We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Re-train or replace the manager. or shut the hotel all-together” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Madison Heights
Rohnert Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Re-train or replace the manager. or shut the hotel all-together”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

First you have the manager or receptionist who is very very rude. Then he tells you he did you a favor by giving you a room at the hotel. The rooms are filthy dirty towels, stinking !!!
I was so unlucky that I arrived late at nite. His atitude was worse than a hungry uncared pitbull.
He tried to charge me three days when I stayed for two days.The advertized rate was $31 plus tax which comes to $44 even, So I should have paid $88, he charged me $97 and on top of saying he had just helped me. I am the customer.He needs my money more than I need him. I could have gone to another motel If I knew that that was how he was going to behave.
As is that was not bad enough, I checked out at 5 am because I had an early train to DC, he calls and says I STOLE HOTEL TOWELS. My mind froze! Very dirty old towels??????? The bed sheets....OMG let me stop here coz I want no memories of that motel.
I have in mind to sue that hotel. If nothing is done to change the status quo, I feel sorry for whoever is the owner. I will never ever stay there again.
I warn everybody do not waste your money. YOU will regret.

Room Tip: Do not go use this hotel Try any other.This one is a disaster
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barigye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbviLynchburg, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our property. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you felt you experienced with us. There is never an excuse for providing anything less than great service. i seen booking online and there is a $44 per room price and tax is separate so total comes out as $48.50 for 1 night and there was 2 night reservation so total as $97 for both nights. All claims against this property will be further investigated and corrected where necessary. I hope you will give us another opportunity to service your future lodging needs.

Regards,
Kunal-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Madison Heights, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    6
    8
    6
    29
See reviews for
16
10
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The room is fine for the cost. I stayed in a king room and there was a large mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, old tube tv, and wifi. The place is run down, but I don't know why anyone would expect it not to be for 33$/night. The hallways smell strongly of smoke odor, but the room I had did not smell at all. The heat worked very well in temperatures close to 0F. I ran a speedtest on the internet and it averaged 16mb/s, i used it a bit and had no disconnections or problems. There were 2 separate routers in the building to connect to. The room was as clean as it could be for the shape it was in and I never once saw any kind of bug. They do have a breakfast of english muffins, bagels, and a waffle maker. I'd recommend it to anyone who just wants a cheap place to stay for a couple of nights and can deal with the fact that it's old and a little ragged.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCZimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbviLynchburg, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Traveler
Your kind words are taken to heart and certainly appreciated! We would love to serve you in the future and hope you have the need to come back to stay with us!! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Motel had very nice room; BUT, they could spend a little money and buy new towels, washcloths. They could also make sure the baths in these rooms are at least swept and clean.
They need to provide at least one cup or glass to drink out of, also provide tissues for runny noses!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CONCERNED641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbviLynchburg, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hello Traveler,

Thank you for taking time to share a review with us. I am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. Let me first start by saying that out of courtesy, I personally check on each and every guest within 10 minutes after checkin. This way, I can identify any potential issues which you may encounter during your stay. I would never intend to harm anyone. Our rooms have been recently updated with new night stands, desks, armoirs, headboards, drapes, bed frames, mattresses, mattress covers, and painting. We hope that you stay with us again or another one of our Americas Best Value Inns in the future.


Regards,
Kunal-GM
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madison Heights hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

DO NOT stay here. It doesn't even deserve a star at all. It should be demolished. When I drove up there were what looked like 5 gangster men in the office hanging around. I was scared for my life so I couldn't even go in the place to check in. I drove around to the side and it looked like they hung blankets for curtains. There were only about 2 cars at the whole place. I did not get a chance to look in the room, but felt like if I did I wouldn't make it out alive. It looked like a prostitution joint or somewhere that offered illegal pharmaceuticals. I left and had to ride around looking for something more decent and safe. I was there to take my daughter to the college for a weekend event and wouldn't be in my room much, but still I just couldn't do it. Don't waste your money like I did!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbviLynchburg, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Traveler ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I deeply apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. we recently renovate property in October and November 2013. In the future, I recommend that you call the hotel in advance. That way housekeeping staff can specially prepare a room for you to prevent this incident from happening in the future. Your business is important for us.


Thanks
Kunal-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Chincoteague Island, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

The place is roach infested you can't sit anywhere without roaches getting on u this place needs to be shut down its not worth 10 dollars a night i will never stay here again very gross it my husband was sitting on the patio if that's what u wanna call it but he had to keep killing roaches to keep them from going inside of the room they qere even dropping on our heads and the bathroom was very nasty look like the tub hasn't been cleaned for months i would not suggest this place to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmples69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbviLynchburg, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our property. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you felt you experienced with us. There is never an excuse for providing anything less than great service. All claims against this property will be further investigated and corrected where necessary. I hope you will give us another opportunity to service your future lodging needs.

Regards,
Kunal-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Madison Heights, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I was travelling with one other individual and I wasn't expecting much for the price I paid. But what I got was very unsat. Even for the price, I would expect the room to be cleaned atleast. There was garbage under the beds and upon further inspection it looked as if just the floor that was visible was cleaned. The floor under the bed and night stands were not. The bathroom had stains under the toilet where apparently someone missed and it was never cleaned. The mattress was filthy as well as the.sheets. And then last there were the bugs. My room had a family of 12( that I found) of quarter sized spiders. Overall a horrible experience. I moved the next day to a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yesman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbviLynchburg, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our property. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you felt you experienced with us. There is never an excuse for providing anything less than great service. All claims against this property will be further investigated and corrected where necessary. I hope you will give us another opportunity to service your future lodging needs.

Regards,
Kunal-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Madison Heights, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

The Hotel has a good customer service. The employees are very helpful and ready to help the customers; it is a good side. Moreover, the room I've got is very comfortable; there are AC, heat, refrigerator, chairs, TV, and so forth. I believe that it is a good idea to book a room at America's Best Value Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canes I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbviLynchburg, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear valued Traveller,
Thank you for sharing a response with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable guest rooms, continental breakfast, water pressure, and friendly staff. We hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns located across the Country.

Regards,
Kunal-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Madison Heights, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison Heights
5.4 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.7 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#11 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Lynchburg
BEST WESTERN of Lynchburg
#16 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 5016 S Amherst Hwy, Madison Heights, VA 24572-2491 (Formerly Best Value)
Region: United States > Virginia > Madison Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Madison Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn of Madison Heights, VA is conveniently located along US Rt 29 just 2 miles north of Lynchburg, near the beautiful Blue Ridge and Allegheny Mountains. Our 2 story, interior-design property offers 66 newly-renovated guest rooms featuring satellite TV w/ HBO, in-room perked coffee, AM/FM clock radio, internet access, hairdryer, patio or balcony and more. We offer our guests fresh complimentary continental breakfast, fax/copy services, guest laundry facility and ample truck/RV parking. For our guests convenience, we now offer Wireless Internet access in all ground floor guestrooms. We also have a computer available in our lobby for guests use 24-hours a day. We are in close proximity to Airport, Historical Museums and Memorials, Colleges and Universities and other attractions. Come relax and enjoy the value at the Americas Best Value Inn of Madison Heights/Lynchburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Madison Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing