We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Town Virginia Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Collins House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Marion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We made a reservation last minute while on a cross country motorcycle trip. We had just pulled into the parking lot when the great service started. Mike and Sue insisted that they take their car out of the garage so we could put the bikes inside. The Inn is beautiful, the king bed was firm and comfortable, and breakfast the next morning was delicious. The whole experience could not have been better.

Mike gave us a suggestion to ride the Back of the Dragon, which we did. It wasn't much out of the way and it was a great ride!

Marion is a wonderful town. We had sushi for dinner and stopped off for a draft craft brew on the walk back to the Inn. The next morning the Mayor gave us a Marion, VA lapel pin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StratoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandSueEdwards, Owner at The Collins House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for such an outstanding review. We hope that all our guests have the same experience you had when they stay at our inn. When you enjoy your stay and relate your positive experience, we know that we are doing our job and everyone benefits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

I booked our stay at the Collins House Inn for suprise birthday/hiking trip for my husband. We had such a wonderful time. Mike and Sue are great host and the house is beautiful, the pictures do not do it justice! Mike and Sue arranged for a cake and balloons to be in the room before our arrival, so great and thoughtful. The food was great, I love the family style dining for breakfast. Will definitley stay here again!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandSueEdwards, Owner at The Collins House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for responding to Trip Advisor. What a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Collins is a week kept bed and breakfast. Beautifully decorated, everything clean and the owners are so friendly. The only disappointed feature was breakfast. Thought there should of been more variety and more food portions.
We would stay here again

Room Tip: Nettie room was great and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marbert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandSueEdwards, Owner at The Collins House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you found our inn comfortable and equally glad we may see you again in the future. Thanks for the heads up on breakfast. We are always looking for ways to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a great B&B in a small town that has embraced the owners and their business. My wife and I only got to spend one night, but we not only had a great dinner at the house, but a fantastic breakfast as well. We stayed in "The Mary" room and it was fantastic. We've stayed in almost a dozen B&B's and this was by far the cleanest and well appointed one we've stayed at. Susan and Mike are great and the day we left, we even got introduced to the Marion Mayor. What a treat that was. Thanks again for a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swbartl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandSueEdwards, Owner at The Collins House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased that you stayed with us and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I took advantage of the Inn's Valentines Special, a five course meal and a stay at the inn. We had a wonderful meal with great company. The innkeepers were charming hosts and we enjoyed the company of the other couples staying at the Inn. Everything was comfortable and beautiful. They seem to take their motto, you arrive a guest and leave a friend, truly to heart. We look forward to our next opportunity to stay with them.

Room Tip: The Inn offers two king size beds, I feel they are my only choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandSueEdwards, Owner at The Collins House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you very much for your very favorable response. We look forward to you visiting with us again when you are in Marion. Watch for our Friday night dinner specials staring in April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I was visiting Marion this year at Christmas time to see family. I have been coming to Marion for over 40 years and this is absolutely the nicest place I have ever stayed in. Mike and Sue were very gracious hosts. As the sign said we came as guests and left as friends. I will definitely be coming back. The meals were absolutely delicious. I even made friends with their dog Sophie. I highly recommend the Collins House Inn to anyone visiting beautiful Marion Virginia.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandSueEdwards, Owner at The Collins House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Thank you, Don, for the wonderful review. We look forward to your return visit(s) to our Inn and the quaint town of Marion, VA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The owners Mike and Sue were a pleasure to spend time with. Their home is incredible! We stayed in "The George" and it was a fabulous room, very nicely appointed, a corner room with nice views, a gas fireplace and only a short walk to food and drink in a lovely historic town. The breakfast was very good and conversation with Mike and Sue was effortless.
This was a great experience that we would do again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kljunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
0.1 mi away
General Francis Marion Hotel
20.5 mi away
Millsap-Baker Estate
Millsap-Baker Estate
#5 of 5 in Damascus
37 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 5 in Marion
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
River House Inn & Restaurant
River House Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Grassy Creek
148 reviews
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
1.8 mi away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collins House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collins House Inn

Address: 204 W Main St, Marion, VA 24354-2516
Region: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Price Range: £118 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Collins House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant AAA 3-Diamond rated Bed and Breakfast located in the heart of historic downtown Marion, VA. Whatever your passion if it is hiking or biking on pristine trails surrounded by spectacular sights Nature has provided? Or is it music that stirs your soul and The Song of the Mountain is in your bones? Motorcyclists—are you up to the challenge of the Back of the Dragon? Maybe you just want to ‘get away’ and treat yourself and that special someone. The Marion area and Southwest Virginia has some of the best fly fishing in the State. The Collins House Inn in Marion, VA, in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Southwest Virginia and just off I-81, is your perfect destination. From Marion, you are ‘stone’s throw’ from both Hungry Mother State Park and Mount Rogers National Recreation Area where the highest peak in Virginia can be found—and experience the view from Whitetop Mountain. A member of the Diamond Select Registry, we offer 5 well appointed suites with superior amenities (i.e. insuite bathrooms) that make staying at the Collins House Inn a suitable alternative to hotels on your next trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Collins House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing