We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its Time to Set the Terrible Review Aside”

The Spring House Dining & Reception Hall
Ranked #11 of 312 Restaurants in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family-style dining American comfort foods served tableside in bowls and platters.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Its Time to Set the Terrible Review Aside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Accompanied by friends, I stopped by the Spring House Restaurant on a Sunday evening fully expecting the restaurant to be closed. It was not, and I probably had one of the best restaurant meals in my many years. We enjoyed their family style dinner including beef tips and and several sides. Everything was well prepared and served with a friendly attitude.

We were visiting Appomattox and you can be assured that I will return to this wonderful restaurant if I'm ever in the area again. I have stored the location in my GPS.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TGD418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    11
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
“Great food and family service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The best casual dining experience we have had in years. Family style dinning at it's finest, with the friendliest wait staff and management. A total surprise when we stopped in on a recent trip. The first stop was by accident but it will be on our agenda every time we are traveling Rt. 460 in central Virginia. A super location for family or a couples quiet dinning enjoyment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison Heights, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I took my family here and wish we would not have. We ordered beef tips and they were out. When we finally got our food, it was cold and the chicken was pink in the middle. When we told the server, we got attitude. When the kitchen door opened, we could hear yelling. Wish we never would have stopped and will never again. too bad, because it has great potential.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great choices of food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

There are some great choices of good old southern favorites on the menu. If crowded the service is a little slow. The buffet sometimes lacks attention but is usually good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on a trip from Richmond to Smith Mountain Lake with friends. The family style dining was great. They had additional side dishes available with produce from local growers. Side dishes were plentiful and entrees (roast beef and chicken) reminded me of grandmother's cooking. All for a more than reasonable price. We will definitely stop there again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank divedocmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spring House Dining & Reception Hall also viewed

 

Been to The Spring House Dining & Reception Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing