We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Craddock Terry Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Lynchburg)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Lynchburg(Lynchburg)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveller rating
708
126
35
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
708
126
35
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshoe factoryshoe themeboutique hotelhotel doghigh ceilingsshoeshine boxexposed brickjames rivercontinental breakfasttrain whistlemain buildingred shoewaterstone pizzabuster brownbreakfast deliveredturn down servicedowntown lynchburg
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
892 - 897 of 897 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2007

The Craddock Terry Hotel is a stylish combination of old industrial warehouse architectural elements and 21st-century luxury. Whoever put together the massive wooden beams and columns, the brick walls and stone foundations with upscale hotel finery did a fabulous job. Just being in this structure is an aesthetic joy.

I found the sound of the trains relaxing, a reminder of days gone by, and slept peacefully on the comfortable pillow-top bed with high-end sheets and covered comforter.

The staff was great. There was a power burp during our stay and the front desk called to make sure our alarm clock hadn't stopped working. Later in the day, when they were working on the water pipes, they called again to make sure we knew hot water might be out for a few minutes.

The continental breakfast was ample and featured just-made cinnamon scones which were delicious, as well as fresh fruit and good coffee. Wi-fi worked well. All in all, I am looking for an excuse to return to Lynchburg so we can stay at the Craddock Terry Hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 2moresheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

First the good news, Craddock Terry is a beautiful property perhaps the loveliest in Lynchburg. Large rooms, tile bathrooms, great views of the river and hills from our third floor windows. Wonderful restaurants within walking distance of this downtown location.
Now the bad news, train tracks run between the hotel and the river, very close to the hotel. On the night we were there trains rumbled passed and blow their horns in front of our windows every two hours or so,making it impossible to sleep. I was later told this happens about every night, and the rooms on the first floor have less exposure to this noise problem- but you also lose the great upper floor views.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ThomasMerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

I had the pleasure of staying at the Craddock Terry during my recent trip to Lynchburg. I'd booked my room before the hotel was completed when I learned that all the other hotels were sold out the weekend I was visiting. I was nervous that it wouldn't be open in time. Fortunately, it opened a mere eight days before my stay.

Upon entering the lobby of this old building, a former shoe factory, I was blown away. This knockout hotel would be right at home in NY, SF, or any other hip, urban setting. The design tastefully uses the rawness of the space and incorporates memorabilia and architectural elements from the building's former life -- an old shoe shine chair sits in the lobby, assorted shoes are on display, as is an old wooden safe. This is juxtaposed with classic, understated furnishings... giving the space a very chic and boutique-y look and feel.

My room was gorgeous. Velvet sofa, beautiful bedding and drapes and a large bathroom. Luxurious all the way through.

I found out that all the furniture - dark woods with clean simple lines - was made by a local Lynchburg crafsman, which enhances the hotel's connection to its roots.

The A/C in was little noisy when it kicked on, and the vents in my room were positioned high up near the ceiling, facing the bed, so I had the air hitting me. That was probably the one negative.

I'm sure the hotel will be adding to its amenities...but as a suggestion, iHomes should replace the CD player/clock radios that are currently in place. I'd also love to see some snacks available - either in the room or in the lobby -- maybe a basket of fresh fruit - as there is no mini bar. During my stay, the only restaurant open was Shoemakers, which doesn't serve breakfast or lunch.

This is by far the best hotel option in the city, and worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank helroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

i have not actually stayed in this hotel as i live in lynchburg. however, i was invited to the opening this weekend of their restaurant which was wonderful and a viewing of their lobby and rooms. i can not give it a high enough score. the rooms were so beautiful and i would hightly recommend to anyone to stay at this hotel. i think the rooms are starting around 150.00 and i saw one of these rooms and it was beautiful. i also saw the more expensive room as well. treat yourself and pay a few extra dollars when visiting lburg and stay and eat in their restaurant shoemakers. our dinner was delicious from beginning to end. 5 stars for both.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank civita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Da die alte Eisenbahn noch fährt würde ich das nächste mal ein Zimmer nach hinten wählen.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews