We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best In Lynchburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times now and look so forward to it when I know I'll be checking in. My daughter attends Liberty University and when I come to visit, she is excited to pack up and come stay the night with me. The Saturday morning market on main street always has something wonderful to offer! Shoemaker's restaurant is wonderful. We made a special trip for Valentine's Day to treat our daughter to a wonderful dinner there. Nicest place in Lynchburg to stay and dine. Can't say enough good things about this hotel and the customer service. And the smell when you walk in - Wow - its very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JENKINS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent two nights at the Craddock Terry Hotel. The atmosphere is charming and the staff very accommodating. We had a small problem with our room and the manager on duty was graciously willing to move us immediately to another room. The look of the brick wall and the beams in the ceiling are charming but the modern bathrooms are incredible. Breakfast delivered each morning to the room is also a lovely treat. If you have a reason to be in the Lynchburg area, or you decide to visit this historic town, make reservations to stay at the Craddock Terry!

Room Tip: WiFi is not strong in the distant rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Beautiful accommodations...lovely room and decadent bath...but the train whistles multiple times throughout the nites, and noise from the restaurant will unfortunately deter me from recommending or returning...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therese e e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Our first-time stay at the Craddock Terry hotel was wonderful! The details put into this unique hotel made it a truly memorable experience. The room had a luxurious loft feel and it was very clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable and included an ample amount of down pillows. We loved the wooden shoebox used to place breakfast orders! In the morning one of our breakfast bags was missing an orange juice, and the staff went above and beyond to make up for it! Our room had a beautiful view of the James River from the bathroom window. We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

What a charming hotel in the middle of the city of Lynchburg. We stayed 2 nights at the hotel and found it to be a cross between a bed and breakfast and a boutique hotel. We had a room on the ground level with a king bed. The room is spacious and beautifully decorated. The bed is divine- and I have a bad back so that is important.
I would suggest those of you that are not disabled get a room on an upper floor that has just a shower. My husband and I had a hard time containing the water in the beautiful bathtub/shower as we were in a room for the disabled. We had to use towels to dam up the edges of our tub as the first shower created a flood. If you like to take baths- you are all set!
As mentioned by other reviewers the breakfast left outside your door is a nice added touch and the fresh orange juice was great.

Room Tip: Choose and upper level room if you only want a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaspar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Craddock Terry definitely exceeded our expectations. Beautiful room overlooking the James River, extremely comfortable bed and linens, great bathroom with double sinks and separate soaking tub. We had taken the train to Lynchburg so we were without a car, but the location was so good we did not miss a car at all. We rented bikes from the hotel and rode on the James River Heritage trail which is right behind the hotel. We were able to walk to all of the shops on Main Street, the community market and a couple of the walking tours of the historic districts. We ate at both of the restaurants in the hotel and were very pleased with both. The staff was great-saw to our every need. Buster is adorable and very well behaved
The only thing that made it less than perfect was our room was directly over the restaurant and was quite noisy until the restaurant closed at 10:00. This was not a major factor because we were out most of the day and evening and don't go to bed before 10:00, but if you are planning on spending any quiet time in your room in the evening or want to get to sleep early, I would ask for a room in the main Craddock Terry building, not in the William King building, which is where the restaurants are located.
Still, a very enjoyable stay and 5 stars

Room Tip: The rooms in the William King building have great views of the James River, however they are over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixie0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Whether staying for one night or entire week, the best place to stay is the Craddock Terry. It is unique. The rooms are large. The beds are more comfortable than at home! The staff is friendly, and there is plenty to do within walking distance, including great shops, trails, restaurants, the James River, etc. When in Lynchburg, I never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsh3312012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
355 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#14 of 23 in Lynchburg
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: £120 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing