We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residence Bed and Breakfast

The Residence Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lynchburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Residence Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Lynchburg B&B and Inns
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

A charming home, comfortable room and bed, and a delicious breakfast. George and JoAnne were both hospitable and helpful. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tap340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

George and JoAnn were wonderful hosts! My wife and I were in Lynchburg for a weekend away, and the Residence felt like a home away from home. The house is within walking distance to the beautiful campus of Randolph College, as well as a few restaurants. The Caylors were great resources for things to do in Lynchburg, and were welcoming and hospitable. The breakfasts were wonderful, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Great B&B and even better host. Stopped on our way to the mountains and found the home beautiful with in walking distance of several local spots to grab a beer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellytich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Residence is an excellent B&B. Everything about it is first rate. The room was comfortable and well furnished. Breakfast was excellent. The hosts are friendly, very interesting, and accommodating. The location is urban and convenient to downtown, yet does not have the feel of being in the city. Like others have said, The Residence is an outstanding B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Borrow the bikes and ride the riverfront greeway. Nice hosts & location, good food. What's not to like

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noname078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Thanks for the wonderful stay at your beautiful bed and breakfast. We enjoyed our time there and the hospitality. The bike ride was great and we thank you so much for taking us to catch the train and your wife packing our breakfast to go. The perfect place to celebrate my graduation and our anniversary.
Blessings to you both.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vmckinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry, nh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

My husband and I visited Lynchburg to check it out as a possible place to retire next year. The Residence Inn is in a great location to scout out the area. It is in a very walkable area near Randolph College. Our room was very comfortable and charming as was the rest of the Inn. JoAnne provided us with the most wonderful breakfasts each morning, served under the most gorgeous chandelier! She also provided us with ideas on where to search for our potential next home and also dinner ideas. George is a talented musician and, well, just be sure to brush up on your 50-60s music, because there will be a test! They provided us with bicycles to explore the Blackwater rail trail, which is just beautiful. We enjoyed hanging out on the large back porch most afternoons after exploring the area. We certainly enjoyed our stay here. We couldn't have asked for more congenial hosts.
Allyn and Suzanne

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzychapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
2.4 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#11 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
4.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Residence Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2460 Rivermont Ave, Lynchburg, VA 24503-1546
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Bed & Breakfast was built in 1915 to be the residence of the Randolph-Macon Woman's College President. Four guest rooms, private baths, full breakfast. Walk to shops and restaurants. Located on historic Rivermont Avenue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Lynchburg
The Residence b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing