We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Good Price, Comfortable Bed, but the sheets....”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked this room based on TA ratings and were not disappointed. It is a nice property at a great price for the area. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Room had two double beds, flat screen TV, microwave and fridge which was nice as well. Property is quiet also. Only two complaints.... The sheets are not fitted to the bed, which is annoying especially with two people in a bed and the bottom sheet comes off. Breakfast as noted in another review is strictly continental, so don't expect anything hot and don't expect protein. Otherwise, it was just a great stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am thrilled that you were not disappointed with you stay, we work hard to make sure that every guest is treated like they are family. We recently upgraded all of our televisions. We work with a company that does all of our laundry off-site and we are working with them to have fitted sheets added to available options, because we do understand that when your sheet comes off in the middle of the night, this is not enjoyable. It is true that we do have a true continental breakfast, and we are working to change that, unfortunately there are so many channels that I must go through in order to add something as simple as biscuits and gravy…. Hopefully soon though. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Jennifer M. Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our room was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pillows on the bed are probably the best motel pillows I've ever slept on. We travel quite a bit with our son and the price of the room was within our budget. Good internet service was also available. We had great access to several restaurants and shopping centers. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I am glad that you were pleased with the pillows that were selected in our remodel earlier in the year. I am also glad that we fell within your budget for your travels. Again thank you so much for your review, I will be passing your kind words on to our entire staff, in our next meeting, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Jennifer M. Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was a little scary driving to the hotel, but once there, it was fine. The room was very good. It was clean and smelled clean. The double beds were longer than regular beds, and the bottom sheets were not fitted. One bed's sheets stayed on but the other came apart during the night. There is no pool, but they did have horseshoe pits, which we had fun playing. The main negative with our stay was the breakfast. There was no hot food, well, hot instant cereal, but even then, the water wasn't hot enough to cook the cereal in the bowl. They had sweet buns in cellophane, and bread for toast, but not much else. Shouldn't advertise a breakfast when it is such a limited offering.

Room Tip: Quiet and clean. All rooms open to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pastorbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I am glad that you found your room clean and fresh, that is one thing that we do strive for. We do offer the double XL beds in our rooms with two beds, while the company that provides us with our sheets has not began to offer fitted sheets. Once these become available, we will be switching to these, because we do understand how frustrating it can be when the sheets come off of the bed in the middle of the night. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast, but we do advertise that is a traditional continental breakfast and not a hot breakfast. Our breakfast does consist of Danish pastries, muffins, honey buns, oatmeal, grits, cereal, toast, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, milk, and juice. We also offer a microwave for use with the oatmeal and grits, as well as a toaster.

Jennifer M. Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This facility is remarkable with its friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, and reasonable prices. It is close to major universities with easy on and off access to major highways. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: No elevator to the second level, so if that's a problem, request ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to the staff about their friendliness and helpfulness. Our housekeepers to take pride in the level of service that they provide to each and every room! Thank you for your recommendation, it does mean a lot to us, and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Jennifer M. Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stopped late at night at the Econolodge in Lynchburg during a week-long business trip in the South. Most of the other hotels in Lynchburg were horribly overpriced for a last minute check-in, but the Econolodge fit our budget. This hotel was one of our better nights on the trip. Check-in was a breeze, and unlike most of our spur of the moment check-ins we were given a room on the ground floor. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and everything worked, including (amazingly enough) the internet. Staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was fine for us (although some would think the choices too limiting).

Room Tip: Hotel is close to railroad tracks-ask for a room on the north side; they should be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sh00bie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. I am glad that this was one of the better nights during your business trip and that you did not feel that we were overpriced for Lynchburg. When setting rates we do take care to evaluate the main reason for travel and also consider that we are still an Econo Lodge and try to keep that in mind. Thank you for noticing that our housekeepers do treat each and every room like their homes in making sure that everything is perfect for every guest. I am working to add more health conscious choices for the breakfast but space and regulations are very limiting on us. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Jennifer M. Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Staying here is like staying with your favorite Aunt and cousin, you are really made to feel like you are family. If a hotel can be called fun to stay at, this one is. Even the cleaning staff waves goodbye and thanks you for staying there. Rooms are well above average for Econo Lodges, really nice and spotlessly clean. The internet, a weakness in many other hotels is strong and fast. Parking is no problem even when they are full. Only negative is people in upstairs rooms can sound real loud walking around if they are not careful. The staff seems to know all their customers by name, Highly recommended but call for directions if you are going north on 29, I always get lost and I have been there before. If you are coming from down town Lynchburg no problem, they are right at the exit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anyone1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your review, and I am glad that you feel at home when you are here. We do take the extra step (or try to) make all of our guests feel like just that, a guest! We want to get to know you, and make you feel like you are as important as you truly are to us! Thank you for the honest words about directions – I have been at the property for 3 years and still have yet to figure out why we are off of two different exits, depending on which direction you are going! And it is very true – if you get turned around, pull over and give us a call, we can get you here from just about anywhere in town. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future.


Jennifer Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My twins and I were touring VA and NC college campuses during their high school spring break and we stayed at the Lynchburg Econo Lodge our second evening "on the road." By the time we landed, we were tired, achy, cranky and ready to just stop moving for a while. I was not looking forward to finding a place for us to eat dinner after getting settled in our room. Within minutes of our arrival, the woman behind the desk (I think her name was Jennifer) warmly invited us to join her and some friends for a homemade dinner of spaghetti and meatballs, salad, garlic bread and fresh baked brownies! The three of us felt as though we had died and gone to heaven. We gratefully accepted, inhaled the delicious meal and left to collapse on our beds. I can't say they would be able to do this for all travelers staying here (in fact I am sure our timing was just very, very lucky) but what a nice bunch of folks running this well-kept homey motel. It was obvious that the people working here really cared about the place, and about their guests! Thank you Jennifer and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 878kathleens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am hoping that you children enjoyed their spring break, and most importantly enjoyed your stay with us! The dinner that you mentioned was something that we did for our guests right before Easter to show how much that everyone means to us! We do take immense pride in running the property and think that “all who enter as guests, leave as friends!” We look forward to seeing you in the future while your children are attending college (hopefully in Lynchburg!)


Jennifer Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Lynchburg
146 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#14 of 23 in Lynchburg
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lynchburg
2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
2.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2400 Stadium Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24501-3400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Price Range: £48 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing