tasted like a microwaved waffle. Definitely not homemade as advertised. Coffee was good. Dinner was excellent on the night we ate there.
Most positive thing I can say is that the owner and his children were delightful and trying hard but our room was far from a 4 star accommodation. I have stayed in many old inns. This cabin was awful!!!!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Kathleen M,

We were genuinely grieved to hear that, unlike dozens of other reviewers, you were disappointed by your recent stay at Prospect Hill.

We apologize for the service lapses and other issues that you feel impeded your enjoyment, . and assure you we are addressing several factors you mentioned to ensure that future guest won't be disappointed.

The Boy's Cabin is the original building on our plantation, built in 1699. Few structures in America are so old, and fewer still in condition to accommodate guests. The cabin is small, rustic, romantic... and, well... a 314 year old cabin.

As to the insect issues you described... twice a year the arrival of stink bugs has been a bane for everyone (even in new homes) living in central Virginia. And thus far, there is no natural predator or effective insecticide, but we continue to seek solutions. Likewise, the cicadas you described were the 17-year variety, and with hundreds of thousands of them in the trees, it sounded like chainsaws hanging from branches everywhere. While loud and admittedly disturbing, there is absolutely nothing we could have done about them.

We were additionally disappointed that you didn't enjoy your breakfast. Our breakfast chef has been on staff at Prospect Hill for more than 20 years, and she is amazingly talented. Waffles and pancakes, when served, are always made from scratch that morning. Yours may have been cold, or hard, or perhaps even overcooked (none of which are acceptable), but they were definitely homemade. We have had several strategy meetings to review our breakfast line procedures, especially on days when all guests are checking out simultaneously (such as when heading to graduation ceremonies).

We thank you for your feedback and regret that we let you down. We are working hard to make sure it doesn't happen again.

Sincerely,

Doc Findley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We have been going to PH for 20 years. This was our first visit since the new owners acquired this lovely historic plantation. We were not disappointed! The grounds and rooms are being improved and updated and the "feel" of the place is warm and welcoming. Dogs, cats and chickens!!!! We have stayed in several rooms but our favorite is the Overseer's Cottage, close to the pool, front and side porches with a separate sitting area off the bedroom. More sitting areas around the grounds are a lovely addition. As for the dining experience...wonderful and delicious! I recommend anyone staying here should take advantage of the dinners on Friday and Saturday evenings. Wine reception one-half hour before dinner bell lets you meet the other guests and diners. New friends have been made from this experience. It is centrally located to great venues of historical interests, What could be better than staying at an historical plantation with history all around you. We have given PH the highest rating since we know it will only get better under the ownership of Doc and Paula. Wishing you much success and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Connie S,

There is nothing more flattering than a guest that comes back to visit us again and again... Thank you for your kind and encouraging words!

As you know, Prospect Hill is a magical place, and we are honored to be the newest "stewards". We are working hard to make sure that all guests get to experience what you described. Thank you so much for taking the time and making the effort to post this review for future guests to read.

We are counting on getting to see you again in the not-too-distant future!

Sincerely,

Doc Findley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Prospect Hill several times before, but this was our first visit since the new owners took over about a year ago. On the positive side, the main building and the cottages and grounds have been lovingly maintained and are in good condition. I also thought it was great to see dogs, cats, chickens and horses around the generous grounds. Paula and Doc and their kids are friendly and helpful. The dinner, 4 courses for $49, is very good and an excellent value, and they make sure the chef is advised of any dietary restrictions and/or allergies. The breakfasts are also good. The only complaint we had about the food was that some of the items on the plate were hot, while others were cold (cold steak, but hot vegetables -- cold potatoes but hot eggs, etc.). They need to work on the food temperature. One morning there was some strange sausage served with delicious blueberry pancakes. It tasted like hard, round meatloaf patties, but we couldn't figure out what it was. My husband and I both thought it was awful and couldn't eat it (it was also cold). Looking around the dining room, I saw it also remained uneaten on another diner's plate. We stayed in the Groom's Quarters, which was comfortable and had a cute porch with table and chairs in the front. However, be warned that the a/c does not cool well, so don't stay there in the summer if you like to sleep in a cool room. Luckily, the nights were cool the weekend we were there, so we opened the windows to get some cross-ventilation and slept better the second night. I think the new owners are doing a good job and will only get better as they get more experience. There is also plenty to do around the area, and we enjoyed antiquing and visiting a couple of fun flea markets.

Room Tip: The cottages seem to be the most popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winediva53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear AlexandriaSara,

Wow - what a detailed description of your experience at Prospect Hill. This is awesome! On behalf of all of our future guests, we thank you. Surely it will give them a detailed insight into what to expect when they stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that our air conditioning (or lack thereof) let you down. As you mention, the Groom's Quarters is a charming cottage, and we had no idea the A/C wasn't functioning properly during your visit. The very next guest to stay in that cottage reported the struggling A/C, and it was replaced with a new unit that very day. It seems we need to pay a bit more attention to potential maintenance issues during our daily servicing... thank you for reminding us of that.

We do hope to see you again should your travels bring you to beautiful central Virginia.

Sincerely,

Doc Findley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I spent the night here with my boyfriend while combining business with pleasure. We were given the "Boys Cabin" which couldn't have been more quaint and atmospheric. Nothing beats falling asleep to the crackling and soft light of a fire in the stone fireplace. The cabins are not roomy, but the ambiance more than makes up for that. Very romantic!

The hospitality of the owners (they've been running the inn less than a year) made us feel very welcomed. We were offered the use of the front porch and gazebo - both great places to enjoy a late afternoon glass of wine. The breakfast was enough delicious food to energize us for an entire day of travel, and beautifully presented in the dining room.

It's an easy trip to Monticello.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnecticutMomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear ConnecticutMomo,

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent "working" getaway to Prospect Hill. And thanks for your kind comments about The Boy's Cabin (although its our smallest cottage, it is also my personal favorite).


If your vacation (or your work) brings you back to central Virginia, we would welcome the opportunity to host you again!

Kindly,

Doc Findley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We first found this beautiful, secluded inn over 20 years ago and have frequently returned for our wedding anniversary in April. When we learned that Mr. Sheehan, the original owner, had sold the inn, we wondered if it would still have the same charm when we visited this year. No worries! The new owners have made no radical changes. They've freshened paint and furnishings, added horses, chickens, dogs and cats to the grounds, and brought a feeling of renewed energy to this wonderful old place. And they have very wisely retained the Sheehans' chef and wait staff and their lovely pre-dinner ritual of gathering together for a glass of wine, followed by the ringing of the dinner bell and the offering of grace. I should mention, though, that at the present time dinner is only being served on Friday and Saturday nights. Dine there if you have the opportunity. The food remains, as always, outstanding.

Room Tip: Every room at Prospect Hill is unique. We have always favored Uncle Guy's Cabin(downstairs)becau...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank solarpowered2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear solarpowered2,

We appreciate all reviews left by our guests, as we learn from each of them. However, for a guest of 20+ years to give us the "thumbs up" is super-encouraging. Thanks for the kind words!

We look forward to your next visit to Prospect Hill.

Sincerely,

Doc Findley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisa
12.7 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Crossroads Inn & Suites
11.1 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
9.1 mi away
Boxley Place Inn
Boxley Place Inn
#2 of 5 in Louisa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Hill Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Hill Plantation Inn

Property: Prospect Hill Plantation Inn
Address: 2887 Poindexter Rd, near Charlottesville, VA, Louisa, VA 23093-3005
Region: United States > Virginia > Louisa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Louisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prospect Hill Plantation Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic 18th-century plantation complex just 15 miles east of Charlottesville, VA and Thomas Jefferson's "Monticello" and UVA. Set on almost 50 acres of lawns, woods and fields the inn offers 13 rooms in the 1732 manor house and renovated outbuildings dating from 1699 to 1840 and offers prie-fixe dinners every Fri and Sat evenings (and some weekdays) by reservation at $49pp. B&B rates from $195 to $395. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Prospect Hill Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospect Hill Plantation Hotel Louisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing