We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Lovingston Cafe!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lovingston Cafe

Lovingston Cafe
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Lovingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Love the Lovingston Cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Traveling on US 29 south to Lynchburg, Virginia, a small highway sign for The Lovingston Cafe got our attention; so we turned off at the traffic light to a small strip mall, where The Lovingston Cafe is located as the end unit. WOW were we glad we did!..."you can;'t tell a book by the cover," and the same holds for this full service sit down restaurant!

Great varied menu and daily specials are offered -- began with 2 of 3 the homemade delicious soups - highly recommended! Special homemade bar-be-que dinners and full tasty platters were top notch! Desserts were delicious. Craft beers and several local wines are served. During the evening they open a tap room adjacent to the main Cafe (not reviewed here). We overheard several other guest diners commenting on how this place was a favorite "hidden gem" for them....and now we love the Lovingston Cafe, too!

We especially enjoyed the cultural atmosphere and decorations in this place....nice classical music and original oil and watercolor paintings decorated the walls and halls throughout...we strolled after dinner to their "gallery." One large modernist wall painting, however, seemed rather garish and out of place....but that's just an artsy opinion. The Lovingston Cafe's wait staff was attentive but not overbearing and made very good recommendations to us.

The varied menu is fairly priced and an excellent value. Since our initial visit in late July 2014, we have returned 3 more times in August 2014 for different dinners...all were scrumptious! Hope they keep their chef(s)! ....Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    45
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“Gourmet food, great prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The food portions were great, and so were the prices! We would definitely go back! It seemed nice and quiet as well, though we were there at an odd hour, probably before any dinner rush.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taylor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Grove, Pa.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Check the prices!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a delightful supper there, that is until the bill came for the meal. My wife wanted to have a glass of 'blush wine" with dinner. The waitress told us that that kind of wine was only available by the bottle. She suggested one that was listed at $11.95 on the menu. We ended up sharing some of the wine with dinner. When the bill came, the price of the wine was $26.95!!! I questioned the waitress about the charge. She claimed that she had just started that day and would send over the manager. A woman came over to our table and her answer was, " I keep telling them to change that darn price on the menu, we switched "house brands" on the blush wine, this one costs $26.95". When I balked at paying that price, she pointed that the wine we drank was from California. It was not a "local cheap" wine. We were stuck with paying the full price. We advised the owners of the Orchard House B&B when we returned back there that night. We spent the rest of our time there warning everybody to check the prices on the menu before ordering anything at this establishment!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
5 Thank WERWillowGrove_Pa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stopping Point between DC and the south”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have been eating here for about 15 years in our driving from DC to NC. They always have great food and it's much better for you than eating fast food. Lovingston is a beautiful little town and you suddenly feel like you're in a Walton's episode.....love it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Samone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A good place to eat between Raleigh-Durham and Harrisonburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you're driving between Raleigh-Durham NC and Harrisonburg VA, the Lovingston Café is a good place to stop for a meal. There is variety, friendly service, a clean and pleasant environment, and it's right on the highway for easy in-and-out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SophieTosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lovingston Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lovingston Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing