We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good BBQ and sides”

Dickey's Barbecue Pit
Ranked #98 of 312 Restaurants in Lynchburg
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Statesville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
146 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good BBQ and sides”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My son is at Liberty. Dickey's has become a favorite for my family. I have tried many of their meats and enjoy them all. A favorite is the beef brisket chopped and the Spicy Cheddar Sausage. I also love the Fried Okra and Jalapeno Baked Beans. You get a very health portion of Fried Okra. The tea is good and refillable but boy does it hit your wallet. Kids eat free on Sundays and they have a Free Ice Cream machine for after your meal. What a way to clean your pallet. Four different BBQ sauces to choose from. I prefer the Spicy sauce. I recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    28
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
315 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“convenient and good food”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is a chain restaurant that i have never heard off but i thought i would give it a try since it was right next door to my hotel.
I had the pulled pork with baked potato casserole and baked beans. The BBQ pork was very tender. I thought it tasted great, but i also piled my high with the house sweet and spicy sauce [excellent sauce]. The food server suggested that i try the backed potato casserole and it turned out to be a good choice. The beans were ok. The place was clean and the staff were very friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmkeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Was in area for a couple of days and had a taste for BBQ. Big portions and good tasting. When in area I would stop again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoachBryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Glad they're back”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We thought that Dickey's was gone from Lynchburg, VA. That was so sad to see them shut down back around Christmas 2012.
We stopped in Lynchburg to eat supper on our way home from vacation. This would be the last stop. We were headed for another restaurant when we saw that Dickey's was reopened. Needless to say we changed our plan and went here. We asked and found that they had a new owner and would be there.
This was great. We loved our pork and brisket platters. I had mine with fried okra and jalapeno beans (love those beans).
The food was wonderful. I wish they had Brunswick Stew.
The employees were friendly and nice to everyone.
I'd recommend anyone to stop here and we'll be back next time we pass through Lynchburg.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matoaca, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Very good bar-b-que. Will stop there next time we go to Va Tech. The pulled pork was very tender. Cole slaw was tasty and liked the different sauses. Would like to try the ham next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WarrenC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dickey's Barbecue Pit also viewed

 

Been to Dickey's Barbecue Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing