We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Problem corrected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craddock Terry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Problem corrected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I had written a bad review last time we stayed at this hotel. The manager called after reading the bad review. Yes he actually called and ask great questions then apologized. When he asked the questions he didn't just ask to appease me ..... he actually listened!!! This time things were wonderful. Everyone went way above and beyond what I would have ever expected! Thank you all.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sameshell22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    120
    31
    13
    13
See reviews for
203
321
30
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

A lot of thought and care went into this superb restoration of a well located central city . Loved the ceiling height, must have been fifteen feet. Best quality furnishings used throughout and extremely comfortable beds. Had a quiet 3rd floor location, got a great nights sleep after a long full day drive.

A close friend has restored a building nearby that housed a most unusual private auto collection that can be viewed from massive glass windows from the sidewalk.

Semi attached at the side of the hotel, was fine dining with an extensive wine list.
Best part was the reasonable cost to stay, comparable to the cookie cutter chain hostelry normally encountered.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel with very interesting decor and the most comfortable bed that I'm looking into ordering a mattress from them. We were on the 4th floor. I only heard one train whistle and that was just after turning off the lights. The bathroom and bedroom were huge. Due to ice/snow, we delayed our trip to Charlottesville by a day and the hotel was able to adjust some room reservations around and let us stay in our room a second nite. Staff was pleasant and helpful with recommendations. Highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank runningspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Absolutely loved this place. It was beautiful inside and out. Was roomy and nice. My only dissatisfaction was in the bathroom: the tub was placed on top of tiles so therefore when you take a shower the water only has one place to go and that's on the floor from the runoff. I even placed hand towels on both sides but to no avail did it work. There was still a ppl of water on the floor. But I would still go back to stay again. When you stay there, order the breakfast, it was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPridgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great small hotel with very friendly staff!!! Dinner at Waterstone was great! Everything was perfect!! Our son will be attending Lynchburg College & I have booked dates for the next 6 months!! BTW...we did not hear a train!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed six nights in March while visiting family in the area. The hotel is nicely appointed and front desk staff were friendly. Room was very spacious and excellent value for the quality of accommodations.

Only complaints are (i) noise seems to carry between the rooms (there was a screaming baby near our room one night who we could hear clearly and some revellers on the Saturday who partied in their room well past midnight) and (ii) the day the time changed, breakfast was not delivered by 7 am as promised and unfortunately we had to leave before it was ready.

Nevertheless, we would definitely recommend and stay at the Craddock Terry again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank On_The_Road_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had to be in Lynchburg for a few days on business and we selected the Craddock Terry because they are dog friendly! We have a small dog, and after seeing Buster Brown's picture we new Mini would be welcomed.

When we arrived it was obvious that the staff loved pets as much as their customers. Mini was immediately introduced and at one point I wasn't sure I was going to get her back! Lol!

The old brick 'shoe manufacturing' building was renovated quite nicely. The shoe theme followed throughout. Each of the room doors had a different themed shoe, and if you wanted your complimentary shoe cleaning you placed your shoes in the shoe box and set it outside your door. In the morning the shoes were returned and the complimentary, continental breakfast (for one) along with them.

Our room was selected by the Manager so we would have easy access to the 'Buster Brown' dog walking area. They provide the baggies for the doggie business! The room was lovely with stone walls, a king size, very comfortable bed, sofa, tv, and a keurig coffee maker. The bathroom had a large head, Koehler shower big enough for two and included shower gel, shampoo and conditioner.

We had all day business meetings and when I expressed my concern to the front desk the gentleman said no worries we'll be happy to walk Mini and play with her. Any dog lover knows how stressful it can be to have your dog locked up all day, this offer just eliminated all of my worries and gave the staff huge credit in my book!

At night we enjoyed dinner and drinks at Shoemakers. The bar was busy but well covered by two lovely ladies that knew how to make drinks, and made us feel at home. The very pleasant General Manager introduced himself and was on top of his restaurant! The food was delicious, so much so that we ate there twice! We had steak the first night, cooked perfectly and crab stuffed lobster tails the second night, again perfect!

We really enjoyed our stay, the level of customer service we received for Mini and us and how nice everyone was. We will definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Msdaisy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.7 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
4.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#11 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Property: Craddock Terry Hotel
Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing