We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views”

Naked Mountain Winery & Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Markham
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Great views and location. Wines are average and service was rushed and not very friendly. Not the experience I have had at other local wineries. We live in the area so it was a nice fall afternoon outging with my daughter.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank texbetty703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    43
    11
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great way to spend the afternoon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

The wines are great. The view from the deck is stunning. The lasagna lunch, offered on weekends and holiday Mondays through March, is delicious and a deal. Do yourself a favor and make a reservation in advance for the lasagna. I joined the wine club today because I enjoy the wines so much.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

The pourer looked to be about 16 and had the knowledge of someone who had just learned about Boone's Farm. They were short staffed, we saw her in between about 3 other tasting groups. Worst was we tried to buy a Christmas Sampler, and wanted to substitute a wine with a price $3 less than the one included, and were told without ceremony they wouldn't do it. We won't go back to taste, nor will we order the wines at dinner or retail.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roanokefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“No surprises - the wines were mediocre...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

There is not much to say: a typical Virginian vinery with a nice view and surroundings (secluded location), good athmosphere, and friendly staff. But the wines are just bad. Actually, they were worse than an average for this region. Charging $10 per tasting seemed also pretty brutal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place, Nice View, Virginia Wines..Feh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were back out at Naked Mountain after a few years absence and the facility is nice, the views (and leaves very pretty), the staff very friendly. The wines were feh. Virginia wines are more balleyhooed then in former days but seem no better. The whites seem better than the reds but it is hard to drop 18 bucks for the least expensive bottle knowing that a trip to a good area liquor store will produce a superior product for less.

Is it worth coming here for the total experience? absolutely and there are multitudinous other wineries nearby and great hiking and leaf watching.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RuffleScruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Naked Mountain Winery & Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Naked Mountain Winery & Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing