We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Wow, what a super staff. Hotel was great, but staff was outstanding! I was at the Hotel while waiting for a family member to finish a work assignment that we thought would be over by check out time. He was still not back when it was time to check out. Front desk said 'no problem' and we could stay and wait a while longer. Even when we gave up the room because we knew the cleaning staff needed to work on it, they were willing to let us stay as long as necessary - or provide whatever services we needed to make it work. The desk clerk's words were 'we are here to serve' and he meant it. Thanks for a great visit to Lynchburg!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballardtrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Ballardtrt,

THANK YOU for your review!

We pride ourselves on an awesome service staff, and we are delighted to hear that you experienced our culture firsthand.

Looking forward to your next visit with us.

Tony Camm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Holiday Inn in Downtown Lynchburg is the best hotel ever. We even got a huge military discount. The room we stayed in with a king size bed was spacious, clean and the bathroom was also spacious and clan. Plenty of clean towels were nice. The bed was very comfortable, sheets clean and crisp! This was a very inexpensive hotel, a huge bang for the money. Staff was very friendly, they may not have had all the right answers, but they went out of their way to be accommodating and we appreciated that. Some of the nicer hotels that we've been to abroad didn't compare to what we experienced at this hotel for the price. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyonsuk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Hyonsuk S,

THANK YOU for your review!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit.


Tony Camm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

While he hotel was not bad, the front desk staff was not good at all, I got no greeting when i first arrived and stood for 10 minuets or so waiting as they only had one clerk at desk. One of our party had a clogged sink, told man at desk who said they would send maintenance up, they never showed. The house keeper said she reported it the next afternoon and still no repair. I forgot my cell phone charger and asked the same guy at front desk if they had one from lost and found, he said he would check when he had a chance, he never did.
Up sides... Bar and restaurant staff are very good! And Elvis is the man! I asked Elvis about the charger and he had me one in a few minuets. Also, restaurant food was good.
It just seems as though much of the front house staff feels burdened by your patronage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smsousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear smsousa,

THANK YOU for your review!

I am sorry about the parts of your visit that did not go well, and I have already addressed those issues.

I will pass your positive comments on to Elvis.


Tony Camm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Friendly and helpful stuff. Nice big hotel one of its kind. Lynchburg very interesting place. Historical nice City to visit for Belivers. Lots of remodeling. Many old fabric building converted and constructed well. Helpful stuff lots of parking spaces..Nice location, easy access heart of the city and mainstreet. On the other hand even at downtown most places closing early or by 10 pm. Thank you for Holiday Inn express family. Overall nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKANSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear OKANSON,

THANK YOU for your review!

We are so glad to hear that your visit to our city was so enjoyable.

Looking forward to seeing you on future visits.


Tony Camm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Recently, we stayed at the Holiday Inn at 601 Main in Lynchburg, VA. Sharon Jones on the front desk was very competent and the hotel is centrally located, relatively clean and comfortable, but the hotel service staff desperately needs training -- from the inattentive custodial team to the clueless restaurant crew. Meals were a particular challenge and the hostess -- who actually appeared to mean well -- was so "playfully" hostile that children cringed and ran to their parents when she spoke to them. The bathroom fixtures also need updating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheongsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

When we arrived for our 4 night stay over Liberty U's and Lynchburg College's "graduation weekend" we were given a paper alerting us too the possibility of cold water and slow service due to high capacity. For the cold water, guests were advised to wait about an hour and try again.

Huh, I thought, I have never ever seen a hotel/motel attempt to preempt complaints of poor service. Not a good sign.

Surely the correct approach when a hotel can predict exceptionally high capacity is too ensure the infrastructure and staff to accommodate it, NOT instead telling your customers they are about to be disappointed.

I mean, after all, this is a national chain and this particular hotel advertised as "select." So this colors every impression of this place -- poor management -- in return for guest loyalty, the guests are punished. On graduation weekend, guests are a captive audience and the management knows it.

True to their word, our room wasn't cleaned until about 4PM each day and many other guests experienced the same except for the folks whose room was not cleaned at all one day.

We also heard many complaints about cold water in the AM but did not experience it ourselves.

The hallway carpets are stained and hotel itself is worn out and needs refurbishing. Oddly it seems clean.

For certain, the staff is as genuinely friendly as one expects in the south.

For any future trips to Lynchburg or elsewhere, I will "select" a Hampton Inn over Holiday Inn and get a free breakfast to boot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeza4614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Gscharlman,

THANK YOU for your review!

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay was peppered with such less-than-desirable service.

We never anticipate having hot water issues, however we realize that with full-house situations with 400-500 guests in the hotel, there is always a possibility of a hot water shortage with the entire hotel showering at once within a small window of time.

Fortunately WE did not hear of any hot water issues during that weekend.

We DO recognize that our hallway carpets are in need of replacement, and new carpet install has begun as we speak, and upon it's completion will be a welcome showcase for our property.

Again, I apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced, and if you wish to discuss further, you can email me at hislynchburg@hislynchburg.com


Tony Camm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have 2 sons that attend Lynchburg College and have been staying at this hotel for the past 5 years. We tried other hotels and settled on the Holiday Inn for its friendly staff, great location, and the discount they offer Lynchburg parents.
Sharon at the front desk is a wonderful asset to the hotel. She greets us by name every time we arrive, Which was quite frequently as our son was an athlete and we came down for many of his games.
The free breakfast offered is a plus and the wait staff of Valarie, Lashawna (sp) and Ralph are always friendly and accommodating.
The only downside of our stays are the sometimes squeaky beds. However they are not in all rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseygrl1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear jerseygrl1818,

THANK YOU for your review!

We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff, and I will pass your comments on to those you mentioned.

We are currently addressing the issue with the squeaky beds.

Looking forward to your next visit with us.

Tony Camm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#2 of 23 in Lynchburg
879 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.7 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
345 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lynchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lynchburg

Address: 601 Main Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: £111 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lynchburg 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lynchburg hotel, an anchor of the new Downtown Lynchburg resurgence, is nestled in the heart of five quaint historic districts, with views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and a panoramic view of the city. The hotel is within minutes of the area s largest employers, such as Genworth, Areva, and B&W/McDermott, five universities including Liberty University, Sweet Briar College,Lynchburg College and Randolph College, and Lynchburg Regional Airport. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are within walking distance, including the reknowned Lynchburg Academy of Fine Arts, and Poplar Forest, Appomattox Courthouse, Natural Bridge and the D-Day Memorial are just a short drive away. Treat yourself to the area's only authentic Peruvian cuisine in our Machu Picchu restaurant. Additional amenities include a seasonal rooftop pool, universal fitness center, complimentary business center, 32 inch flat panel televisions, free wireless high speed Internet, free garage parking, and over 12,000 square feet of flexible conference space. Our general manager, in his 28th year at the property is dedicated to a service culture that will bring you back again and again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lynchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing