We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed at the Wingate for an Intensive Course. Rooms were comfortable, quiet, and clean. The complementary breakfast was ok. There was a variety of cereal, yogurt, bagels, etc. There are also hot items: waffles (make your own), eggs, and sausage or bacon. The eggs were not good -- they seem to be made of a powdered mix and the "omelet" was just the egg folded in half with a glop cheese in the middle. I think there are better hotels in the area for the same amount of money. Also, I had a lot of trouble with the Wi-Fi which was apparently localized to the floor I was on (5th). Staff said they would look into it but I used the campus Library and other spots instead.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haran76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Wingate Lynchburg… we appreciate you sharing your feedback. Our Breakfast Manager does try offer a variety breakfast items on a daily basis. She typically alternates between Scrambled Eggs, Cheese Omelets, or Western Omelets, along with an optional meat item such as Sausage Links or Patties, Smoked Bacon, or Canadian Bacon. If you have any suggestions of any other breakfast items that you would like us to add, please let us know. We are in the process of improving Wi/Fi signal and also offer hard wired internet access in guest rooms which offers faster download speeds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here for a week recently; I was taking a course at nearby Liberty University. I found the hotel staff to be friendly and accommodating, even when I checked out a day early! Breakfast (6AM-10AM M-F, 7AM-?? Sat/Sun) was great, and had a rotating menu. Always hot choices (eggs, meat, waffles), but plenty of cereal, muffins, fruit, etc. also. Regularly replenished. The room was perfect for my needs. King-size bed, A/C unit, microwave, coffee pot, mini-fridge - it's a lovely gesture that they leave microwave popcorn in the rooms also. The bathroom was standard & adequate. While the free wi-fi will not be the fastest you've ever used, it will be suitable for the average business/school endeavors. The high-speed printers at the front desk saved time & money when printing handouts for a project. I used the fitness room once; adequate (but not sound-proof...be cautious when singing along to your iPod). If this hotel had laundry facilities, it would be absolutely perfect. For extended travelers (I had come down after a week in DC), that's a must-have. There is a laundromat relatively close (if you have a car, which I did), but the convenience of on-site would be superb. I'll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sullivan206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Wingate… we are glad to be “your gem” when you stay in Lynchburg. It is the “little touches” that really make a difference… whether it is the bag of popcorn provided in each room, coffee and tea available in the lobby 24 hours or the Business Center available 24/7 with free printing, copies and faxes.

As part of our remodeling which began last week we will be doubling the size of our Fitness Center, adding a Marketplace along with two new Guest Laundry Facilities which we hope will make us perfect for you. (We expect the remodeling to be completed in mid-March.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Food was good. Comfortable bed, even though it was a little soft. However, bathroom needed update repair and extra cleaning. Toilet seat needs to be tightened. Manager came to us and asked if everything was okay, which is very important. In addition, it's a great location overlooking Liberty University.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Mantle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to let us know about the problems you experienced in your bathroom. As part of our remodeling, which began last week we are making major upgrades to all guest rooms, including bathrooms. In the meantime, I shared to comments with our Housekeeping Manager and Maintenance Supervisor to make sure each of these problems with the bathroom was corrected. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times while taking my Liberty Intensive course. The staff are wonderful and very friendly with all guests. The couple of times I needed something from the front desk staff, they were more than generous to help with anything needed. The breakfast is nice and the hotel is in a great location for intensive classes. Beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want a great view of the mountains and liberty campus, ask for a front view room. It's b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tonya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

It is a real complement to our staff when guests come back to stay with us because of their positive experience. Our goal is to always exceed guest expectations to make you want to come back to stay with us again and again! We look forward to seeing you when you come back for your next class!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely and comfortable hotel with a beautiful view. Quick access to Liberty transit was available. The manager went above and beyond to make sure I had food I could eat due to a food allergy and also helped us back to the hotel from downtown when we happened to be at the same eatery. Friendly staff and I cannot get over how the manager made our stay that much better. I feel as if I've found a home away from home. I will be staying here for all future intensives.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your “Excellent Wingate Experience” with us and letting us know that our staff went “above & beyond” to take care of your needs! We’re glad to be your “home away from home” and look forward to your future visits with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As usual, the hotel staff were WONDERFULLY hospitable. Everyone was polite and welcoming. Breakfast buffet is great. Room staff knew I was there for the week and did a great job keeping the room clean and well-stocked. My only issue was that, last September, I was told by one of the staff that laundry and food court were going to be put in place by this spring. Well, construction hasn't even begun. So, if you get hungry and don't want to leave the hotel, you're stuck with a bag of popcorn in your room and a vending machine on the 1st floor. Also, when I made my reservation this past March (for the July intensive), I requested a front-facing room. That didn't happen - so, my view was of the retaining wall. Special thanks to Brian Knopp for doing all he does to make one's stay relaxing! And to Theresa, who runs the breakfast buffet!

Room Tip: You definitely want a room on the front of the hotel, and the higher up it is, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We are happy to announce that the remodeling of our Wingate by Wyndham will begin on August 4th and will include the addition of a Marketplace as well as Guest Laundry Facilities. (These additions will be made because of the suggestion of our guests!) However, please be patient… that this process will take 5-6 months to complete since it being done one section at a time so we don’t disturb our guests. One of the advantages of the Wingate is that we are on the Liberty Shuttle Route which can take our guests to nearby restaurants. Glad that our staff could help make your stay RELAXING! We look forward to seeing you in ROUND 4!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Spent a quick overnight here and enjoyed the comfortable room. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. The only downside was an odd smell in the bathroom, but everything appeared clean. Our room had a great view of the mountains, and the hotel is convenient to just about everything in the region. Easy on and off nearby Routes 460/US 29.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAPrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We’re glad that you liked our location and found our room to be comfortable… our location on Candlers Mountain Road makes us convenient to nearby colleges, shopping and restaurants. The smell in the bathroom may have come from the environmentally friendly cleaning products that we use. Our Housekeeping Supervisor will check this out. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University

Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University)
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: £70 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University. Our Lynchburg, Virginia hotel offers outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include a pool and exercise room. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. Enjoy complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station, and an ideal location close to Liberty University and Lynchburg College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing