We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice People, Nice Place, Nice Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice People, Nice Place, Nice Stay!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed 3 nights here recently for a local college visit. Chose a suite as we were travelling with children and the extra room was needed. Our first room ended up being closed off due to maintenance but the front desk personnel were very accomodating and apologetic and quickly moved us to a new room.
Requests for extra towels and comforter were quickly and graciously granted. The room was clean and comfortable and housekeeping did a great job making the beds & replacing used towels, emptying garbage, and the like.
Our daughter made use several times of the indoor swimming pool & hot tub. She loved it. Facilities & water were clean and clean towels were available pool-side.
The breakfast buffet was good and the seating & tables were continuously kept clean. The host & hostess were always checking to make sure everything was kept stocked and clean. I'd rate the breakfast buffet better than most. Only suggestion would be to add a conveyor-type toaster or add more regular toasters as there was only one 2-slice toaster which backed up a little during peak times. Excellent coffee available 24-7. Everyone from the front-desk personnel to housekeeping to breakfast hostess to the sales manager were very friendly, gracious, and accomodating.
Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in a king suite and never heard any hall noise as another reviewer did. Our room was also n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleBigMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Thank you for your kind comments… one of our values is “You don’t get a second chance to make a first impression” and our staff always steps up! Because of your comments we will be adding a 4-slice toaster next week and will use the 2-slice toaster as back-up. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    344
    182
    70
    34
See reviews for
491
101
91
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beuvrages
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Lots of stays in this hotel already. Breakfast has a little improved ... Large rooms and comfortable beds ...

Should improve the noise isolation of the room door : each and every noise in the corridor can be eared in the room, and disturb your sleep

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
We appreciate you staying with us each time you come to Lynchburg. It sounds like the noise you are hearing is from the deadbolt being placed between the door and the frame to prop the door open. I will check with our Maintenance Staff to see if there is a better solution to this. Thanks for bringing this to our attention! See you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLANO
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Bed was not comfortable.
No hot water the next AM. And no time to wait for resolution.
Broken entrance sign looks trashy and evidences poor maintenance detailing.

But kindly gave ma an extra hour to check out, before discovering no hot water.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank BartMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
It is very unusual for us to get a complaint about no hot water at all, however, since your room was on the 4th floor it can sometimes take a minute or two for the hot water to reach the upper floors. When I followed up with the Front Desk they did not receive complaints from any other guests. (We lucky to have a great maintenance staff who are always willing to help guests.) I will ask our Maintenance Staff to look at your room and make sure the faucet is working correctly. If you have a problem, just let us know and we will try to get it resolved as quickly as possible.
As far as with entrance sign goes, we are waiting for the insurance company to finish processing the claim so we can get it fixed. In the meantime, I will check to see if it can be taken down temporarily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 September 2012

NO suggestion. Over all good experience.
It is located close to most of the businesses in the area and close to the airport and decent restaurants.
Try to get the rooms on 4th or 5th floor on the north side to get a great view of the mountains.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
You are right… you can’t beat the view from the Wingate! When making reservations, be sure to book the “City View Room” with a King Beds with Sofa Sleeper in order to receive view room. (These rooms are based on availability and you will have an opportunity to request the actual floor at check-in.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHARPSBURG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

great place to stay, close to the surrounding colleges and choices to eat. staff was very courteous, hot tub was almost a bit too hot, but better than not warm enough

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Jeb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Glad you agree that the Wingate is a great place to stay! To conform to Virginia Department of Health regulations, we are required to keep the temperature in our whirlpool spa at 104 degrees Fahrenheit or 40 degree Celsius. (Our Maintenance Department checks this on a regular basis.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Nice rooms....great staff. Beautiful view... Will definitely use again when staying overnight in the Lynchburg area...can't get more convenient to Liberty University.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us… I could not have said it better myself. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is the second time in a year that I have stayed at this hotel. The room was not ready when we arrived. The pillows were all piled on one of the beds instead of on both beds. There was a dirty glass in the bathroom. The cleaning lady took it away and said she would return with another, but did not. I was going to take a bath, but while I was filling the tub, the liner floated up to reveal slimy green and black goop underneath. The shower head was clogged and sprayed in awkward directions. I asked for a "view room" when I made the reservation many weeks before, and ended up with a view of the electrical box and the bank behind the hotel. The coffee in the room was good, but horrible at the continental breakfast. The outlet for the microwave and coffee maker was not working, so we had to plug it in at the desk.
We were hoping to have a "regular" place to stay each time we visit Lynchburg because we will be visiting often over the next 6-8 years. So far, we are very unimpressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Your visit to the Wingate was definitely not one of our “typical guest experiences” and on behalf of our staff I would like to apologize. It seems that we checked you into a room that was in the process of being cleaned, but was not completely finished. Before we check-in a guest, our Housekeeping Supervisor typically inspects every room thoroughly to make sure that everything is in working order. If everything is OK, the Front Desk is notified that the room is ready for guest arrival.
You will be pleased to know that this week we refinished every bath tub in the hotel and inspected every bathroom to make sure that everything is up to our high standards. If there is a problem with your room, we want to be notified immediately so we can resolve it quickly.
Because we only have a view rooms we cannot guarantee them, but if you will give us another opportunity to earn your business, please contact me directly and I promise to do my very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lynchburg
SpringHill Suites Lynchburg
#10 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University
Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University)
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#8 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University. Our Lynchburg, Virginia hotel offers outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include a pool and exercise room. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. Enjoy complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station, and an ideal location close to Liberty University and Lynchburg College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing