We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to go downtown!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Main Street

Main Street
Ranked #15 of 312 Restaurants in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place to go downtown!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Urs and his wife have a warm and engaging establishment, with excellent food. It's where one goes to meet old friends and form new ones!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    28
    11
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in old Lynchburg!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This was a great meal. I had the vegetarian plate, which was amazing. My husband had the local rainbow trout and he loved it. The service was also top quality. You won't be disappointed here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had.”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The cream of portobello mushroom soup is fantastic!!!! Everything else is delicious as well. We love to go here for special occasions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsDaniel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Don't be put off by the exterior. Once inside, the décor is beautiful - white linens and comfortable seating, Very good service. All we ate was excellent but the bananas foster cheesecake was very special. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scifipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Personality and Pride”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

"The chef/owner runs a tight ship." That's what the bartender told us, and it showed. He and his wife were out and about making sure their guests were enjoying themselves. They aim to please - the bartender even stuffed blue cheese into olives for our martinis. The rabbit livers on sauteed Vidalia onions were delicious, and the trout (served with skin and head, but filleted), was moist and meaty. The bacon-wrapped pork tenderloin was decadent. We enjoyed the Horton Viognier (from Virginia) after being offered tastes of a couple of wines available by the glass. Who can resist dessert when the cart trundles past? Pecan pie with a splash of Maker's Mark and ice cream on the side, anyone?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmbbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main Street also viewed

 

Been to Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing