We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No problem's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Lynchburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
LI, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No problem's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a second time. Both times on a college road trip and we had no complaints with the hotel, staff and the room. There was a country singer performing there that night so the hotel was quite busy. The staff is very responsive and courteous. I would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJLi_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    115
    61
    27
    18
See reviews for
99
55
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Upstate SC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

We were traveling here with our family as part of a larger group. Our hotel looked great on-line, but when we arrived it did not meet our expectations. Several parties in our group experienced problems with their rooms. Personally, we had to have the air conditioning unit replaced twice, the water was just warm and our tub did not drain.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpstateSCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

I stayed at the hotel for business with a colleague and was quite dissapointed.

A) upon check-in my colleague & I were told that our rooms were double-bed rooms, when we had confirmations for King beds. The desk attendant indicated that King Beds were not available and that "it's just like the airlines when you get bumped into coach." Since we were checking in around 10PM I assumed that the hotel must have been busy and they ran out of rooms. However, when I spoke to staff the following day they indicated that they have been very slow and aren't even close to being full.

B) The temperature in the lobby, restaurant and bar area is freezing. When we asked staff if the heat was working, staff (who was wearing a coat), indicated that management has been trying to cut corners and save on costs, which is related to C...

C) Staff indicated that management decided to eliminate happy hour specials during the month of January.

Besides the front desk, the rest of the staff (restaurant & bar) provided great service. The rooms were typical Holiday Inn. However, my colleague had to switch rooms because the heating element was not working (it was in the upper teens at night). In regards to Management & the front desk , it appears that they are cutting corners and their own standards of customer service.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

I was very pleased with this hotel. I was initally concerned because the building is in the old part of town and the building is very old too, but the hotel has been recently renovated and was beautiful. The restaurant inside the hotel (Lunchbag) was awesome. The menu was fresh and very different and the food was superb.

The hotel was clean, well decorated and quiet - eventhough there was a "Little Miss" Pagent going on while we were there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TGCarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoBoVa.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Check in was friendly and fast. Parking is in a parking garage beside the hotel. Our room was clean and had some updating however the tub was slow to drain. If you are staying here for a quiet romantic getaway then this is not your hotel. If you like to let your hair down and have a drink and party this is your hotel. There was a lot of excessive noise good thing the new comfortable bed put me to sleep. The resturant is good and reasonable they had a special short ribs, five cheese mac n cheese and tender greenbeans for $12. WOW! All and all for the price this hotel is a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

I stayed one night for a trip to Lynchburg for a family emergency. I didn't spend much time at the hotel. We arrived around 10:30 pm and were greeted by a very friendly staff. The check-in process went smoothly.

This was my first time in a Holiday Inn Select and frankly, I didn't have high expectations. I selected this hotel because I got a good corporate rate for Lynchburg area, the hotel was conveniently located for me and I'm a member of Priority Club.

The room reminded me of a typical old Holiday Inn room - - tired and worn. However, it was clean. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. The a/c was noiser then more upscale brands but wasn't bad. I suspect soundproofing wasn't that great and without the a/c noise, other noises would have been more problematic. I wasn't able to connect to the free internet. I think the port was dead. I didn't try to get it fixed because I only planned to stay overnight and it was late. The tub didn't drain. There was a coffee pot and iron. Both worked fine. The TV worked fine and has a full array of cable channels to pick from.

Several reviews mentioned the friendliness of the staff. I will emphasize that as well. In fact, my mother returned a couple of days later to attend a family funeral and when the staff found out why she was there, they changed her rate to a much lower bereavement rate without prompting. That kind of service earns loyalty points for me and makes it easier to overlook some of the shortcomings.

The hotel could certainly use a refresh. I don't travel to Lynchburg often so I don't know what other options are available. I would probably stay there again especially if they renovate.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

The staff at this hotel are incredibly and genuinely friendly, responsive, polite and gracious. Truly hospitable. The rooms, well, not comfortable. In fact, were it not for the staff, I would have only given 2 stars. The A/C is very noisy and ineffective. Only two settings: freezing, and hair-soaked sweating.-wake-up-gasping-for-breath. The windows do not open. The sink is in the bathroom, making it difficult to share, especially when getting ready for a wedding. I would probably go somewhere else the next time. There is only one quasi-comfortable. Not a room for "taking your ease," simply a place to try to sleep.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
0.5 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
3.7 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lynchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lynchburg

Property: Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Address: 601 Main Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lynchburg 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lynchburg hotel, an anchor of the new Downtown Lynchburg resurgence, is nestled in the heart of five quaint historic districts, with views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and a panoramic view of the city. The hotel is within minutes of the area s largest employers, such as Genworth, Areva, and B&W/McDermott, five universities including Liberty University, Sweet Briar College,Lynchburg College and Randolph College, and Lynchburg Regional Airport. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are within walking distance, including the reknowned Lynchburg Academy of Fine Arts, and Poplar Forest, Appomattox Courthouse, Natural Bridge and the D-Day Memorial are just a short drive away. Treat yourself to the area's only authentic Peruvian cuisine in our Machu Picchu restaurant. Additional amenities include a seasonal rooftop pool, universal fitness center, complimentary business center, 32 inch flat panel televisions, free wireless high speed Internet, free garage parking, and over 12,000 square feet of flexible conference space. Our general manager, in his 28th year at the property is dedicated to a service culture that will bring you back again and again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Lynchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing