We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We recently stayed twice at this lovely old property. Both times our rooms were spacious, sophisticated and charming with high beamed ceilings and exposed brick. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms were the largest we had seen in a while. The staff is gracious, helpful and friendly. We loved the shoe theme carried throughout the entire hotel from the wood carved shoes identifying each room to the shoe shine box delivery of a continental breakfast. We also hosted a family dinner at Waterstones and everyone agreed the food was delicious. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return again when we are in the Lynchburg area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nylorac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel and both experiences have been excellent. This hotel, formerly a shoe manufacturer, is quirky and sophisticated. Our rooms with exposed brick walls, were nicely outfitted and spacious. The bathroom amenities are luxurious and the bed was very comfortable. We traveled with another couple who loved their room and the hotel.

Be sure and have a drink at the bar and dinner downstairs at Shoemakers! It is fantastic food and we loved the atmosphere. The bartender was lovely and made some awesome martinis while giving us some interesting history about the hotel.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

From start to finish this hotel is unbelievable! Reservations were made smoothly and they even called to see if we needed dinner reservations. Everyone was delightful and the rooms are large and beautifully decorated. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

As far as I can determine from personal experience, The Craddock Terry is the best place to stay when visiting Lynchburg. I searched and searched for reasons not to like it, but by golly, I couldn't find any.

On this particular evening, we would enjoy a night with our friends (K-Dub included) at Waterstone Pizza, which is connected by elevator to the hotel. Waterstone serves it's own craft beer and artisan pizzas so, if you aren't served by unpleasant waitstaff like we were, it's a likable atmosphere.

1. Their staff is attractive, friendly, and knowledgeable.

2. You get a free shoe cookie.

3. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slobber on.

4. There is a unique shoe adornment on every door.

5. If you leave the shoe box outside your door, you get breakfast that includes a delicious croissant.

6. If you leave your shoes outside the door, they shine your shoes.

7. The gift shop is open 24 hours and you can buy local wine. And aspirin.

8. The shower. The. Shower.

9. The bathroom tissue is tied with red ribbon.

10. They call you when you leave your leather jacket there and then offer to ship it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScrewLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

If you can overlook the train noise, this is the hotel for you! It is comfortable and creative while being luxurious! The staff was particularly helpful when my clear nail polish "exploded " in my suitcase, they rounded up some nail polish for me and were quite helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a sound machine when you check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

First time visit here thanks to a wedding in Lynchburg, VA. Outstanding accommodations, friendliest hotel staff, spotless housekeeping, fabulous restaurants. The location is great, and in warmer weather than January great walking to Main Street and a host of great little eateries. In cold weather, drive...plenty of parking!

Room Tip: Because of where this hotel is (it is a fully renovated shoe factory) it is located next to an activ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaG1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Why 'Do It Yourself' when you can let he Craddock Terry Hotel do it for you!!! We just celebrated our son's rehearsal dinner and wedding reception there and from Check in to Check out everything far exceeded our expectations! The rooms are beautiful, the food was outstanding; the staff was gracious as they worked to give the best possible service. The Hotel and Events Center worked seamlessly together to provide an exceptional experience. Since we do not live in VA we planned the rehearsal dinner from a distance and the events manager was always available to answer all of my questions via email and everything was perfectly arranged for us. All of our out of town guests were impressed with the hotel we had chosen and raved about it. We have lived on three continents and experienced many lovely hotels but this one now tops our list.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
345 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: £133 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing