We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Lynchburg B&B and Inns
South Carrollton, Ky
Level Contributor
349 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This is a very lovely, historic home worth the trip. House has been painstakingly restored. Beautiful wood & staircase. Our room was enormous as was the bath. Rooms furnished with era-appropriate antiques. Mike & Kathy run a great inn. Yes, Mike, you do everything right! Be sure to relax on the front porch AND by the fishpond. Very tasty breakfast. Also we were fortunate to meet the previous owners. Neat place to stay while touring this beautiful area of Virginia.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
49
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Every year my wife and I meet college friends at a B&B to catchup, reminisce, and eat. We found The Carriage House on Trip Advisor and made reservations for last weekend. Kathy and Mike are wonderful hosts. They were welcoming, helped us with choosing a restaurant, and served two great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCJim397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

A beautifully restored old mansion with gorgeous furnishings in easy reach of historic downtown Lynchburg. Kathy and Michael went out of their way to accommodate our every need. We stayed for 11 nights with a different four course breakfast every day. We enjoyed the daily bulletins with different chocolates every day and loved relaxing on the wrap around porch. Lovely friendly helpful hosts. By far our best overnight experience ever.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have been staying at bed and breakfasts for several years and when my son was studying the Civil War we decided to visit Appomattox Courthouse and we stayed at the Carriage House Inn. From the moment you drive up and see the home you know there is something special about the property. The house is spectacular, the rooms spacious, the hosts wonderful and the breakfasts are the best we have ever had. We especially liked that during the extensive renovations great care was taken to keep original elements of the house. Don't make the same mistake we made and stay for just a weekend. There is so much to see and do in the area you could easily spend several more days there.

Room Tip: This is an old mansion that has been restored. It is comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonsall, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

A wonderful location near the central part of Lynchburg Historic area, this B&B will exceed your expectations. Beautifully appointed, large rooms with large bathrooms. Plenty of parking in safe area. We stayed in the Hay Loft and look forward to staying in the main house next time. Our daughter is a student at Liberty U and this property is worth the extra money and drive over the local hotels around the university because of the innkeeper's focus on quality and attention to detail. Thanks Mike and Kathy!

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott-Cynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We visited the Carriage House Inn to visit our son who is a freshman at Lynchburg College. The home was spectacular, the breakfasts awesome, hosts friendly and knowledgeable. We enjoyed being able to walk to downtown restaurants and being close to the jogging paths. We will be back to Lynchburg quite a bit over the next 3 1/2 years and we won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: There is lots to do in Lynchburg so plan on spending extra time there. Also Cathy is a massage ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay here. Mike & Kathy were charming Innkeepers and paid attention to every detail to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. Our room was spotless and breakfast delicious.

We loved the house and if time had permitted would have stayed longer to explore the town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluenotebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#11 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 404 Cabell St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1217
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentically restored 1878 Italianate Mansion features many of the original light fixtures, doors, claw foot tubs, bathroom sinks, fireplaces and mantels, woodwork and much more. Oversized rooms, wireless internet, full business center and on site licensed massage therapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing