We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sporadic wifi, used soap, poor breakfast, minimally comfortable beds w/ stained sheet, non negotiable manager.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sporadic wifi, used soap, poor breakfast, minimally comfortable beds w/ stained sheet, non negotiable manager.”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Very poor value for the price. Mgr refused to honor our Corporate Lodging card which they are listed with would have given us a discount. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfleming71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    15
    14
    12
See reviews for
26
21
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My sister in law made reservations here for a number of us for a trip to Marion. When we attempted to cancel the next morning at 11:00 a.m., we were told that the manager would have to provide an approval number. Numerous calls back were informed that the manager was "off premises" throughout the day. Ultimately, enough time passed that we were within 24 hours of the reservation (over 7 hours!) and both the manager (now miraculously available) and the toll free Econolodge number refused to cancel and charged the credit card provided. We stopped by when we arrived in Marion. A call as we were arriving again informed us that the manager was "off premises", as we were in the parking lot. On entering the lobby, we saw him hiding in his office and refusing to look out.

It is easy to see why the manager would not want a cancellation. This place is old, filthy, and in ill repair. The help is rude and the "breakfast area" is tiny and does not look particularly clean. Needless to say, we did not stay and are in the process of contesting the charges with our credit card. When we finally got the manager to talk to us (a real struggle), he stated that we could not prove we had called to cancel and he would charge us whether we stayed or not. (We can and will, via an itemized phone bill documenting every call.)

I have no doubt that the sole 4 star rating was written by the manager himself, as the wording matches his syntax. Trust an experienced traveler - STAY ELSEWHERE! There is a very nice Comfort Inn (with an extremely friendly staff) just a few miles away. It is well worth a few more minutes of travel for a far better stay.

Room Tip: Check out the Comfort Inn instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1TravellingDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This Econo Lodge is very quiet and clean then most other Econo Lodge. We were only here one night on our way to Shenandoah National Park but everyone was very friendly, efficient and helpful. The mattresses are extremely comfortable with fitted sheets and we sleep soundly. We have visited Marion before and enjoyed some of the local restaurants and antique stores while we were in the area to hike at Appalachian Trail. This is a nice, comfortable place to spend the night. Fair Breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We were looking for a cheap room when we arrived late at night because my husband had an interview the next morning in town. It wasn't very cheap, about $80 for a regular room, and it was just dirty. We were checking the bed for bedbugs (there weren't any) and found a blood-stained mattress and cover and a bunch of brown roaches. We slept in the second bed which looked better, but I still felt gross all night and it smelled really bad in there. Everything looked like it needed to be cleaned, including the TV, dresser, mini-fridge, floor, and all the linens. We didn't even bother taking our clothes out of our bags because it was just gross. In the morning we went to get our complimentary breakfast and it was no good either. It was literally a choice of fruit loops, frosted flakes, bread, rock hard biscuits, and make it yourself waffles, which the batter was all separated like it had been there for a month. There were gnats all over the food. Even the plastic silverware looked dirty. We ended up going to McDonald's. Everyone we told in town said that they all know not to stay there and would recommend the Comfort Inn for value and if you have extra money just stay in the Francis Marion Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had stayed in 5 other Choice Hotels with another being an Econo Lodge and all were at least 3 times better than this situation.

Issues with this hotel: 1) Our non-smoking room was to be that. Non Smoking. Not with people smoking next door, our own room having smoked in damage and odors including a little mold odor. Burnt and singed nylon type bedspread found the very next morning after ruining clothing on it. Still cannot get out the signed stains.
2) After discussing with the front desk person that night, he offered to move our room next door (right next to the room where the people were smoking. We declined. 3) The next morning we tried to get the room for free or money off. The front desk man had another gentleman who was upset to find out he did not have a shower curtain in the room. A woman scolded the front desk man and asked "why didn't you move them to an area that was better". He sheepishly replied, "that he tried to, and we refused". Why move closer to smoke when you can be 2 doors away???? 3) He was snide and arrogant about not giving us money off or back. I told him I would write to trip advisor and let Choice Hotels know about it. He said, "Go ahead, they probably won't do anything and I will not give you anything". 4) All the rooms on the side we stayed in were advertised as non-smoking. There were smoke odors coming from them and most all the no smoking signs were pulled off the door, including ours. 5) The internet was spotty and rarely connected. When the internet did connect, the connection speed was too slow for us to access web pages. 2) We felt we were over charged at $92.12 for a week night! Mostly clean and adequate, the service was poor compared to other Econo Lodges we've stayed in, and the breakfast was some bagels, coffee, a waffle maker and juice. Dining tables were limited, not much space to move. No real butter, no yogurt, no banannas, very limited breakfast. Nothing special and the service was not the friendliest.

No pool, no exercise area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank happybeststuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had origianally planned on staying in Dublin at the Holiday Inn Express. We had stayed there on our way to Nashville 2 days earlier and wanted to stay there again on the way back because we were VERY impressed with it. However, we ended up making many more stops for cold water since we were on our Goldwing and it was 104 degrees! We arrive in Marion after dark and couldn't really see much of the motel. The thing that attracted us was the "Free Hot Breakfast" sign.

We paid $69 for a simple, basic motel room with no frills whatsoever. You get what you pay for but I have stayed at FAR better motels for a lot less so I feel it was overpriced. I won't complain about the room because it was clean and that's what mattered at the time. However, the hot breakfast left a lot to be desired! It wasn't hardley worth eating so we eat elsewhere. So much for the primary reason we chose this motel.

The bottom line is that this is a very low-end, out-dated and borderline "dumpy" motel. If you're in need of a last minute place to stay, it is clean and will do. But if you're looking for a nice place to stay with your spouse (and especially a family) then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntrtainr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I felt like I needed a shower after getting out of the shower. This place is run down. Expensive for the poor quality.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Atkins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
16.8 mi away
Knights Inn Glade Spring
Knights Inn Glade Spring
#1 of 2 in Glade Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
24.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
23.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#18 of 20 in Wytheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1420 N Main St, Marion, VA 24354-4316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Marion
Marion Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing