We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and peaceful”
Review of Royal Oaks Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Oaks Cabins
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful and peaceful”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in cabin 7 for our 15th anniversay getaway. Since we are normally campers, we were pleased to be able to sit outside and have a campfire. Gorgeous views outside, although you couldn't see off the mountain. We headed out on Sat and went down to RT 151 and hit shops and did some wine tasting.There was a small wedding Sat am, but we missed it. I could definitely see getting vows renewed there. No cell phone reception, although Keith let me use the store phone to check on our handicapped son. Loved the cabin, Keith was extremely helpful and we will definitely be going back again!!!! Sat night we sat by the campfire and listened to him rehearse down at the stage for his upcomimg solo performance.

Room Tip: next time will bring more food to cook at the cabin. Had planned on eating out lunch and dinner but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    10
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I can say almost nothing good about this "resort" other than it is in a fantastic location. I ignored any of the negative comments I read, and I wish I hadn't. We stayed in one of the smaller cabins, and I would describe the experience as camping with electricity and plumbing (but not). Our experience was tempered by a horrible storm and loss of power, but I can easily speak to what might have been a "normal" experience. Before the power went out, I could ignore the awful decor, the collapsed couch, the odd "hot tub" in the living room, the scratchy towels and even the tiny barely there kitchenette. What I could not ignore was the utter lack of cleanliness. Not dirt or dust from being in the woods, but consistent neglect. I am not a clean freak at all, but the dishes, pots and pans were covered in food residue, there wasn't a thing to clean them with. The part that really, horribly grossed me out was the amount of human hair in the blankets. Not just one or two, but ALL OVER the blanket. I felt awful for the owners who were attempting to put on a wedding without power, but the attitude of the husband was about as bad as it gets in the service industry. I got a hint of his lack of friendliness before we even arrived, but when bad things were going down, he could not have handled himself worse. All in all, the place resonates with the over-tiredness of the owners and dated neglect. If we'd paid $50/night, none of my feelings (other than the grossness of the bedding) would be nearly so negative because you get what you pay for, but at over triple that price, I give Royal Oaks Cabins two giant thumbs down.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanneG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had a wonderful warm welcome from Keith, Sharon and family, despite the storm having having knocked out power for 2 days up until a few hours before we arrived.
We stayed in one the larger cabins - just 3 of us in a cabin for 10 - plenty of room to swing a cat!!
There are plenty of walks which can be done straight from the front door, so no need to take the car out. Also, no TV, just DVD or VHS - how refreshing!
Just imagine sipping ice cold wine in the hot-tub whilst watching the fire-flies and you get the idea of this little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: The large cabins give plenty of space, so no need to cram in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seefelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We escaped Washington, DC after the horrific June 29, 2012 storm that took power out in some areas for a week! Temps stayed in the upper 90s and we were looking to get to the cooler mountains and have power. The mountains were a bit cooler but the power was out there, too! Although power (e.g., A/C) was off, we decided to stay anyway- it was our anniversary. And- the location of Royal Oaks Cabins is so easy to get too, loved all the trees, the country store, & Cabin #5.
We opened the cabin windows, cooked on the grill, & took wonderful walks. Because of power being out in such a widespread area, we had to drive to Stanton, VA to get several bags of ice to keep the food in our cooler from spoiling. That was a minor inconvenience. We are an active duty Marine family so we are used to hardships and staying at the cabin was far from a hardship- it was delightful!
The owners, Keith & Sharon, could not have been more helpful. When we pulled into the parking area, we noticed that a beautiful area had been set up for an outdoor wedding. In the country store, Keith & Sharon were busy cutting up fruit for the catered reception, not an easy task with little light. They had a generator going and large tents set up with lights (running off the generator), what a lovely location for a wedding, and in Love Gap, VA! We observed the wedding, the reception afterwards, and couldn't believe how accommodating the owners were in the face of the heat, power being out, and (from what we observed & heard) some demanding members of the wedding party who were looking for someone to blame for the power being out! Keith & Sharon remained friendly, professional, and bent over backwards for them.
We made breakfast on the grill- bacon, eggs, & biscuits that were more like hockey pucks but eating on the porch, in the shade- what a great time! We made 'cowboy' coffee on the grill as well, pouring it through a filter into coffee cups- a bit chewy but made much better by being in such a beautiful place.
The cabin was very clean, had everything we could possibly want, lots of linens, dishes, etc., and when the power came back on- all the comforts of home (coffee maker, microwave, etc.). Although there is no cable service going to the resort, Keith & Sharon have a large selection of videos that you can check out and watch on the TVs in the cabins.
We will definitely stay there again! Sherando Lake is just down the road, a great place to swim, lay on the beach, hike, etc. And the resort is at mile marker 16 on the Blue Ridge Parkway so it's just off Interstate 64, easy to get to. Crabtree Falls is also near and the Royal Oaks Resort is a great place to use as a base of operations for exploring Humpback Ridge and so many other places along the Parkway.
Thank you, Keith & Sharon!

Room Tip: Resort has large chalets for larger families or several couples traveling together. We chose one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taneytown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Perhaps our standards are too high. If you are looking for a special place away that includes soft linens, clean floors, fresh bedding, a cabin without cobwebs and spiders, you will need to keep looking. Royal Oaks Cabins was such a disappointment. The towels provided were of the poorest quality possible and they do not provide bath mats for either the shower or jaccuzi tub. When we had to ask for them at the office, we were given one hand towel and told by the owner that the linen service company can't tell the difference. Well as the owner, he certainly should be able to. We wouldn't use the shower without wearing flip flops because of lack of cleanliness. When we checked out, we didn't even get asked how our stay was or a thank you for coming. For us, there was no great customer service experience.

This is the first review I've ever written on a place we've stayed at, but if it prevents one other couple from making the same mistake, it's worth it. Enjoy your getaways somewhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 7 which lacks privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Recently stayed here, had a wonderful time! The romance package was beautifully done, cabin was roomy and clean. Fireplace, open area, hot tub in the living room. Amazing cabin, and very nice owners! Will definitely go again!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed in cabin #7: at first we felt it was a bit in need of some TLC but we kind of grew into it. But it is a bit tired and could have been cleaned slightly better but perfectly okay. Bed was on the small side. Nice comfortable sofa. The kitchen area does need a bit of a face lift and I'm not sure I would have wanted to use some of the plates and pans... Some of the other cabins on the site look newer and might be better?

The cabins are right by the Blue Ridge Parkway which is very convenient and as an overall place it is peaceful (although one might imagine noise could carry if people were messing around outside at night), there is no TV reception (hooray!) but has free DVDs to borrow, and the on-site shop has a fair range of simple food, drink and small-shop stuff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
2.9 mi away
Cabin Creekwood
Cabin Creekwood
#1 of 2 in Lyndhurst
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
747 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 1 in Nellysford
357 reviews
10.6 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oaks Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oaks Cabins

Property: Royal Oaks Cabins
Address: 45 Royal Oaks Lane, Love, off Route 814 from Blue Ridge Parkway, Lyndhurst, VA 22952
Region: United States > Virginia > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lyndhurst
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing