We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low end B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Lovingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This is the low end of B&B's. In fact I will not recommend the Orchid House, nor will I consider staying there again. The bathroom floors are dirty, the base boards are filthy. The ad is misleading. The cookies promised are 2 cookies put out one time, and they are the store bought frozen that you bake. The snacks are 1 bag of microwave popcorn, and a tiny bag of Chex mix. There were bugs in our room. If you look out the windows you can see mold on the inside of the window casings. The magazines in the magazine rack are dated 2008. The woman of the manner barely let me in door before asking for my credit card. Truly I was given the impression they are only in it for the money. Once they get your money. You get the bums rush!

Room Tip: Choose a another Bed and Breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shellfinder971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardhousebb, Owner at Orchard House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

It is unfortunate that this guest did not enjoy their stay, even though they told us they did when they checked out and said they’d be recommending us to friends. I am troubled with a review like this after serving thousands and having over 180 five star reviews and have a 35% return rate. Even the best of the best get a bad review now and then. If something would have been pointed out to us directly, we would have tried to correct any problems. Our rooms are thoroughly cleaned after each guest checks out. Did our cleaning staff miss something that particular day? How can I take corrective action on something I cannot see or am not told about at the time? Our house is 137 years old with original windows, so yes, there can be discoloring here or there. The house is power washed twice a year to clean off any dirt or mold. When each guest arrives we greet them at the door and then take them on a tour of the house (something we have received high praise for). When we get to the dining room or at the end of the tour, we ask for their payment. (In a hotel, you don’t get past the front desk). When these guests arrived, they informed us they were late for a rehearsal dinner and needed to move quickly. Therefore, we did rush through the check in process a bit. This was to accommodate them. At least we could chuckle over the comment indicating we were in this for the money; there isn’t an innkeeper in the world that is in it for the money! As far as snacks, that is what they are supposed to be…a snack. Two snacks, two fresh baked (not frozen) cookies per day and all the complimentary soda, coffee, tea, water and hot chocolate you can drink should be more than adequate. We are not quite sure what happened between here and their drive back to SC, but certainly the rest of our reviews are not in agreement with this young couple. However, we will continue to strive to improve what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here as we had always wanted to experience an American Bed Breakfast, so we chose this one for its location. Our hosts, Richard & Debbie couldnt have been more helpful and provided lots of little extras such as, Complimentary Soda, cookies along with tea and coffee making facilities. The house and grounds were lovely, very quiet setting and we saw deer freely roaming the grounds of the house.
This was the very first american Bed & Breakfast we had stayed at, so we have nothing to compare it with but we think that the breakfast was a wee bit skimpy. On the web site it advertised eggs and such like, we never saw an egg and we were a bit disappointed. It is only a very small point but only we thought that it should be made.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Loved it. They had everything covered/thought of, including the brew your own coffee, free soda's & water, chocolate chip cookies, tiki torches near the hot tub, robes & towles for use at their pool or hot tub, free wi-fi, hammocks, etc, etc.

We've been to about 5-6 B&B's in Va. and this was the best overall.

Richard & Deb give great advice on places (e.g., wineries/breweries) on places to go, things to see/do/eat.

I've already recommended their B&B to friends.

Room Tip: Two night minumums on weekedns/holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HudLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had a great stay at the Orchard House on a wine-tasting weekend. Deb and Richard were such lovely hosts. They were always friendly and had spot-on advice, but they also allowed us our own space. They provided so many amenities (e.g., fridge access, Keurig access 24/7, pool/hot tub, etc.)...this was one of the best B&B experiences we've had. And, Deb was kind enough to follow up with a recipe for one of the delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novabennetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My (now) wife and I stayed here last year over labor day weekend. I dont really know where to begin. Jim and Deb were beyond hospital here, I'd say it was more like visiting some very sweet relatives. The house is beautiful and very well kept. We stayed in the Northern Spy room, which we both absolutely loved. The breakfast was fresh, delicious, and all homeade. This was the perfect base, to go to and from, when exploring one of Virginia's most beautiful(and my personal favorite) area's, NelsonCounty. We will be back very soon!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The hosts, Richard and Deb, are such great people! They are very personable but leave you space to do your own activities. Richard drove us around on a wine tour to three wineries, taking care of everything beforehand. All we needed to do was show up and have a good time! The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

One of the best g/f weekends I have ever been on! Richard & Deb are amazing!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovingston
10.9 mi away
Fenton Inn
Fenton Inn
#1 of 1 in Wintergreen
61 reviews
15.0 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
9.8 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 2 in Nellysford
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
58 reviews
22.9 mi away
Maysville Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9749 Thomas Nelson Hwy, Lovingston, VA 22949-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lovingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lovingston
Price Range: £120 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Orchard House Bed & Breakfast! Our 14 acre historical property includes a one-acre vineyard, a pond with a fountain, a gazebo, a new in-ground salt water swimming pool, a new gas firepit overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains, hammocks, multiple Adirondack chairs scattered around the sprawling front lawn, two separate homes for guests, and our newly renovated event barn. Built in 1874 by a Virginia state judge, our main house has six bedrooms (each with a private bath), and multiple common areas for your relaxation and breakfast dining. The Farmhouse was added in 1910 as the apple orchard manager’s family home. It has 3 bedrooms, (each with private baths), and access to a shared large kitchen that we keep fully equipped should you choose to cook additional meals. Regardless of which house you choose, you will be treated to a homemade, multi-course breakfast served each morning in our main house dining room. We take great pride in supporting local farmers, serving coffee from our local coffee beanery, and making our muffins and breads from scratch. We want each one of our guests to feel like they are “home”, only better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Orchard House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing