We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday Morning & Hungry” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #29 of 310 Restaurants in Lynchburg
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friday Morning & Hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I were returning from a vacation at Smith Mountain Lake and decided to stop at Cracker Barrel in Lynchburg. We found that this particular Cracker Barrel is a stand out from the others at which we have eaten. I'm not sure if the fact that we were really hungry had anything to do with our experience or not, but the food was tasty and well prepared. My wife had an egg and biscuit with crispy bacon and I had pancakes, 2 eggs over easy and crispy bacon. Much of the time when we ask for crispy bacon we have to send it back for additional cooking, not this time, the bacon was perfect. The coffee was strong but not bitter and the waiter kept my cup full (I really dislike having to track down my server to get a coffee refill). We each commented on how we enjoyed the food and service and would in all likelihood eat there again should we be in Lynchburg. All in all a step above most Cracker Barrel restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    38
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Browns Mills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Same as Others”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I liked that our waitress was very good. We had a large group and everything came out correctly and delicious. I did not like the 30 minute wait (but that's standard when you have a group of 9). All in all, I would go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistent Cracker Barrel Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

It's a Cracker Barrel. It's got consistently good food and service. You get what you expect, and sometimes when traveling that's just the assurance you need.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tw41733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food was average, but the gift shop is a dream!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We ate at the Cracker Barrel for the first time and, while the food was just average, the gift shop was simply charming. We spent almost an hour looking at the various items of merchandise on display there and came home with a couple of bags filled with small treasures which were both unique and reasonably priced. From old time treats and candy to decorative homey knick-knacks to jewelry, this lovely country-themed shop is a gem for all who enjoy meandering though aisles laden with fun finds for one and all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A big disappointment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Meal was not up to normal Cracker Barrel standards. My party had steak (fatty and tough) and salmon patties (cold). Server was inattentive and silverware was dirty. A lot of little things added up to a bad experience. Fortunately, the manager was apologetic and we were not charged for our meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoxFan_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing