We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view, Snowplex, and a very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We came to Lynchburg, Virginia, for the first time in our lives, for a job interview, and we fell in love with the gorgeous view of the city from popularly named Liberty Mountain (officially named Candlers Mountain).....overlooking Liberty Universiity and greater Lynchburg's seven hills. You guessed it, this Wingate Hotel is on the side of this LU branded mountain, What a nice first impression of the town and area! All the assets and activities of Liberty University are 1/2 mile away at the foot of the mountain. There is even a year-round indoor Snowplex winter sports arena, located right across the street ... what fun!

Wingate is one of the more upscale hotels in the area and costs reflect that... fortunately, our potential employer hosted us and spent about $120 for our first floor room. Everything was very clean and in good order. Flat screen TV and internet were excellent. King bed was fresh, clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the room's furnishings.

Morning breakfast was a great variety of fresh fruit, cereals, muffins, bagels, jellies, breads, waffles, pastries, eggs, cheesy omlets, meats like ham and sausage, juices, coffee, tea and many condiments from syrups to hot sauce ... if you left the breakfast buffet hungry it was not due to a lack of nicely arranged and tasty offerings. A helpful staff person was busy cleaning tables and chairs (it seems that there were a large group of guests that just left everything, without discarding their own trash --- a pet peeve of ours --- c'mon folks!), and she also was restocking trays of items promptly, so everything was always fresh.

We have to say another word of high praise for the front desk receptionist named Juliet, who is a very kind, helpful, outgoing and informative person....she was eager to be of service and support. While assisting guests, she also was training a new clerk on the nuances of the Wingate's computer system, taking calls, and generally multi-tasking like the energizer bunny. She gave us helpful insights into Lynchburg's cultural life, apartment living contacts, and things to see and do in the Lynchburg historic downtown district. For those who still like to read books (not just a cell phone or laptop screen), the current local newspaper (The News and Advance) and USA Today were available in the lobby, as well as several copies of coffee table books featuring photos and descriptions of major sponsored attractions and businesses (including this Wingate), and a signed biography of the town's most famous citizen, the Rev. Jerry Falwell.

The only down side to our stay was that the hot tub section of the large indoor pool was closed for several months for repairs....but it was still a nice swim in the 80' X 20' heated large pool. While a passing rainstorm pelted the plexiglass roof, we were wet and comfy indoors in the pool. ;-)

In closing, we liked our stay so much that we came back again the following week, for more follow-up interviews....so hopefully we'll be back at this Wingate yet again in the future, if the job comes through. The hotel is also available for longer term stays by the month. Thanks again to the Wingate staff for a delightful stay and for a wonderful view from Liberty Mountain!

Room Tip: Check with Juliet for anything you need...she is GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review of the Wingate Lynchburg… you really hit all the highlights and was a terrific read! We especially want to thank you for recognizing the outstanding customer service by Julie, one of our valued Front Desk Team Members.

At the start of each we host a “Morning Stand-up Meeting” and we read all of our reviews from TripAdvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to share your review with all of our team members.

Our goal is excellence “Excellence In Hospitality” and one of our team members shared this quote: “Excellence is the result of caring more than others think wise, risking more than others think is safe, dreaming more than others think is practical, and expecting more than others think is possible.” Your review epitomizes this mission for our entire team at the Wingate Lynchburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here in July of 2014. Worst experience in a hotel. The room was nothing special. Just a bed and bath. For $150 a night, you can stay somewhere better. Bugs in the bed, water was maybe lukewarm in the shower. Stay away. You can find somewhere better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginnyprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

When we received your review, we wondered if this should have been sent to a different hotel? Our goal is to always exceed guest expectations and we offer a variety of extra amenities, including: Heated Indoor Pool, Complete Fitness Center, and a Hot Buffet Breakfast which is included in the rate. Just last week we began a major remodeling of all our guest rooms and hope you will give us another opportunity to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We can't say enough about how genuinely caring all the staff seemed to be. I'd like to specifically commend Julie, the front desk staff on the evening of 8/4. After a long road trip, I arrived a very frazzled mom with 4 kids. Julie showed extraordinary grace and compassion and went out of her way to meet our needs...even to find me a pair of tweezers! She had a way of making this frazzled mom really feel like a queen that night! I'd give the hotel 5 stars for service but the breakfast buffet seemed average at best, hence the 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, overlooking the valley and Liberty U. The distant mountain range is br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazybusymomof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us at the Wingate Lynchburg. Near the front desk we have a sign that reads: “May all who enter as Guests, leave as Friends” and Julie and our members of our Wingate Team truly believe this! If you have any suggestion of items that you would like to see added to our Hot Buffet Breakfast, please let us know! THANKS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was clean and cool when we arrived. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was good and the dining area was comfortable. My children used the pool while I sat poolside, this area is inviting, spacious, and relaxing. The wifi was very weak, we had a difficult time with connecting to the internet with our mobile devices. Besides this issue, our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Krissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We’re glad that we were able to make you special during your stay with us at the Wingate Lynchburg! Our staff always tries to “Exceed Guest Expectation” with room cleanliness and the extra amenities such as our large Heated Indoor Pool. We appreciate you letting us know about the weak internet signal on your floor. Our Maintenance Engineer has reset the system to make sure that it is stronger. As a back-up, please be aware that we also offer High Speed Wired which Is located near the Work Desk in each of our guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Room smelled of mildew and was extremely humid inspite of the air conditioner. Refrigerator did not adequately chill beverages inspite of having them in there for over 24 hours. I used the first night as reward points and paid cash for the second night and was not awarded points. I would not have stayed the second night if I had known I wouldn't receive credit for this hotel and instead elected to stay a much comparible hotel which was $68.70 cheaper than the $124.85 that I paid for the one night. I had to have my room keys re-done in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Kimball D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

This month we started a major remodeling of the Wingate Lynchburg which may have caused the humidity and mildew smell that you experienced. We apologize for this and want to make sure that you are treated right. We will make sure that you receive you points for your second night and we are going to add 3,000 extra Wyndham Reward Points for your troubles. Our Maintenance Team was able to adjust the temperature in the refrigerator and correct the problem with your thermostat in the air conditioning unit. We appreciate you letting us know about the problems so we could get them fixed immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have always stayed at the Wingate all throughout college and for past five years. However this past weekend, I booked it out for my wedding party/guest, etc. They were the most unaccommodating throughout the entire process as I've ever witnessed any hotel to be. We asked for early check-in (one hour). They said no. We asked if we could have one hour late check-out to finish getting ready for our wedding and they immediately said no. I understand it's inconvenient to have people check in and check out early and late however this is a wedding. I don think an hour late one time would kill them. So unhelpful and totally unwilling to budge at all. Extremely unprofessional and will not be staying here again. Not a good way to leave an impression on over thirty people when there's ten other hotels within a mile radius.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jltenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

This morning I spoke to your Mom and she said that you were on your Honeymoon so we will follow-up with you personally next week. Our Wingate has always been known as an “excellent location” for wedding parties and I wanted to apologize for not be able to provide early check-in and check-out for some of your guests. Christine Mayotte, our Group Sales Coordinator, has offered to follow-up with groups in advance to make sure that we don’t miss any important details or special requests. We do appreciate your feedback and thank you for allowing us to be a part of your wedding celebration. We promise to do a better job at anticipating of needs for future wedding groups!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 25 in Lynchburg
362 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
4.4 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 25 in Lynchburg
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University

Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University)
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#5 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: £87 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lynchburg Liberty University. Our Lynchburg, Virginia hotel offers outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include a pool and exercise room. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. Enjoy complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station, and an ideal location close to Liberty University and Lynchburg College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing