We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Collins House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Marion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The owners Mike and Sue were a pleasure to spend time with. Their home is incredible! We stayed in "The George" and it was a fabulous room, very nicely appointed, a corner room with nice views, a gas fireplace and only a short walk to food and drink in a lovely historic town. The breakfast was very good and conversation with Mike and Sue was effortless.
This was a great experience that we would do again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kljunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Collins House Inn on Veterans Day using the B&B's for Vets program. The inn was already being decorated for Christmas and was lovely. When we arrived we were given a tour of the inn which included all of the rooms. Each Room had it's own tree decorated. Our host gave us a run down of local restaurants which were all within walking distance. The bed was very comfortable and each room has it's own temp control so that you can adjust it to your own liking. Breakfast was wonderful and right on time. Definitely would recommend this Inn, and stay in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmposeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the Inn back in September and were given the warmest of welcomes by the owners. A thoroughly pleasant stay was topped off by a visit from the local Mayor. Beautifully kept and sumptuously furnished throughout - the owners were very enthusiastic, offered great hospitality and a delicious breakfast. Would recommend to anyone wishing to break their journey on the Interstate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgeegeNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was a spare of the moment stay and it was so wonderful. We had been traveling and this was the perfect place to relax and get some rest. We felt right at home and enjoyed Mike and Susan very much. We hope to go back to the area soon and will stay at The Collins House Inn again. We had the first floor room and found it very comfortable. Nancy and Ken Maloney

Room Tip: The first floor room is perfect if you have a difficult time with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We took a break from the interstate and got off in Marion to see the fall leaves. What a nice town we found, and even better was the beautiful Collins House Inn! Our hosts have only owned the house for four months, but they sure do know how to entertain and serve their customers. They have been the "talk of the town" in a very good way. Locals have been encouraged to visit so they can see for themselves the beautiful furnishings and get to know the fun-loving couple that bought the historic inn. Our stay was perfect and we highly recommend the for couples, business travelers, and romantic getaways. Pretty soon, advance RSVPs will be needed especially on the same weekends as shows at the Lincoln Theatre (another great reason to visit Marion!) Plan your visit today - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor. The weather was rather cold, so the heat was on which made it quite c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just returned from a weekend at "The Collins House Inn. If you are looking for a Bed & Breakfast, look no further. The Collins House Inn went up & beyond my expectation. The Inn was very beautiful & super clean. The host were excellent & we were treated like family. When we left they gave us a care package for the road. I am already telling my friends about this small town in Marion VA. Planning a trip, don't miss an opportunity to spend the night at this beautiful inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Give yourself a birthday gift and plan a carefree stay at the Collins House Inn in Marion, Virginia. December birthdays are difficult to make special but our sons planned a stay at the Collins House with a Lincoln Theater concert, the object of our drive from the NC coast. Sheila and Dave were so helpful in setting up this
occasion - with many considerate touches. As all the other reviews have told you
the house has been lovingly restored and each bedroom (and bath) is beautiful - and unique. The breakfasts were deliciious and attractively presented. Now we are just looking for a reason for a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibby w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
0.1 mi away
General Francis Marion Hotel
20.5 mi away
Millsap-Baker Estate
Millsap-Baker Estate
#5 of 5 in Damascus
37 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 5 in Marion
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
River House Inn & Restaurant
River House Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Grassy Creek
148 reviews
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
1.8 mi away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collins House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collins House Inn

Address: 204 W Main St, Marion, VA 24354-2516
Region: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Price Range: £118 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Collins House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant AAA 3-Diamond rated Bed and Breakfast located in the heart of historic downtown Marion, VA. Whatever your passion if it is hiking or biking on pristine trails surrounded by spectacular sights Nature has provided? Or is it music that stirs your soul and The Song of the Mountain is in your bones? Motorcyclists—are you up to the challenge of the Back of the Dragon? Maybe you just want to ‘get away’ and treat yourself and that special someone. The Marion area and Southwest Virginia has some of the best fly fishing in the State. The Collins House Inn in Marion, VA, in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Southwest Virginia and just off I-81, is your perfect destination. From Marion, you are ‘stone’s throw’ from both Hungry Mother State Park and Mount Rogers National Recreation Area where the highest peak in Virginia can be found—and experience the view from Whitetop Mountain. A member of the Diamond Select Registry, we offer 5 well appointed suites with superior amenities (i.e. insuite bathrooms) that make staying at the Collins House Inn a suitable alternative to hotels on your next trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Collins House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing