We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for lunch with friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundae Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sundae Grill
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Nice place for lunch with friends. Good meals, good price, friendly service. Liberty discount with ID.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank miklin505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AnitaJoye
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Our kids say that they have the best burgers, and they may... really delicious. Lots of icecream choices. Extremely friendly and helpful to families. We love supporting this small business!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnitaJoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best food & ice cream in Lynchburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We dine there quite often. Ice Cream is great and the best burgers, sandwiches, and salads in our town. The staff and owners are the best and friendliest anywhere around.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kenflys19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Was just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I'd read the reviews and had concerns about the service, but wasn't in a big hurry so I thought I'd give the Sundae Grill a shot. Turns out there was no need for concern. The place was moderately busy and if service was slow for other reviewers, then the folks here must have read those and decided to turn it around. Our waitress was quick to bring us menus and take our drink order. She was knowledgeable about the menu items and very friendly. The food came out in a reasonable amount of time, the portions were sufficient for lunch, and it tasted pretty good. We had a variety including a Reuben, a hamburger, a salad, and some sides. Only one at our table had room for the ice cream afterward, but we all look forward to returning and just ordering dessert!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank offCenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sundae Grill on a Sunday after church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

My family visited our son at Liberty University in Lynchburg, and he wanted us to go to the Sundae Grill after church Sunday morning. This particular Sunday the grill was very busy and it was packed. I will say the couple running the grill (owners I presume) were so incredibly nice as they didn't want anyone to be inconvenienced or have to wait. The whole staff worked very hard and at a fast pace to get everyone taken care of in a timely manner and provided excellent customer service. The food was very good also! We had several different types of hamburgers, chicken sandwiches and some chicken tenders. My bacon cheddar burger was terrific! My son loves this restaurant as a local and we will likely go there each time we visit Lynchburg. One additional note: Not only did we get drink refills, but they constantly asked us and provided refills for us. This is not a fancy place, but a grill with local character and they have a large ice cream offering as well!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank unceddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundae Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing