We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“just ok...”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights here on business trip.. At best its just an average chain.. we stayed here mainly because of it proximity to interstate and smoking rooms available.. Thanks for that but , even as a smoker it would have been nice to have a window to open or at very least an exhaust fan..!! Room was decently clean but, could have been a little better.. fingerprints on mirror hanging on door, and not a very clean bedspread.. or it was at least worn out ..Maid service was ok.. parking was ok.. staff was ok but, not overly friendly..Did have coffee, waffle , toast, powered doughnuts , cereal, etc on breakfast counter..Basics... As per title of this review..just ok..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Michael Y,
I appreciate you taking the time to write review of your stay at our hotel. We are replacing the bedspread with bed throw in all rooms. We strive to provide good service and quality accommodations at affordable prices.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    13
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
10
18
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cross Junction, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here during an extended tour/visit to Virginia. We were using the hotel as a staging area to do some motorcycling in the Virginia/West Virginia locale. The price was good, the rooms were clean, and the location was out of the way - perfect for our needs.

There was some issue with parking our trailer for the motorcycle, but the manager gave us some advice and told us where to park near the entrance for the room using multiple spaces because the hotel was not anywhere near capacity. He was very helpful.

There are very few (OK, make that none!) places to eat in Marrion except for the fast food fare, pizza, and some Mexican. There is a small restaurant at the far end of town at the Route 81 interchange, but it was only fair.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room. They face the mountains and have big picture windows to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cache-N-Stache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear cachenstache,
Thank you for your comment about your stay with us. We strive to do everything possible to make certain that your accommodations are the best possible. Our staff is always eager to assist guest with thier request. We do now have restaurant on site that serves Italian Crusine and open untill 11:00pm on weekends.

Thanks,
Management
Americas Best Value Inn- Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stopped here for a night; one of the better motels we have stayed at, though slightly higher priced than the others. Located next to the highway, but with nice views of the surrounding hills, this had big rooms that were simply and tastefully decorated, clean and with all necessary amenities (missed having a mini-fridge in the room though, something that was available in smaller and cheaper motels too). The best part was the huge window that pretty much made up one wall! They also have a Wise Guys restaurant inside... we had our dinner there and were happy with both food and service. They could improve the seating (number of tables) at breakfast though given the number of rooms they have.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and towards the corners of the building to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kan_rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear kan_rach,
Thank you for your kind riview about your experience at Americas Best Value Inn Marion. We are happy to know that you found quality of stay to your liking. We do have deluxe rooms with microwave,fridge,LED TV, internet data port along with standard room amenities for which guest can ask for. Come back again for those breadthtaking views in different seasons !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bergen county NJ
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were driving from Nashville to the East coast and this was a decent hotel off the highway at an affordable price. The room was really big and it was clean but definately needed some work (peeling paint and stuff). It was clean but old looking. Bed was comfortable and they offered an outdoor pool although we did not use it. There were not a lot of people staying at the hotel. Down the road are a lot of fast food places and a walmart which was very convienent. Breakfast did not look that great so we got food down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinparadise314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear lovinparadise314,

Thank you for bringing the maintenance issues to our attention. We do have routine maintenance on each of our rooms. We do our best to keep our rooms fresh in appearance. I am sorry that your room did not meet our expectations. The issue has been addressed with our staff to ensure that this does not occur in the future.


Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at this motel on a very long trip north from Mississippi. Some of the other reviews posted sounded like it was an acceptable option so we stopped. The bathroom in the room was disgusting......cracks/worn spots in the tub that looked like it hadn't been scrubbed, ever! There was hair on the floor that didn't belong to either of us and there were slits/holes in the drapes. Even though this is a "value" chain we still paid $72 for this room. We will bypass any Americas Best Value Inns in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babyblues57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Babyblue57,

I would like to personally thank you for sharing a review with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. We have recently hired and improved our housekeeping staff. There is never an excuse for not providing clean and affordable accommodations. We hope that you stay with us or at another one of our hotels across the Country.


Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hotel was the saving grace of our accidental stop in Marion, VA. My husband and I were traveling on I-81 on our way to our new home in California when we were rear-ended on an exit ramp near Marion. After our release from the emergency room, at 11pm, we had to find a pet-friendly place to stay. We were so lucky that the Americas Best was across the street from the hospital. The staff was courteous and understanding. We were allowed to check our room before checking in - which I always do because I am very sensitive to odors - and were very happy with it. It was clean, bright, and quiet - and the continental breakfast was excellent. There is a great hometown-style restaurant (inside the building) called the Sugar Grove where we enjoyed the next day's lunch and dinner while waiting for a rental car. Two nights at Americas Best in Marion, and we were rested and ready to get back on the road.

Room Tip: Always ask to see your room before unloading your belongings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Gayle H,

Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am sorry you had to stay under those circumstances. I hope this response finds you doing well. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you during that time. Come back again and see us!


Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I called because I left something at the hotel and the man spoke little English You Couldn't hear him over the phone! I need help with getting a pair of Golden and Ruby earrings and the man spoke and described nothing he just let me do all the talking! If this is how the Hotel is going to stay then I'm never coming back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delrks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Delrks,

Thank you for bringing your issue to my attention. If you could please contact me directly to discuss the matter. I was waiting to receive the prepaid envelope which you were supposed to send us. We do have a strict lost and found policy. Due to the cost and liability associated with valuables, I want to be sure that your items are property returned.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Atkins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
16.9 mi away
Knights Inn Glade Spring
Knights Inn Glade Spring
#1 of 2 in Glade Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
24.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
24.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Wytheville
Comfort Suites Wytheville
#4 of 20 in Wytheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
23.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#18 of 20 in Wytheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1424 N Main St, Marion, VA 24354-4316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Marion. Tucked away in the mountains of Southwest Virginia and conveniently located between the Roanoke Valley and Bristol off of exit 47 and I-81. Marion is famous for its spectacular outdoor recreation as it is for its most famous product, Mountain Dew. Our hotel is near both Hungry Mother State Park and the highest peak in Virginia, Mount Rogers. Enjoy a show with the family at the Lincoln Theatre. Smyth County Museum and Marion Plaza Shopping Center are within walking distance of our hotel. Business travelers will appreciate our business center, seasonal outdoor pool, and the peaceful mountain setting as an escape from the hectic pace of the workday. Our hotel offers conveniences such as free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms, as well as access to copy and fax services. Free continental breakfast and free coffee in the lobby is served daily. Local restaurants include El Puerto, Little Caesars Pizza, and Great Wall Chinese Restaurant. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with Showtime, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, spacious work areas, free local calls, and wake-up service. Non-smoking rooms are available. Children age 11 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Pets are welcome for a small nightly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing