We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Downtown Lynchburg, VA Excellent Event Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Not only have my husband & I stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown, Lynchburg, VA & found it clean with a good restaurant & an exceptionally friendly & professional staff, our club held its Annual Public Charity Auction there this year. The auction room was perfect for our event & the staff was absolutely fantastic to work with. They went out of their way to accommodate out needs & made our event a very positive experience. We will be making Holiday Inn Downtown our "auction home" in years to come.

We have also held a 100th Television Show Party at the Holiday Inn Downtown & will be holding our club's 30th. Anniversary party there is 2014. The party staff was attentive to our every need & the food was excellent. The Lounge had an exceptional atmosphere & ambience & we hope to continue holding special events at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Linda S,

THANK YOU for your review!

I am delighted to hear that all of your experiences here at the hotel have been memorable ones, and we are so looking forward to your next event with us.


Tony Camm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

My family of four persons stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Lynchburg for one week. We came in with mixed expectations given previous comments seen. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel and the service. It was for us a very positive experience. We would not think twice about going back and staying there again in our future college visits. We had a clean, comfortable room adequate for four people, equippred with a medum sized fridge, a microwave oven and ironing appliances.For someone coming with kids, these were very helpful. Washing and drying facilities on the groundfloor were convenient and practical. The hotel is centrally located, is accessible to and from most key points including the particular college, is very close to the community (weekend) market, good restos.,church and parking was hassle free.The gym/fitness room had the most important equipment for daily workouts. Sharon at the reception desk and Brian at the breakfast table/restaurant were warmly helpful !

Room Tip: You may wish to ask for a non-smoking room (we were on the 6th floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Maria Q,

THANK YOU for your review!

I am so pleased, but not surprised, to hear that your visit with us was a wonderful one.

We look forward to seeing more of you during the school year.


Tony Camm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn in downtown Lynchburg. Room was nice, quiet and super clean. A/C unit fan ran continuously and did not make a lot of noise when compressor started and stopped. Lobby was really nice, but bar area is adjoining the lobby and is impossible not to see while in the lobby. Parking was plentiful in the parking deck, but I would not have felt comfortable walking from my car back to the hotel without my husband. So I would not recommend for everyone. Staff was helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: We were on fourth floor. Room was quiet. No problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadassahgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear hadassahgk,

THANK YOU for your review!

I am glad to hear your stay went well and also thankful for your comments regarding the parking garage.

We will look into how we can improve the feeling of safety in that area.


Tony Camm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed over the week-end dropping my son off to start college. He's playing football so I will be in the area many more times but will not be staying here. Breakfast was good and the staff was great but the hotel itself and the rooms in particular were not $120 a night rooms. The bathroom was not clean, rugs were old and damaged, etc. I travel extensively and know what $120 a night looks and feels like. This is a building that needs serious updates to command the price their asking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kflow40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear kflow40,

THANK YOU for your review!

We are constantly making upgrades to our property including the guestrooms as well as the public areas.

I will suggest that as you travel to this area in the future that you inquire about our special College rates, which are significantly cheaper than the standard premium rates.


Tony Camm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here for a week with a little league tournament. Checking into a hotel with 16 baseball teams and their families was not something I looked forward to. However, the staff at the hotel went above and beyond to help make this week an enjoyable experience. Everyone from the sales team, to the bellman (elvis you rock), the housekeeping, the front desk and even the security team, went above and beyond to help make our stay more enjoyable. The pool was clean, the beds were comfy, the rooms were clean and our stay was awsome. Thank you to all, I highly recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Internet was kind of spotty but I was not a business travler so it didn't bother me to much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joevamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear joevamy,

THANK YOU for your review!

We pride ourselves on our awesome staff.

I'm delighted to hear that your stay was so pleasant, even during that extremely busy time.


Tony Camm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown on an emergency visit to Lynchburg, VA. My father-in-law was on hospice and not doing well. We checked in very late at night after flying in to Raleigh NC and then driving to Lynchburg yet found Sharon at the front desk to be very pleasant, caring and concerned. She went above and beyond her duties to make our visit as comfortable as possible. Knowing our visit could be extended, she had the forethought to place us in a room with a microwave and refrigerator without our requesting it. This allowed us to have something to snack on when we dragged in very late at night from sitting with my father-in-law. Brian, Traquel, Valerie and Ralph from the dining area gave great service and also proved to be very caring individuals giving us words of encouragement each morning. James at the front desk was also quick to respond to our needs. Housekeeping was patient with the odd hours we kept and provided clean towels, etc. when we missed having our room cleaned. Although our visit ended in losing our dear loved one, our ordeal was made more bearable by the kind people employed by Holiday Inn. Thank you again from the heart. The Rea Family

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPANISHGATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcamm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear SPANISHGATE,

THANK YOU for your review!

I will pass your great comments on to our staff.


Tony Camm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as nothing else was available. I've stayed here numerous times over the years having attended college nearby. The lobby has some nice updates but the rooms seem decorated in the same materials as the early 90s. The hotel has changed hands a number of times and the evidence of prior artwork is everywhere on the walls. The beds squeaked with the slightest movement as though they were literally going to fall apart. We could hear similar squeaking on either side of us so I suspect those beds were in the same lackluster condition. Parking is as poor as ever - the garage is OK but you'd better not have a lot of bags, else you are dragging them down to the ground floor to re-enter the hotel. The facility really needs an update to be competitive with all the other options.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lynchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear KPG33,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the room conditions that did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the beds has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
3.7 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
349 reviews
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg
4.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lynchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lynchburg

Address: 601 Main Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: £110 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lynchburg 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lynchburg hotel, an anchor of the new Downtown Lynchburg resurgence, is nestled in the heart of five quaint historic districts, with views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and a panoramic view of the city. The hotel is within minutes of the area s largest employers, such as Genworth, Areva, and B&W/McDermott, five universities including Liberty University, Sweet Briar College,Lynchburg College and Randolph College, and Lynchburg Regional Airport. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are within walking distance, including the reknowned Lynchburg Academy of Fine Arts, and Poplar Forest, Appomattox Courthouse, Natural Bridge and the D-Day Memorial are just a short drive away. Treat yourself to the area's only authentic Peruvian cuisine in our Machu Picchu restaurant. Additional amenities include a seasonal rooftop pool, universal fitness center, complimentary business center, 32 inch flat panel televisions, free wireless high speed Internet, free garage parking, and over 12,000 square feet of flexible conference space. Our general manager, in his 28th year at the property is dedicated to a service culture that will bring you back again and again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Lynchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing