We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halloween camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Small Country Campground
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Halloween camping”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed the weekend of 10/17-10/20 and the staff was wonderful. The events planned were great for the kids and the whole family had fun. The facilities were clean and stocked every time we used them. WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN SOON!!!!

Room Tip: The camp sites across from the bouncy pillow are great if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Czeiszperger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moneta, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have been camping many years, and have to say that we were very disappointed. We booked a "super pull thru" site...only to arrive and receive a back-in site that was very small. Alcohol was not limited to site, was common at the pool, cornhole tournament, on golf carts, and by those simply walking around the campground. Our neighbor limited his alcohol to his site, but was so keen on using lighter fluid to have a campfire, that my husband and I were afraid to go to sleep, lest our camper catch fire (very small sites!). Campground staff limited themselves to the office area, do not make rounds to ensure that ALL campers have an enjoyable experience. Why bother having "rules" if you do not choose to enforce them? My son almost had a pair of tennis shoes stolen while at the jumping pillow by an adult couple. We were afraid to leave anything outside our camper or leave our compartments unlocked-another first in our many years of camping. Lake is 60% covered up with lilly pads-sure don't see that in the pictures on their website. "Beach" area is a 12x12 patch of clean sand with the remainder of mixture of sand, red dirt, gravel, and weeds. Bath houses left a lot to be desired-smelled like a good Clorox hose down might help. No towels, hand soap. This is not a family friendly campground, I would not recommend that you allow your children to have the normal freedoms given in a campground, too much overuse of alcohol. They will not get our money again. Campground has the potential to be a really nice place with lots of amenities, but they need to gain control and decide what kind of campers they want to serve.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlo va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Beautiful grounds-HORRIBLE experience! We booked our weekend in advance expecting a peaceful stay with our young children. The brochure indicated a sock-hop weekend. We got MAGSTOCK. A group of about one hundred 20-year-olds who drank, cussed and played loud music all night long. For a change in events of this magnitude, I would have thought I would have been notified. I would have gladly rescheduled my visit so my children would not have been exposed to their constantly inappropriate behavior. They took over the lake, the pool, the horseshoes, the jumping pillow and every other aspect of the campground. We were informed the game room was closed, though Sunday the owner said it should not have been. The tractor was “broken down,” so no hayride. Because of all of this, my children were not able to enjoy anything. I brought all of these issues to Mr. Small's attention who stated, "hope you give us another chance," and he in no way made me feel like he was trying to address my concerns.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

On June 13 though June 20,2013, me & my wife stayed at small country campground and the whole time we were there, the bathrooms did not have any paper towels,no soap,no air dryers,nothings and the smell of the bathrooms were very disgusting when I asked the people at the front office which was nasty and dirty as well. They kept putting me and my wife off, then when me and my wife finally talked to the owner about stuff that should be in the bathrooms. He responded back by telling us we have our own stuff in our trailer" use your own paper towels and soap. I am not spending my money for paper towels or soap." I also had the owners grandson walked in on me when I was taking a shower,and when I told Tanesa ( the manager) what happened, she did not even care.,It was very sad and improper what me and my wife went though at this campground.
I would never recommend anyone to go to this campground at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jefferya709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Hill, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were with 2 other families where two of us were in campers and one in a tent - the weekend of June 21-23. We stayed in the black color-coded area and these sites were quite small and not level. The bathrooms were clean, but offered no way to dry your hands (no towels, no blower). The lake is the best asset, but be aware the sandy beach areas are small. We brought inner tubes and just floated around which worked for us. The water trampoline has a hole in the jumping web, but others still enjoyed the other 2 anchored floating devices. There is a large "pillow trampoline" around the regular playground and our kids (ages 3 - 20) had a blast with that. The campground seemed about 1/3 to 1/2 full which didn't surprise me since some area schools had just let out that week - but it probably also has to do with the fact that this is just a basic average campground. There are some that prefer a basic, average campground - this is NOT a resort campground.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our first time visiting and what a great week we had at the Small Country campground 6/18-23/2013. The campground is so natural and "home" feeling - not a big commercial resort lot like some campgrounds are. There were not a lot of golf carts so we didn't have to worry about the younger ones crossing the street, like at some of the other campgrounds. They took care of us from the minute we arrived and went out of their way to accommodate our requests to make sure we all had a great time! The fishing was GREAT (bobber fishing for crappie/brim which our younger kids really enjoyed and wanted to do every day) the pool and jumping pillow were clean and lots of fun even for the adults!

The Small's and managers (Brian and Tanessa) really know what they are doing and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need! I can't say thank you enough to Brian for all he did - he took time helping us get our DirectTV hooked up so we could see the NBA playoffs (Go Heat!) Mr. Small and staff have made so upgrades to the campground (we loved the new fishing pier and docks) and they are working on a miniature golf course which will be really nice, when finished. Thanks for your hospitality guys - a great time was enjoyed by my whole family! You have a slice of heaven there - we will be back!
Donna Reed

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We camped here over the weekend. My daughter and I were in Eagle cabin, which was clean and comfortable. We were quite surprised to find that we were to use a port-a-john outside our cabin. Thankfully, it wasn't raining when we had to go out in the middle of the night ! The port-a-john was clean and amazingly smelled fresh like soap :) We were happy to have A/C in our cabin, and the ceiling fan was a welcome addition. We enjoyed the lake, the pool, the bouncing pillow and picnicking under the shade trees. Thanks for the load of firewood ! The bath houses were new, modern and clean, but the water had a funny , rotten smell. They were also very clean. My nephew was in an adjacent lot for a camper, and my sister-in-law in the next spot, in a rental unit. Her A / C wouldn't work !!!!! They opened the windows for a breeze, but on Saturday night it rained... we really enjoyed Small Country Campground and will plan to go back again :)

Room Tip: If you have a problem walking or are afraid of going out at night, don't get Eagle cabin, as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisa
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
15.2 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
16.9 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
18.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
5.1 mi away
Shenandoah Crossing
Shenandoah Crossing
#1 of 1 in Gordonsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Country Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Country Campground

Property: Small Country Campground
Address: 4400 Byrd Mill Rd, Louisa, VA 23093-4606
Region: United States > Virginia > Louisa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Louisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Virginia, Small Country Campground is your gateway to the rich history of the Commonwealth of Virginia. While camping at this family-oriented RV & tent campground you'll be close to local vineyards and flea markets, fascinating historic attractions and towns, golf courses, and much more while camping in modern, full-service park near Louisa. Small Country Campground is family-owned and operated where family values are important. You'll find activities for young and old, spacious campsites and cabins, and friendly hosts. Stay for a weekend, month, or longer.Small Country Campground in Central Virginia offers fun and relaxation, recreation and entertainment with its own 25-acre Lake Ruth Ann, featuring excellent fishing, boating, bouncing, and swimming. NEW are the giant water trampoline AND a giant bouncing pillow. Or sunbathe on the sun-drenched beach, go fishing at Poplar Island or Aspen Point, or cruise the water in a sailboat, raft, or paddle boat! Fish for bass, crappie, bream, or catfish. There are boat rentals available and a free boat ramp. Bring your own boat (no gasoline engines please). The sandy beach on Lake Ruth Ann is roped off for safety at five feet. The NEW giant bouncing pillow is a big hit with kids and adults alike. Guests can also enjoy hours of sun at the edge of the beautiful swimming pool. Bask on the deck or watch the kids splash and play while you relax in the shade of your own umbrella! Camping here is all about the outdoors! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing