We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrendous!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Inn

Travel Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrendous!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

The carpet looked disgusting, and we slept above the covers because the sheets looked stained. Couldn't shower cuz the water wasn't warm enough, not that I would want to step foot in that nasty looking tub. No refrigerator or microwave, which sucks if you have a nursing baby. Thankfully we had a cooler and was able to heat bottle on the heater. This place is a dive!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasellersjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

I have stayed at this motels sister property accross the street recently and found it very nice so I decieded to try this small one story motel. I was really surprised on how nice it really was it was clean, in good repair had great employees the beds were good and the shower was hot. They had a nice breakfast. I like older motels like this one if they are taken care of and this is one that has been taken care of in the best of ways. The bathrooms are a hoot they are right out of the 1960's but very nice and clean. The front desk clerk was friendly and helpful. I had lost my cell phone and the desk clerk offered to go to Wal-Mart and purchase me a Trac phone so I would not be without cell service until I could get my phone replaced. What name brand newer hotel do you know that would make that kind of offer. You just can't beat the small independent hotel service. Because of how I was treated I will be back not only be back I am bringing a crew of 25 to Marion and I will place all of them in this little hotel. Great job you guy's keep it up.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotelman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colfax, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

The first room was to be no smoking and someone had smoked in the room and there was even an ashtray in the room. They switched us to another room and the first thing we noticed was the bathroom was not clean...hair on the floor, toothpaste splatter on faucet, etc. The mini-fridge had a half empty can of coke, the microwave was nasty and the room needed dusting. We complained and they came and cleaned the room. When we came back to the room to settle in for the night...we took our showers and then when to bed...I was lying on one bed with our 4-yr old daughter when my husband lying on the other bed asked me if I washed my feet when showering..of course I did! Well the bottoms of all three of our feet were BLACK from the nasty carpet! It was 10:00pm, we have a little Bichon dog, and we were not able to leave and find another hotel that would accomodate animals at this point. We did however check out immediately the following morning (we were suppose to stay 2 days!). I LOVE older motels, motor courts, etc. I think they have a wonderful amount of charm and I don't mind the older decor, furniture, or even the bathroom fixtures..all I ask of ANY place that a person stays in is for it to be CLEAN! With that said..we will NOT return to the Virginia House Inn!

  • Liked — Originally the location and the pool.
  • Disliked — The uncleanliness.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2007

Rooms were clean, nice maids. However the new desk clerk was a little crazy..\, She would not give me my stamps.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank deerfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Georgia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2006

The beds were adequate. The plumbing in our room was non-existent. The shower dripped all night. The toilet did not flush due to no chain on the flapper valve and the sink drained at a glacial pace. If there is a maintenance man looking to make a name for him/herself...apply here.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cbozman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Atkins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Knights Inn Glade Spring
Knights Inn Glade Spring
#1 of 2 in Glade Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 5 in Marion
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Collins House Inn
The Collins House Inn
#1 of 2 in Marion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Property: Travel Inn
Address: 1419 N Main St, Marion, VA 24354-4315 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Hotel Class:1 star — Travel Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing