We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bike Tour was the best!”

The Residence Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lynchburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Residence Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Lynchburg B&B and Inns
Monument, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Bike Tour was the best!”
Reviewed 19 January 2007

I appreciate the hospitality of the Residence. George was a great bike tour guide, and I really enjoyed seeing Lynchburg that way. We were in Lynchburg for a wedding, and I was suprised at how much I enjoyed the city.

The location of the Residence is convenient. We went to Appomatox Court House, Monticello, and back to DC. Everything was a close drive.

The location of the Residence is perfect in Lynchburg, I like the restaurants/pubs that are within walking distance. TC Trotters/Shads has a great crabcake sandwich (less than 5 minute walk from the B&B).

I'm not really a B&B guy, I prefer hotels, but there aren't really any nice ones in Lynchburg. So, I went to this site and I'm really glad that we stayed here. The personal touch made the trip special. Their hospitality is amazing.

Plus 70 degree weather in early January makes it perfect for the Blackwater Creek Trail. I also enjoy the Riverside Park, which is close the Residence as well.

Take advantage of the biking and conoeing that they offer. No hotel can compare to these "free amenities".

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank pedrothelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2006

My husband and I were visiting friends and stayed overnight in the lovely Pearl Buck Suite. I only wish we could have stayed a few more nights to enjoy relaxing by the fire, reading in the many lovely common rooms, another delicious breakfast, and the opportunity to explore more of Lynchburg. The Residence is pristine, welcoming, beautifully decorated, conveniently located, and very comfortable. The hosts have thought of everything! We especially appreciated the beauty of this historic property and the warmth of owner JoAnne Caylor.

  • Liked — Comfort, cleanliness, breakfast, beauty
  • Tips/Secrets — Get good directions
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KathyandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashpee, MA
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2006

This is our first time staying at any bed & breakfast and as such we were a little hesitant as to what to expect. Joanne and George made us feel at home instantly providing extras like bicycles to ride the great trails of Lynchburg and even the way to get the bikes to the trail entrance. We were greated warmly each morning with a tremendous breakfast and true southern hospitality.
We were visiting our daughter who is a student at nearby Randolph-Macon Women's College and were fascinated to learn about the history of the house we were staying in, to think that many notable persons had been entertained and stayed in RMWC's President's house.
Our room was clean, comfortable and felt like home. We had our own private bath and access to an adorable second floor back porch. There were always sodas, coffee or tea available and chocolates on our turned down bed when we arrived home in the evening.
For the tremendous service and hospitality, the wonderful breakfasts and the cordial host and hostess this bed and breakfast is an outstanding value. We can't wait until the next college event so we have an excuss to visit The Residence again.

  • Liked — the personal service
  • Disliked — getting out of the driveeway!
  • Tips/Secrets — make the most of a wonderful stay
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank craftqueen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 July 2006

The Residence was awesome! We enjoyed our beautiful room and accomidations, including the delicious breakfasts! George and Joanne are delightful people - making our stay very pleasant and relaxing. We certainly will try to stay with them again to enjoy their wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2006

If you are looking for a quiet place and friendly hosts, The Residence Bed and Breakfast is a great choice. George and JoAnne are very kind and go out of their way to make you feel welcome in their home. Though a bit pricey, you will not regret a stay at this charming home.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melaniecjohnson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2005

Our family of 4 visited The Residence on Christmas Eve for our stay of 2 nights. We were warmly greeted by JoAnne and George. They shared with us many "extras". They made us comfortable by providing snacks, movies, directions, internet service, and cookies "for the road". Our breakfast was delicious and we left The Residence knowing we had made new friends in Lynchburg. It was an experience of true Virginia hospitality!!

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2005

Visited The Residence in September 2005. What a wonderful visit. Rooms were beautiful, and hosts JoAnne and George were warm and welcoming. It was the best part of a great vacation to Virginia, and we are so glad we found them! The free bikes were great to take along the scenic (and flat!) bike path through Lynchburg, and it was a wonderful base of operations for the visit. Thank you so much for a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LumensisCovina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
2.4 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
304 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Residence Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2460 Rivermont Ave, Lynchburg, VA 24503-1546
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Bed & Breakfast was built in 1915 to be the residence of the Randolph-Macon Woman's College President. Four guest rooms, private baths, full breakfast. Walk to shops and restaurants. Located on historic Rivermont Avenue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Lynchburg
The Residence b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing