We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great small hotel with very friendly staff!!! Dinner at Waterstone was great! Everything was perfect!! Our son will be attending Lynchburg College & I have booked dates for the next 6 months!! BTW...we did not hear a train!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    120
    31
    13
    13
See reviews for
204
323
31
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed six nights in March while visiting family in the area. The hotel is nicely appointed and front desk staff were friendly. Room was very spacious and excellent value for the quality of accommodations.

Only complaints are (i) noise seems to carry between the rooms (there was a screaming baby near our room one night who we could hear clearly and some revellers on the Saturday who partied in their room well past midnight) and (ii) the day the time changed, breakfast was not delivered by 7 am as promised and unfortunately we had to leave before it was ready.

Nevertheless, we would definitely recommend and stay at the Craddock Terry again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank On_The_Road_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had to be in Lynchburg for a few days on business and we selected the Craddock Terry because they are dog friendly! We have a small dog, and after seeing Buster Brown's picture we new Mini would be welcomed.

When we arrived it was obvious that the staff loved pets as much as their customers. Mini was immediately introduced and at one point I wasn't sure I was going to get her back! Lol!

The old brick 'shoe manufacturing' building was renovated quite nicely. The shoe theme followed throughout. Each of the room doors had a different themed shoe, and if you wanted your complimentary shoe cleaning you placed your shoes in the shoe box and set it outside your door. In the morning the shoes were returned and the complimentary, continental breakfast (for one) along with them.

Our room was selected by the Manager so we would have easy access to the 'Buster Brown' dog walking area. They provide the baggies for the doggie business! The room was lovely with stone walls, a king size, very comfortable bed, sofa, tv, and a keurig coffee maker. The bathroom had a large head, Koehler shower big enough for two and included shower gel, shampoo and conditioner.

We had all day business meetings and when I expressed my concern to the front desk the gentleman said no worries we'll be happy to walk Mini and play with her. Any dog lover knows how stressful it can be to have your dog locked up all day, this offer just eliminated all of my worries and gave the staff huge credit in my book!

At night we enjoyed dinner and drinks at Shoemakers. The bar was busy but well covered by two lovely ladies that knew how to make drinks, and made us feel at home. The very pleasant General Manager introduced himself and was on top of his restaurant! The food was delicious, so much so that we ate there twice! We had steak the first night, cooked perfectly and crab stuffed lobster tails the second night, again perfect!

We really enjoyed our stay, the level of customer service we received for Mini and us and how nice everyone was. We will definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Msdaisy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bassett, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The beauty of the room and facilities belie the hidden reality that this is an old factory that still sits next to train tracks that are active. 2 times in the night a train passed and I was awakened by the train whistle. This and the fact that at this price only 1 occupant gets a complimentary breakfast, all others must pay $6 each.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishandJosh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is beautiful (I love restoring and repurposing) and the staff was very friendly. Large tile shower. Free wifi. Nice bed. Large room. Clean and roomy. Ate at the Waterstone on the first floor and had good food for a reasonable price. The trains didn't bother me, I was raised near tracks and it was nostalgic for me.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Buildergirl2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed for a Sat and Sun night while visiting with family in the Lynchburg area. This was a real treat and such an unexpected delight!

The restoration of the building is simply amazing...so well thought out and executed. Loved the decor with the shoe theme in the lobby and the rooms. The display of shoes, the original safe, and the shoe shine boxes for breakfast delivery...very clever!

Staff was very courteous and friendly. We were with family most of the visit, but they always acknowledged us at the desk coming and going.

The king room was very spacious. Loved the huge bathroom and shower! The terry robes were a nice touch.

The hotel is in easy walking distance of the historic center of town. Don't miss the opportunity to walk along the river or to eat a meal at Market on Main.

You will love resting your head at the Craddock Terry! I would definitely recommend and would enjoy a return visit.

Room Tip: We booked with the Trip Advisor rate....excellent price of $129/night. So much more pleasant than y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Go4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Our son is in his senior year at Lynchburg College and this has been our go to hotel for all these years. We are feeling quite sentimental about it now that his time in Lynchburg is coming to an end. The rooms are beautiful. The baths are gorgeous -- most have soaking tubs as well as big glass showers. Our recent room had a woodburning style gas stove in the bedroom (we had a suite). We love the toiletries. The ceilings are high and the outside walls are brick. It is so pretty and clever with the shoe theme (this building used to be a shoe factory). We just returned from staying there two nights ago and we had a view of the river and the train tracks. I love the train sounds as they rumble past. This is also a great location and you can walk to the downtown area very nicely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoelegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#11 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Property: Craddock Terry Hotel
Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing