We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I had expected”
Review of Hill City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill City Inn
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than I had expected”
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Since another family member had booked our room plus 5 other rooms in advance I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews but after getting there I was pleased . It wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. For the price it was quit nice. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. There wasn't that many people staying there so we pretty much had the pool to ourselves. If you don't have to have any thing fancy and you want a good clean affordable place to stay I would recommend staying here. Oh the breakfast was muffins, cereal, honey buns and fruit, which we didn't have a problem with. That is usually what we eat any way.

  • Liked — It was clean and affordable
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatfield08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    21
    10
    18
See reviews for
28
10
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

This motel is SERIOUSLY used for government housing. The Manager (Patel) told us. There are people hanging out outside ALL of the time. Kids not being supervised in the pool and riding bikes all around all of the cars outside. 2AM basketball and parties in the parking lot.
The motel is not in a good area. I was afraid to let my teenagers go out to the car alone.
The office is closed at night. "Breakfast " isn't served until after 7am.
All of the rooms SMELL BAD. We went into three of them. Each of them worse than the other.
The water will freeze then scald you over and over.
I would NOT recommend this motel.

  • Liked — The ice maker worked
  • Disliked — The smell and the motel also being used for Section 8 Housing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meyertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lynchburg hotels

The Southeast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2007

This establishment is situated in downtown Lynchburg and is within range of small arms fire from the happy, though less afluent inhabitants situated therein. While not a bad neighborhood, the fatigue with life and its predictability are palpable. Except for the ants, a missing blanket, and sparse toiletries, one must give credit that the room was otherwise clean, vacuumed, and the air conditioning did not smell. There have indeed been worse, though the continental breakfast did look like it was left in a Lincoln overnight. Seek this hotel if you simply need a reasonably clean room for the night and easy access to escape the next morning (the highway is nearby). For a longer stay, there might be better options available.

  • Liked — The price, $65 a night and they provided a great map of Lynchburg.
  • Disliked — It looked like a reconditioned demilitarized zone.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2007

Our family of 4 stayed here on New Years Eve. The room was clean, but had a strong smell, somewhat like the smell of a perm. The beds were comfortable, but there were no fitted sheets (flat sheets were used for fitted sheets on both beds) and the pillows were very thin. It was difficult to regulate the room temperature & we found ourselves either too hot or too cold. You could feel a significant draft coming in from the door. The walls seemed very thin, as we could hear the people in the rooms on either side of us, as well as noise from outside (cars, people in corridors, train, etc.). The room had an iron/ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, refrigerator, small microwave, & a TV which had cabel. Lighting in our room was fine. The continental breakfast consisted of a few choices of cereal, bananas, toast, prepackaged pastries, orange juice, and milk. The milk was almost out when we arrived for breakfast (around 9:00 am). In the future, we would probably seek elsewhere for a better nights sleep.

  • Liked — Price ~ $60
  • Disliked — Noise, room smell
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaminG0girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2006

I spent one night at this hotel, during a busy weekend in Lynchburg. It was the top ranked available hotel when I booked. For $65 plus taxes the room was OK value. The hotel room was clean enough, but nothing special. The room decor was a little bit old, but everything worked fine. I had an early start the following morning so I didn't appreciate the loud noise (TV, conversation) that was very audible from the room next door until well after midnight. The staff were friendly and helpful on check-in and check-out.

All in all, not a bad experience, but it's not a hotel I'd want to linger in. For an overnight it's fine.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank an_spalpeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 June 2006

Air conditioning was very poor, did not cool room all night.

Room was clean and decent.

Lighting was poor, one lamp burned out.

Lock did not work.

Light in hall was burned out, so we couldn't even see where to put the key.

In the daylight, hotel was pretty nice looking, but at night it didn't look good at all.

Management was friendly and willing to help.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2006

I recently stayed at this Travelodge and it was great. It was clean and comfortable, the shower was great (best I've had at a place like this) and the staff was some of the friendliest I've ever dealt with.

Let me clarify what that Expedia review said: yes, this place is near railroad tracks (approx. six blocks away, at the bottom of a hill) but so is the entire area. The area is on the railroad tracks and you can't get away from it anywhere. Also, there were no water problems at all ... the place was great and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrbeaRider66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
4.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd.
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
306 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 23 in Lynchburg
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
867 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 23 in Lynchburg
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill City Inn

Property: Hill City Inn
Address: 1500 Main Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1824 (Formerly Travel Inn Lynchburg)
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hill City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hill City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Lynchburg
Travel Lodge Lynchburg
Lynchburg Travel Lodge
Lynchburg Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing