We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Excellent accommodations and extremely pleasant staff. Book early because this place fills up fast! Loved the decorum - bathroom with great tub for soaking, breakfast in bed - super comfy.

The pictures in the hallways were awesome.

Now need an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SidneyT517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    120
    33
    13
    13
See reviews for
209
329
32
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our family stayed at the Craddock Terry hotel while in Lynchburg for a wedding. I am not familiar with the Lynchburg area but this hotel was conveniently located to everything we needed. The hotel was such a pleasant surprise. The rooms were all very spacious and comfortable. I loved the architectural details throughout the hotel. The shoe theme lends such a unique and "fun" theme to the whole experience. I loved all the details. The staff was top notch. Every employee I spoke to was very friendly and helpful but most importantly they all seemed genuinely happy. The price was certainly reasonable for the overall experience. I believe I would like to travel to Lynchburg again just to experience more of what this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamjow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

When visiting my daughter's college, we always try to stay at this wonderful hotel. A few times we hag not booked early enough and ended up staying elsewhere - usually a chain hotel along a busy highway. I have stayed here alone several times and always feel comfortable as a solo female traveller. The Craddock Terry is located along the James River in the historic downtown area. This area is currently being revitalized and offers a lot of interesting boutiquey shops and independent restaurants. There are two restaurants on -site and several others within walking distance. The staff at the hotel is friendly and efficient. The rooms are large with soaring ceilings. They are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Since this building was originally a shoe factory, they leave your continental breakfast at your door in a wooden shoe shine box. Very clever and convenient for a quick morning get away. There is a Kuerig machine in the room with tea and coffee. A minifridge is in the lower cabinet. It is stocked only with 2 water bottles. Room service is also available. I would like to see a stocked mini fridge. This is the only suggestion I can make for this otherwise delightful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvis422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Craddock Terry was a very pleasant surprise! I didn't expect to enjoy it so much! Great value! Cozy, friendly, accommodating; take the breezeway to the adjacent part of the hotel and enjoy two wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I so enjoyed my stay that I'm sad I will likely have no reason to go back to Lynchburg to stay there again. The staff is professional, accomodating, pleasant, professional. My room was immaculate, with warm, comfortable decor. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom had a large, frameless glassed-in shower. Big windows let in lots of natural light. There was a Keurig coffee maker in the room with a selection of K-cups, cream, sugar. In the morning, you can choose to have a lovely complimentary continental breakfast left outside your door. I brought my dog, and she had a gift bag waiting for her when we checked in. The staff was wonderful to her. Love this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELMONT, NC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I returned to the CT hotel for a 3 night stay on November 7. There were no surprises, everything is still 1st class, well run and maintained. We took advantage of "A Night in the Burg" promotion. It included a $50 gift card to the wonderful Shoemaker restaurant and other amenities. Since our last stay, they have included nightly cookies in the lobby. We look forward to staying at the CT whenever we return to Lynchburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHETTCOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Always a pleasure to stay at the Craddock Tery. Very attentive, personable and professional front desk. Charming setting overlooking the James River in old town Lynchburg. Away from chain shopping center strips and heavy traffic but walking distance to boutiques and bistros as well as nature trail. Rooms are clean, cozy and comfortable with rustic brick walls and designer commodities. Furniture made by local carpentry factory. Complementary fresh breakfast left at your door every morning. Pricing can be on the higher side but look for specials. Well deserving and exclusive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jro88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
329 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
304 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Property: Craddock Terry Hotel
Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Preferred Hotels and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing