We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasing”

The Residence Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lynchburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Residence Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Lynchburg B&B and Inns
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasing”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We arrived to find the hosts decorating for the holidays and that was very welcoming. Next we discovered George and JoAnn were attending the same Christmas program we were and they offered us a ride. The home was warm, the fellowship was good and the breakfast was very pleasing. If we find ourselves in that area with a need for a room, the Residence will be our first choice. Overall a very good experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jansman247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I were there last weekend. Beautiful house, George & JoAnn were great & the breakfast was wonderful. Great location too, close to downtown where there are many good restaurants to choose from

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham,Washington
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

After a cross-country journey of four days and three nights on Amtrak, it was great to see George's smiling face at the Lynchburg train station that late September evening and know we would finally get a good night's sleep!

It was a quick ride to The Residence, where JoAnn made us feel right at home. We had the beautiful William H. Webb room, which was spacious and comfortable, as was the adjoining private bathroom. After four days in our tiny Amtrak "bedroom" (6'6" x 7'6"), this felt like heaven!

Breakfast the next morning in the comfortably elegant dining room was memorable. Fruit juice and a beautiful fruit salad began the meal, along with the most delicious orange cranberry muffins I've ever eaten! That was followed by individually prepared omelettes and sausage links, both perfectly cooked. The coffee was delicious and hot, and we enjoyed chatting with the other couple staying there.

We had a rental car to pick up and a long drive ahead of us, so we weren't able to linger as long after breakfast as we would have liked -- it would have been great to soak up more of the relaxed, friendly atmosphere that George and JoAnn have created at The Residence, and see more of Lynchburg, but that will have to wait for another visit.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LocalFoodLoverNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I had a great time at The Residence, staying there three nights in September. George and JoAnn were very nice and friendly, their home was large and inviting. JoAnn prepares a gourmet breakfast each morning - you can tell she puts a lot of effort into this. The house is in a great neighborhood, with some restaurants within walking distance. We ran on the Blackwater Creek Trail two days, which is about a mile away and easy to get to.

Would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A charming home, comfortable room and bed, and a delicious breakfast. George and JoAnne were both hospitable and helpful. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tap340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

George and JoAnn were wonderful hosts! My wife and I were in Lynchburg for a weekend away, and the Residence felt like a home away from home. The house is within walking distance to the beautiful campus of Randolph College, as well as a few restaurants. The Caylors were great resources for things to do in Lynchburg, and were welcoming and hospitable. The breakfasts were wonderful, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Great B&B and even better host. Stopped on our way to the mountains and found the home beautiful with in walking distance of several local spots to grab a beer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellytich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
306 reviews
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
867 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
4.5 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Residence Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2460 Rivermont Ave, Lynchburg, VA 24503-1546
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Bed & Breakfast was built in 1915 to be the residence of the Randolph-Macon Woman's College President. Four guest rooms, private baths, full breakfast. Walk to shops and restaurants. Located on historic Rivermont Avenue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Lynchburg
The Residence b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing