We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctive, upscale, very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Distinctive, upscale, very comfortable”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting our daughter at college. Loved the rooms, the finishes, all the historical values and customer service from all the employees. Did not exactly love the "breakfast in a shoebox". That could be better as I do miss even the basic continental breakfast at much cheaper hotels. Free Internet was great as well. Descent value but pushing it a bit even for a boutique hotel.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ewp7773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    120
    32
    13
    13
See reviews for
206
328
32
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for one night. Room was comfortable. The decor was very unique. The hotel is a converted shoe factory and the shoe theme in maintained all over!! The staff were friendly. A good place for a quick stop in Lynchburg.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank The-BARs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I went to Lynchburg to watch the Coastal Carolina vs. Liberty game and stayed at this hotel. I was not disappointed. It was a beautiful hotel and the restaurant upstairs was delicious. My only complaint would be that there isn't an ice machine on each floor. The leaving one building to go to another building and then up a floor on the elevator to get ice was a pain, but it wouldn't stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarae3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This place is a great find in Lynchburg, VA. A very clever and creative renovation of a former shoe factory, with large rooms, high ceilings, great bathroom and comfortable beds. The footwear theme is everywhere, from the different shoe on each door to the shoe box in every room. The exposed brick and large windows make for a special atmosphere. The area around the hotel is being renovated and developed to take advantage of the 1800's buildings along Commerce Street. A National Trust partner, these folks have figured out how to update a unique facility by taking advantage of the historical details while modernizing the infrastructure for present day convenience. Breakfast included, delivered to your room. Service personnel were pleasant and attentive. Got to see it to believe it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Craddock Terry Hotel in downtown Lynchburg is a delightful and elegant surprise. Created from the renovation of the old Craddock Terry Shoe Factory, this property exudes charm, fun, and sophistication and is a great addition to the re-gentrification of the historic downtown. The hotel is right on the city's James River waterfront with beautiful views of the river and rocky cliffs on the oppodite shore. The rooms have high celings, chic and comfortable appointments, beautifuly preserved architectural elements, and they are surprisingly spacious. The staff were most professional and accommodating, right down to the housekeeping and maintenace workers. An additional perk is that the hotel is part of a very well-planned and ambitious event and dining complex which includes a fabulous restaurant and even a brewery! With so much of Lynchburg given over to bland, suburban sprawl, it is exciting and reassuring to find a world class boutique hotel in the heart of this once glorious and important railroad, tobacco, and mill town.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the suites, esp if you want to have a romantic and sumptuous getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
604 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stay here fairly often as we visit our grand kids who live in Lynchburg. Our favorite room is 509 as it has two window views over the river. As noted in a previous review I said that there was quite a bit of noise filtering throw the vents from below... either from the restaurant (Shoemakers on the 4th floor) or the conference/banquet room on the 3rd floor. I mentioned it to Timechee, who is the CEO - Chief Experience Officer, when we checked out that perhaps they should consider installing some sound baffles in the vents. Voila... the noise was gone this trip and our last stay about a month ago.

IF you're sound sensitive you may want to book a room in the main building away from the river AND the trains, which have to blow their whistle no matter the time because of the at grade crossings just below.

BTW, the beds are super comfy pillow tops... and the bathrooms large. Ours has a separate shower and bath tub.

You can check around town for some cheaper places, but the incremental cost for the luxury digs at CT is worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcadia, california, usa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Forget the surrounding area which is undergoing significant redevelopment and enjoy the ambiance of this lovely historical property. The room was spacious and well appointment, and also well designed and decorated. It had a comfortable feel as did the entire hotel. The staff is pleasant and accommodating. The adjoining restaurants, one higher end than the other are well suited for meeting travel or business needs. The trains which flow by during the night might bother some with the whistle blowing, but in my mind, it is a comforting sound. I would have given this a 5 except for one thing: mildew/mold growing on the ceiling above the shower. When I mentioned it, this flaw was immediately addressed. The question remains, why was this condition allowed to exist at all? All in all, I'd stay again, but I'd check the room before agreeing to stay in it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregory b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTHotelDirector, General Manager at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Gregory B, thank you for your honest review and feedback. It was a pleasure speaking with you, I’m glad to hear your overall experience in Lynchburg and at the Craddock Terry Hotel was enjoyable. I profusely apologize for the condition you found above the shower area in your room, which is entirely inexcusable. Unfortunately, our wonderfully historic building presents occasional surprise challenges. As a result of your report, we found a slow and undiscovered plumbing leak. Thankfully, our Maintenance Engineer was able to repair the pipe to prevent future problems. While I wish that it had been us that found it, I’m certainly grateful for your report so we could get it corrected. We take great pride in our property, and hope to welcome you and your wife again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
327 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
303 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Property: Craddock Terry Hotel
Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing