We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price for the size of the cabins”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Oaks Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Oaks Cabins
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great price for the size of the cabins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in cabins 10 and 12. They are more like a house than a cabin. The game room was great in Cabin 10. We had a family reunion so the younger adults and children stayed up to all hours of the night in the game room while we slept peacefully on the main level. Beautiful views. Definitely a place to return to.

Room Tip: Three couples in cabin 10 provided a lot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    10
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Would be a great spot for a weekend away if the cabin were clean. There was dust and grime covering the kitchen, the blankets were dingy and covered in pet(?) hair, the kitchen was poorly equipped and the pots, pans, and dishes had a layer of grease that would not come off with the cheap soap provided in the cabin. The bathroom floor and rugs were also covered in hair, and the furniture throughout had a thick layer of dust. Walking on the floors made our feet black. I loved the layout of the cabin and the location, and just a few simple things - attention to little details - would have made this a four star place. Professional cleaning is a must, especially at $200+/night. Also, splurge a little and provide higher quality dish soap (Dawn, maybe) and a scrub brush that isn't completely worn out - an easy fix to keep the dishes cleaner.

Room Tip: Maybe a newer cabin or chalet would be better than the older ones?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great time! Clean and cozy cabin. This year we decided to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary at Royal Oaks Cabins, and we are so very glad we did. The weather was beautiful and brought back so many memories. We had such a lovely time exploring the many attractions around the area and relaxing in and outside the cabin. Keith and Sharon were wonderful hosts and so knowledgeable about the attractions, wineries, breweries, waterfalls and entire area. We will definitely come back to Royal Oaks!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great location. Located on top of the moutain where Wintergreen Ski resort is. In the valley there are numerous wineries/breweries to tour. I tried arranging a driver / tour guide for 8 people online. Everything I found was VERY expensive. Talked with the owner of the Royal Oaks and he made arrangments for a Driver / Van at a very affordable price. Stayed at Chatlet #11. 3 Rooms. The room upstairs has 3 beds plus a loft with an extra bed, so the accomidations would be great for kids too. Chatlet was roomy, gas fireplace, large wrap around deck with an 8 person jacuzzi overlooking the mountain. We took our dogs, when out on tour the owner let our dogs out for a walk. I can't think of any better customer service than that. They defintly went above an beyond. Me and my friends are already making plans to come back this upcoming Fall.

Room Tip: Make sure to bring supplies. Food, trash bags, dish scrubber, coffee filters, etc......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineTours2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My friends and I stayed in Chalet #11 for a long President's Day Weekend. The owners were more than accommodating when we needed an extra key to get into the house. They even came by and treated the hot tub while we were at the slopes without us asking! The dumpsters were snowed in, so the owners came by and took our bagged trash from our deck daily. The house itself was also great! Plenty of beds and sleeping space, a large hot tub, and clean! Thanks Royals Oaks for a great stay, WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mindi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent 3 nights and 4 days in Chalet #11 for Christmas and could not have been more pleased! The owners are very personable and excellent to work with. Our chalet was clean, well equipped, and we thoroughly enjoyed the ammenities such as a hot tub, gas fireplace, and gorgeous night sky views. The free wi-fi was slow and spotty but you are up in the mountains and we were not expecting any connectivity so we were happy with what we got. I would echo the other positive reviewers and suggest you ignore the negative reviews. We had a great time and were very pleased with our time at Royal Oaks. It's a great location for a great price. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you are tired of the hustle, bustle and constant barrage of data in an everyday life, then Royal Oaks Cabins is a must see. The cabin was cozy with a fire place and jacuzzi tub. The kitchen had everything needed to make an amazing romantic dinner. The sky was ablaze with stars and even the milky way was visible, which was a first for us. The total quiet of nature was comforting and rejuvenating. If you want to reconnect with your loved one or create a new connection with someone special, then you absolutely need to visit this place. Please ignore the negative reviews. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a stand alone cabin, which was perfect.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emiko757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
13.1 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cabin Creekwood
Cabin Creekwood
#1 of 2 in Lyndhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 1 in Nellysford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
11.8 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
10.6 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oaks Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oaks Cabins

Property: Royal Oaks Cabins
Address: 45 Royal Oaks Lane, Love, off Route 814 from Blue Ridge Parkway, Lyndhurst, VA 22952
Region: United States > Virginia > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lyndhurst
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing