We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a B&B Should be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Lovingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Beautiful setting and grounds, plentiful breakfast served at 9am, friendly on-site keepers, close to a load of wineries and breweries and cider makers. Also close to live theater and charming towns nearby, hiking and some really good dining. It was quiet, private, spotlessly clean and has a nice sitting area, board games for rainy days and is a great place to write or sleep or just get away from it all.

Room Tip: Northern Spy room has a big bay window facing a forested slope, we liked the remote feel of that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Excellent in every respect and we thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary trip. This is a very good location from which to check out the wineries in central VA, much more convenient than a place in Charlottesville. We started every morning with a wonderful breakfast (love the maple egg cups), were out and about all day, and then came back to a relaxing and peaceful evening back at the house. The wine tour is informative and about teaching you about local wine and wine in general. The others seem to be more about simply chauffering you from place to place. The local industry folks are familiar with them and you won't be steered wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finlandia1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I arrived a day early and Richard was able to help us out with no notice.Deb has a good selection of surprises for breakfeast.We Stayed for 8 days and location was very important to us.Lovingston is a short drive to many Historical attractions .The hosts have a black box full of driving instuctions to make life alot easier.Two times I got lost and called Richard and he was helpful and got me back on track.It is a relaxing Bed and Breakfeast that should receive 6 stars.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.You can't pick a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed the first weekend of May for a couples wine tasting get away and very much enjoyed it. Richard offers a class/tour but we elected to do our own. He still had lots of helpful information and directions and was interested in our opinions and experiences afterwards. The food was very good and the place comfortable. We were made to feel at home - including being reminded to close doors and lock-up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My wife and I stayed one night for a short getaway. While there's not a lot going on in
Lovingston, there are interesting things to drive to nearby. The Orchard House is very
well furnished, and Deb and richard are very congenial and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed there for a short weekend getaway. Since we were the only ones there on a Thurs. night, they upgraded us to a better room. Deb and Richard are outstanding hosts, very friendly and want to make sure you enjoy your stay. Rooms have all the things you would want. Second floor hallway also has a fridge for your use, stocked with sodas, they have a water cooler, coffee pot, and a variety off coffee, teas and hot chocolate. The parlor and living also include a TV, CDs, videos, books, magazines, and games. They can arrange a variety of winery tours, either self guided, or chauffeured. They provide the classic B&B experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side, away from RT 29 are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btaes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Cannot say enough good things about this B&B. The owners were very nice & accomodating. We were very fortunate & were the only ones staying at the B&B when we were there. The owners are there & will answer questions when you need them & when you don't will give you plenty of space. Breakfast was great every morning. Something different every day. We highly suggest taking the wine tour when staying there. You cannot beat the value of this wine tour. I looked at a LOT of places for wine tours, etc. This was by far the best. Very knowledgeable about the local wineries & gave us great tips on tasting & enjoying the wine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovingston
15.0 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
19.2 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in Waynesboro
782 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 1 in Nellysford
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Fenton Inn
Fenton Inn
#1 of 1 in Wintergreen
53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
56 reviews
21.1 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9749 Thomas Nelson Hwy, Lovingston, VA 22949-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lovingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lovingston
Price Range: £117 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Orchard House Bed & Breakfast! Our 14 acre historical property includes a one-acre vineyard, a pond with a fountain, a gazebo, a new in-ground salt water swimming pool, a new gas firepit overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains, hammocks, multiple Adirondack chairs scattered around the sprawling front lawn, two separate homes for guests, and our newly renovated event barn. Built in 1874 by a Virginia state judge, our main house has six bedrooms (each with a private bath), and multiple common areas for your relaxation and breakfast dining. The Farmhouse was added in 1910 as the apple orchard manager’s family home. It has 3 bedrooms, (each with private baths), and access to a shared large kitchen that we keep fully equipped should you choose to cook additional meals. Regardless of which house you choose, you will be treated to a homemade, multi-course breakfast served each morning in our main house dining room. We take great pride in supporting local farmers, serving coffee from our local coffee beanery, and making our muffins and breads from scratch. We want each one of our guests to feel like they are “home”, only better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Orchard House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing