We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good deal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill City Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hill City Inn
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good deal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

clean room, typical outdoor entrance motel. breakfast is minimal (cereal, prepackaged danishes, toast, fruit, oatmeal), but so is the nightly rate! If you don't like powdered coffee creamer, bring your own half and half! ;) Although a little hard to understand, the owners were friendly and helpful. Rooms have microwave, fridge, coffemaker, hair dryer, iron and board. We will be coming back, as we are looking for an inexpensive, clean, safe room with breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie12019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    20
    9
    16
See reviews for
25
10
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was more interested in the history of Lynchburg than a decent place to stay, so I shopped for inexpensive lodging and ended up here. They have a swimming pool, and - I think - they let the general public use it for a fee. It was absolutely packed with some of the most drunk, most crude people I have ever seen. Certainly not a place to take children. Now this was in the summer - winters might be different. The rooms were average.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lynchburg hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Called twice two days prier to make sure that it was ok for me to check in at 4am because I've been traveling form Florida to Lynchburg for summer orientation at liberty university, I clearly specified more than 2 times that I would be there early in the morning and asked if I would still be able to check in and she said yes just make sure you check out by 11 on Saturday. Well the front desks calls my room and asks me to pay for an extra night when she clearly said it was ok for me to check in that early. End result I had to pay an extra 30 dollars just to stay until the next day when I already paied for my stay. Never going back again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxxdeborahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

My two sons attended a concert in Lynchburg over the New Year holidays. My youngest left his wallet in the room. It contained his Christmas money, school ID and subway card in Beijing, where we live. The maids discovered it and gave it to Sam Patel. He contacted the boy's youth leader and reached me that day. We were flying home in two days, so I authorized him to use some of the money from the wallet (left a note with amount) and send it FedEx so we could get it the next day. He was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure my son had his wallet.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyPWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

The hotel staff here were great the owner and his daughter bent over backwards to accomodate us. We booked on line and there were only 2 smoking rooms left in the hotel and when we checked in we asked if there were any non smoking rooms and they managed to get us one.
It is an older hotel the outdoor type but, the rooms have been recently redone at least ours was. The bathroom however was not redone and the wall paper was peeling. The room was very clean all except for the bathroom. The rate we got was pretty fair especially being the only two rooms left in the whole town due to a function at the college the weekend we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has just been redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

For the price we paid I wouldn't expect the Ritz and didn't get it! The whole place is pretty tired and I didn't examine the housekeeping too closely just to be sure I would sleep. The beds were "fine" but the air conditioner was like a helicopter in the room. We didn't hang about and were glad that it was only for 1 night.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CorkKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

My family spent several nights at the Travelodge in Lynchburg for a graduation. It was both comfortable and clean. The best thing about it was the people running it. They were so nice. I had my mom and dad with me, and they are both 70+ years old. I felt like the Travelodge bent over backwards to make them at home. I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#11 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Federal Crest Inn
Federal Crest Inn
#1 of 5 in Lynchburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill City Inn

Property: Hill City Inn
Address: 1500 Main Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1824 (Formerly Travel Inn Lynchburg)
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hill City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hill City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Lynchburg
Travel Lodge Lynchburg
Lynchburg Travel Lodge
Lynchburg Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing