We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Recover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Lovingston B&B and Inns
Hickory, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Recover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I were in town for the Spartan race and stayed in the Farmhouse. It was a wonderful experience and the perfect place to relax and recover. We were pleasantly surprised at the renovations (the online photos of the rooms had not been updated). We really enjoyed the privacy. I spent a nice quiet morning on the front porch.

The only thing we would recommend is having the turn off marked a little more clearly. There isn't any warning that the B&B is coming up and you don't see it until you're right on it.

Room Tip: We had the Prairifire room which is the only guest room on the main floor. The other rooms are upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCrapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah B, Owner at Orchard House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hey, thanks for your five star review. We agree the sign is a little too far back from the road; however the state won't allow us to put it any closer (actually, we're a little closer than we're supposed to be.) We do have warnings on our directions page and points to watch for which are helpful. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back next year! Maybe sometime you can try a stay in the main house. We serve a pretty good breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    18
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
158
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I booked the Apple Blossom Farm House for a group of friends to celebrate my sisters birthday, and it was AMAZING! The house itself has all the modern upgrades without compromising any of the 1909 charm! Richard and Deb were so awesome helping me plan the trip; they helped customize everything and also kept it a secret so we could surprise my sister! The wine tour was above and beyond what I expected, and I actually learned a lot! Richard was funny and explained everything in layman's terms (which was very appreciated, haha!). The wineries we went to were great, and one even opened special for us per Richard's request! It was really everything I'd hoped for, and so much more! Our group is already planning another trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardhousebb, Owner at Orchard House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hey Taylor's Group. You were pretty ideal guests as well! The house was immaculate when you checked out. We really enjoyed having you, and the wineries you visited all said what a delightful group of ladies you were. So glad you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I just needed to getaway for a few days after going nonstop for several months. The Orchard House was a fantastic place to relax and retreat from the business of everyday life. The owners, Richard and Deb, were very friendly, polite and made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast served each morning was delicious! The property is beautiful and we enjoyed sitting outside every evening. We are already planning to go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My best friend and I stayed in the York Imperial room for the fourth of July weekend. Upon our arrival Deb and Richard were very accommodating and had several great suggestions for dining and entertainment in the area. Our favorite part of the stay was the chauffeured wine tour led by Richard on Saturday. His selection of wineries were all incredible, and we thoroughly enjoyed the class prior to the tastings and lessons in between each winery. We were very impressed and loved the entire day! Also, each breakfast was delicious, and, as an added bonus, they worked around my gluten intolerance. All around it was a wonderful stay and we plan to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the APPLEBLOSSOM FARMHOUSE,the other home of Orchard HOUSE B&B.Here you have the whole home to yourself,unless their are other guest.There are 3 guest, rooms and (we had 2 rooms)a livingroom,a huge kitchen. You can use anything in the kitchen to serve yourself and cook if you want. The innkeepers leave you ,fresh baked banana bread,milk,juice ,bananas and English muffins. Everything was clean.The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The uniqueness of the old farmhouse was very relaxing. We had a wonderful stay at the APPLEBLOSSOM FARMHOUSE.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbeyroad64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Grove, Pa.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I really enjoy the B and B experience. This was our sixteenth getaway at a B and B and we have to say that this stay was ranked right at the top in terms of wonderful accommodations, terrific innkeepers and fantastic food each day at breakfast. My husband requires a gluten free diet. Deb and Richard made wonderful GF versions of the delicious food that all of the other patrons were enjoying. This is a rarity in most B and B's and we are very grateful for the TLC shown to my husband. We would not hesitate to return in the future. Well done, Deb and Richard!

Room Tip: Honestly, each of the rooms were lovely. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WERWillowGrove_Pa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah B, Owner at Orchard House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We were happy to do our best to make your stay enjoyable. For those of you planning a visit, we ask all of our guests at the time of booking if they have any dietary issues we need to be concerned about and make every attempt to accommodate those needs. That includes allergies or dislikes so be sure to always let us know. But BEFORE you arrive, please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The B&B was beautiful but for a bachelorette weekend or a girls weekend I strongly recommend renting the Apple Blossom house! We had so much fun, it is such a beautiful property and Deb and Richard are so kind and full of information about the area. We also did the wine tour of the area led by Richard and it was very informative and the wine tasting class was fun and insightful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah B, Owner at Orchard House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review. The Apple Blossom is a great venue for Bachelorette groups 6 or less and we have had many there. We want everyone to know that we also host larger Bachelorette groups of 10-16 at the main Orchard House B&B. Hosting Bachelorette groups is one of our biggest retreat specialties. We have many options available to make your event special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovingston
20.6 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
20.6 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 1 in Nellysford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
6.8 mi away
Harmony Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9749 Thomas Nelson Hwy, Lovingston, VA 22949-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lovingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lovingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Orchard House B&B! An historic farmhouse built in 1874, it was once the location of a thriving apple orchard for many years. Start your visit with a glass of wine and homemade cookies on our front porch. Stroll around our picturesque 14 acres and watch for the resident bunnies scampering across the lawn. While at the Orchard House, you can choose to be as busy or as relaxed as your mood decides. Enjoy our chauffeured wine tours, hike the famous Crabtree Falls, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway, tour Monticello, explore the various antique shops nearby, visit the local orchards or swimming quarries, check out the multitude of wineries, breweries, and distilleries. Or choose to lay in the comfy hammocks gazing up at the endless skies, take a dip in the pool, stroll through our one-acre vineyard, relax in the new gazebo, listen to the frogs chirping from the pond, identify the beautiful birds that flit from one birdfeeder to the next, read a book in one of the many Adirondack chairs that grace the front lawn, rock on the sprawling front porch while soaking up our amazing views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. No matter what you choose to do while visiting us at the Orchard House, we guarantee your time will be rejuvenating, memorable, and filled with good food, good memories, and new friends. Relax and rejuvenate in an elegant country atmosphere. Leave feeling better than when you arrived! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Orchard House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing