We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Girls Gettaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Lovingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The B&B was beautiful but for a bachelorette weekend or a girls weekend I strongly recommend renting the Apple Blossom house! We had so much fun, it is such a beautiful property and Deb and Richard are so kind and full of information about the area. We also did the wine tour of the area led by Richard and it was very informative and the wine tasting class was fun and insightful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah B, Owner at Orchard House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review. The Apple Blossom is a great venue for Bachelorette groups 6 or less and we have had many there. We want everyone to know that we also host larger Bachelorette groups of 10-16 at the main Orchard House B&B. Hosting Bachelorette groups is one of our biggest retreat specialties. We have many options available to make your event special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed in the farmhouse, in the prairie fire room. It was spacious and really clean and attractive. The kitchen we had access to was large, beautiful and had all the serving ware and cookware one would need. We had cereal and wonderful banana bread. They did forget to supply the coffee but were very apologetic. We should have just called the innkeeper right away. The house is in the country, back off the road a little, with a view of the barn and vineyard. That's what I'm talking about!

Room Tip: The prairie fire room was downstairs. I loved the quilt too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marme4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah B, Owner at Orchard House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed staying in our farmhouse. We have tried to think of everything that people may need and supply items to get them through their stay without the worry of running out looking for something. Our contact information is there for all to call us if anything was forgotten, in need of repair, or any other concerns one may have. We are only a football field away and happy to do anything to make one's visit more pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed her twice now for our anniversary. We have now stayed in the Gala and the Black Twig. We prefer B&B's over the hotel stay anytime it's just the two of us. What a quiet lovely setting. We were doing a hot air balloon ride in Charlottesville the same weekend as graduation, which is how we came to find this place and am very glad we did. Both times we have been graciously greeted, very helpful in finding a place to eat, and it's just so quiet and peaceful in the house and around the grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hteVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were traveling on business - no hotels close to our meeting only this B&B. What a nice change from a typical hotel. We stayed in the Prairifire room - nice comfy bed and private bath. We had full access to a large well equipped kitchen. The homemade banana bread was yummy! Stocked in the morning with juice, coffee, breads, granola bars and plenty of cereal. Drive 20 minutes to Devils Backbone Brewing Co - the best food and beer! We had a smoked meat platter with pulled pork, chicken, turkey, and sausage. Would definitely want to visit again when we have more time. Inn is located very close to several area wine vineyards.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowless2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Apple Blossom Farm House B&B, November 8th and 9th 2013, in the grounds of the vineyards and Orchard House B&B (same owners). What a lovely set up - lovely quaint bedroom overlooking the vineyards, room had 2 twins that turn into a king with seating and TV, fully equipped en-suite bathroom, and run of the house which included lovely spacious country kitchen and living room. Free WiFi, and continental breakfast was included (home made muffins, cereal, fruit, bagels, juice, tea and coffee). On Saturday we went on the guided winery tour (additional cost, but reasonable, transportation included), provided by the B&B, just 6 of us in the group, and it included a picnic lunch. Knowledgeable guide, fun tour of 4 local wineries, lasting about 5 hours. Great time!
Highly recommend this B&B to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debc1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for a weekend while attending a family reunion in the area. We found the setting tranquil and picturesque. Richard and Deb were very accommodating, thoughtful and helpful. Richard even carried our larger pieces of luggage out to the car when we were leaving. The facility was clean and the home was decorated in a charming manner that was appropriate for the setting. The house has a good floor plan for a bed and breakfast.

We stayed in the Black Twig room, which I believe is the smallest room. The bathroom was large enough and had a walk in shower. At the time we did our booking, it was the only room left. We felt a bit cramped especially with our luggage open. If we return, we would book far enough in advance to get a larger room. Our visit was in the fall and the heat had not been turned on yet, so we were a little on the chilly side right before bedtime. Once we got to sleep we were warm enough and an extra blanket was available if we needed it. Overall the room was small but comfortable. The cookies left in our room and the sodas and the pure water available outside of our room were a nice touch.

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the larger slightly more expensive rooms, but the smaller ones are certainl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank co_rich_car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Orchard House B&B to celebrate our 20th. We really enjoyed our stay with the cozy rooms and wonderful breakfasts. I liked the single cup coffee maker outside our door. This place is a located near a lot of fun places. During our stay we visited 4 wineries and 2 breweries. Also, we really enjoyed the Nellysford Farmers Market where there was lots of treasures to be found. We highly recommend this place as a great place to get away and relax.

Room Tip: The bathroom in the Black Twig was small. Fortunately my wife and I are rather small. I had to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 32lovinglife32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovingston
15 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
10.9 mi away
Fenton Inn
Fenton Inn
#1 of 1 in Wintergreen
62 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Maysville Manor Bed & Breakfast
6.8 mi away
Harmony Hill Bed and Breakfast
19.2 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 3 in Waynesboro
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9749 Thomas Nelson Hwy, Lovingston, VA 22949-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lovingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lovingston
Price Range: £118 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Orchard House Bed & Breakfast! Our 14 acre historical property includes a one-acre vineyard, a pond with a fountain, a gazebo, a new in-ground salt water swimming pool, a new gas firepit overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains, hammocks, multiple Adirondack chairs scattered around the sprawling front lawn, two separate homes for guests, and our newly renovated event barn. Built in 1874 by a Virginia state judge, our main house has six bedrooms (each with a private bath), and multiple common areas for your relaxation and breakfast dining. The Farmhouse was added in 1910 as the apple orchard manager’s family home. It has 3 bedrooms, (each with private baths), and access to a shared large kitchen that we keep fully equipped should you choose to cook additional meals. Regardless of which house you choose, you will be treated to a homemade, multi-course breakfast served each morning in our main house dining room. We take great pride in supporting local farmers, serving coffee from our local coffee beanery, and making our muffins and breads from scratch. We want each one of our guests to feel like they are “home”, only better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Orchard House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing