We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fall event”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Point of Honor

Point of Honor
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Point of Honor, the elegant Federal-style home built by Dr. George Cabell in 1815. Point of Honor is furnished with period antiques, and the grounds contain a recreated plantation kitchen, gardens, and the Carriage House Gift Shop.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fall event”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We enjoyed the Fall event that was free for the community. We have been to Point of Honor several times, but enjoyed this as it seems to attract more each year. The house tour along with the event on the grounds were very nice. The live music was a great addition. The only negative was that it was a bit loud to hear the tour guides of the house. We will definitely return for another event.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkbrown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg M, Public Relations Manager at Point of Honor, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
So glad you made a return visit to Point of Honor for Day at the Point! We have noted the music loudness and will work on that for next year. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    23
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nicely restored, worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

They have taken care to faithfully restore this grand old house. Pay particular attention to the wood inlays in the clock in the entry way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg M, Public Relations Manager at Point of Honor, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
The Williams & Victor clock is very special and beautiful piece! Thank You for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,251 reviews
584 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We love to tour old historic homes, and given that this one was once owned by Patrick Henry's physician, made it really special for us since we knew nothing much about Patrick Henry before our trip and a whole lot about him when it was over since we visited Red Hill as well. The guide was great, and the historical accuracy of the house was as close as it could get to the original.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg M, Public Relations Manager at Point of Honor, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Glad you enjoyed visiting Point of Honor! We strive for historical accuracy during our tours. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This home was restored back to its 1800's roots. It is a nice example of an antebellum mansion. The tour guide was very enthusiastic.

However, I don't see what all the fuss is about when there are so many other magnificent historical homes in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful HIstoric Home Full of Great Stories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I toured Point of Honor on a recent visit to Lynchburg. It is a beautiful home full of historic furniture that all helps tell the story of Dr. Cabell and his family. The views are amazing as it is perched high on the hill overlooking the river. We were forutnate enough to have the museum director provide our tour. He is full of great stories that add to the charm of the home. My husband is a physician and he expecially enjoyed the medical history provided on the tour. If you head to Lynchburg, don't miss this charming historical home.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg M, Public Relations Manager at Point of Honor, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank You for visiting! So glad you enjoyed your tour and we hope you return again to see the splendid view - especially in the fall it is gorgeous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Point of Honor also viewed

 

Been to Point of Honor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing