We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST if visting Lynchburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Federal Crest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Federal Crest Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Lynchburg B&B and Inns
Conyers
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A MUST if visting Lynchburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed four nights in this BEAUTIFUL Bed and Breakfast. The home sits on one of the many hills in Lynchburg, just a short drive away, or walk if you wish, from historic downtown Lynchburg. The house is grand and beautiful from the outside, very nice yard. Our host were Phil and Ann, the nicest and hospitable people you will meet. You will be welcomed in a wonderful, warm, entry with a grand staircase, cookies and drinks waiting. Our room was the Dogwood, with adjacent Birdnest located on the second floor, looking over the front yard. The rooms were exquisite, clean, and roomy, furnished with antiques. The meals, different each day, were done with a touch of class (flowers, fine china, crystal, and silver). Phil and Ann will bend over backwards to make your stay as perfect as possible, know the area very well and can give suggestions. Thank you Phil and Ann for a wonderful stay. We will be back, definitely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
58
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I travel quite often and have seen many hotels domestically and internationally and none of them have felt like home. Whenever I travel to Lynchburg, VA I always stay at the Federal Crest Inn because it does feel like a home away from home. Ann and Phil are not only two of the best hosts you’ll find these days, but they feel like longtime friends. The location is in the heart of the historic district and close to so many amenities downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for the Magnolia, it has a sun room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr0C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Spa, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Being a well seasoned business traveler and creature of habit, I almost always stay at a Marriott property. I was not able to stay at one on this trip and was a little leery of a B&B. I am now convinced that the only place to stay in Lynchburg is the Federal Crest B&B. The Ripley's are as gracious as anyone I know. B&B, home, bedroom/bathroom and breakfast was wonderful. Too many little extras to mention...

Room Tip: walking distance to restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Thank you Ann and Phil Ripley for a wonderful experience. My husband and I came here for our 21st wedding anniversary. Federal Crest Inn is beautiful. The Christmas tree and decorations take your breath away! Our room was perfect and it was quiet. Warm and toasty with gas logs in our room. Ann and Phil were gracious hosts and our stay could not have been better. I would recommend Federal Crest Inn to anyone who wants to get away and be pampered. When you go, ask Ann to see her paintings. Amazing!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia Suite. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendakozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

My husband and I decided at the last minute to have a small wedding just for the two of us at the Federal Crest. Ann and Phil were both accommodating, and very friendly. The home is absolutely beautiful! We stayed the weekend in the Willow bedroom and we loved the cozy fireplace! Breakfast was amazing each morning and their little jack russel Jackie was so precious! We will definitely be back sometime. I highly recommend staying here if you're looking for a relaxing romantic getaway! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We celebrated our 25 wedding anniversary here. Having never been to a bed-and- breakfast before, this was a very good experience. The inn is clean and uniquely decorated. Each room was an adventure unto itself with its own decorations yet tastefully done. Phil and Ann greeted us as guests but we came away as friends. We have recommended Federal Crest to other family members and friends. They have had the same experience. We have returned there a few times since our anniversary as a means to “run away from home”!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful and unique!!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim24502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

So many times in recent years we've stayed in B&Bs where we felt between the hospitality of the hosts and the breakfast served, we we could have had better at a nice hotel for less. This was not the case at the Federal Crest Inn. The Federal Crest Inn takes us back to our first experiences staying in B&Bs and what drew us to try more. We felt welcomed and pampered guests at the Inn. The accommodations were comfortable and well kept. The cookies and tea in the afternoon was a welcomed touch after a cold afternoon trip over. The breakfast the next morning was a beautiful presentation of fresh fruit and flowers along with a delicious oven-baked french toast. Ann and Phil have definitely went to the effort to put the breakfast back into Bed and Breakfast. We would certainly love to stay at the Federal Crest Inn again on a return trip back to Lynchburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VA_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.3 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#11 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Crest Inn

Property: Federal Crest Inn
Address: 1101 Federal St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-3018
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rock on the front porch of this stately mansion in a quiet, historic district. Enjoy the friendly hosts, en-suite fireplaces & private baths, plus fabulous breakfasts. Great nearby restaurants, Civil War & historic attractions, antiquing, Blue Ridge Mts., golfing, etc. Close to many colleges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Federal Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing