We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Experience”
Review of Federal Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lynchburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Federal Crest Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Lynchburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My husband and I decided at the last minute to have a small wedding just for the two of us at the Federal Crest. Ann and Phil were both accommodating, and very friendly. The home is absolutely beautiful! We stayed the weekend in the Willow bedroom and we loved the cozy fireplace! Breakfast was amazing each morning and their little jack russel Jackie was so precious! We will definitely be back sometime. I highly recommend staying here if you're looking for a relaxing romantic getaway! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

We celebrated our 25 wedding anniversary here. Having never been to a bed-and- breakfast before, this was a very good experience. The inn is clean and uniquely decorated. Each room was an adventure unto itself with its own decorations yet tastefully done. Phil and Ann greeted us as guests but we came away as friends. We have recommended Federal Crest to other family members and friends. They have had the same experience. We have returned there a few times since our anniversary as a means to “run away from home”!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful and unique!!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim24502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

So many times in recent years we've stayed in B&Bs where we felt between the hospitality of the hosts and the breakfast served, we we could have had better at a nice hotel for less. This was not the case at the Federal Crest Inn. The Federal Crest Inn takes us back to our first experiences staying in B&Bs and what drew us to try more. We felt welcomed and pampered guests at the Inn. The accommodations were comfortable and well kept. The cookies and tea in the afternoon was a welcomed touch after a cold afternoon trip over. The breakfast the next morning was a beautiful presentation of fresh fruit and flowers along with a delicious oven-baked french toast. Ann and Phil have definitely went to the effort to put the breakfast back into Bed and Breakfast. We would certainly love to stay at the Federal Crest Inn again on a return trip back to Lynchburg.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VA_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Our family of four enjoyed B & B hosted by Phil & Ann Ripley. Impressive home yet cozy. Magnolia room had private bath and private sitting room. Kids stayed in Dogwood room; very spacious. Old fashion iron tub in Magnolia . Close proximity to downtown; if you're a runner, perfect setting near trail, and for hill training. Gracious hospitality. Filling breakfast; fruit with granola and yogurt, homemade muffin, bacon, french toast, more fruit, and bottomless cup of coffee!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Phil and Ann have done a wonderful job restoring and furnishing this beautiful historic home in the heart of historic Lynchburg. We had a great guide (Bev) at the Point of Honor Mansion and our son really enjoyed sliding down the ski slopes at Liberty Snow-flex Mountain in mid-August!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1234506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Dogwood room for one night on our way out to Smith Mountain Lake. Phil and Anne are wonderful people and we thank them so much for their hospitality and for allowing us to stay in their home. Their down to earth spirit and kind hearts made the experience of our stay absolutely perfect. The environment they have created there cannot be replicated and the sense of "home" one feels staying there is indescribable. The breakfast is superb and catered to your dietary needs/desires. I have no doubt that we will be returning, as we have truly found a home away from home and a family away from family. I can't think of anyone who would not love staying in their magnificent home. Our only regret was staying for just one night vice several and I promise that we will not make that mistake again. We look forward to our next trip out and a longer stay.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alessandro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Thank you both so very, very much for being such amazing hosts to myself and my mom. I can honestly say that our stay with you was one of the highlights of the incredible two weeks that we had on our “Mom & Me Road Trip”! Your hospitality, precious rooms, and beautiful (not to mention delicious) breakfast presentations made us feel like we had stayed at Downton Abbey or the Biltmore Estate – fabulous!
We both feel as though we made new friends & having a home away from home really gave us a chance to enjoy the wonders and interesting history of Lynchburg. I have already let many friends and family know that they need to visit Lynchburg & of course, stay at the Federal Crest.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
884 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
355 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Crest Inn

Address: 1101 Federal St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-3018
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lynchburg
Price Range: £97 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rock on the front porch of this stately mansion in a quiet, historic district. Enjoy the friendly hosts, en-suite fireplaces & private baths, plus fabulous breakfasts. Great nearby restaurants, Civil War & historic attractions, antiquing, Blue Ridge Mts., golfing, etc. Close to many colleges. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing